About


Tai Kwun

Centre for Heritage and Arts

Tai Kwun is the Centre for Heritage and Arts, a place of inspiration, stimulation and enjoyment for all Hong Kong people. Tai Kwun aspires to offer the best heritage and arts experiences, and to cultivate knowledge and appreciation of contemporary art, performing arts and history in the community.

It is situated at the restored Central Police Station compound, one of the most significant revitalisation projects in Hong Kong, comprising three declared monuments--the former Central Police Station, Central Magistracy and Victoria Prison.

The revitalisation project has been led by The Hong Kong Jockey Club in partnership with the Government of the Hong Kong SAR. Tai Kwun is the trading name of the Jockey Club CPS Limited, the not-for-profit operator set up by The Hong Kong Jockey Club Charities Trust to manage the revitalised site.

The highest standards of heritage conservation have been applied at Tai Kwun, with unfailing attention to authenticity, bringing more than a dozen historic buildings to life. In contrast to their original functions as police station, courthouse and prison, the buildings are now fully on display, giving the public the chance to appreciate up close their contrasting architectural features and fine design details.

Visitors will be immersed in the rich heritage of the unique historical compound through interactive tours, heritage storytelling spaces, diverse education programmes and thematic heritage exhibitions. These programmes offer insights into the history of our city and the role of law and order in our society contributing to Hong Kong’s distinctive character as a major world city.

The new building, JC Contemporary houses a not-for-profit art centre dedicated to presenting contemporary art exhibitions and programmes as a platform for a flourishing cultural discourse in Hong Kong. It hosts six to eight exhibitions annually alongside extensive public programmes.

Tai Kwun’s performing arts programmes aim to bring to life the many remarkable spaces both indoor and outdoor through events which have been designed and tailored to suit these unique venues. The JC Cube, the Laundry steps, the Prison Yard and the Parade Ground will become performances, spaces for theatre, music, dance and film, with a wide range of programming to appeal to all audiences.

Tai Kwun also beckons visitors to enjoy an array of lifestyle offerings. The wide-ranging culinary landscape allows visitors to choose between light refreshments or fine dining, while retail shops offer the finest selections of curated books, gifts and apparels. Engaging programmes and workshops will also be hosted to echo with the rich heritage and energetic contemporary programme offerings at Tai Kwun.


Naming Story

The name "Tai Kwun" in Chinese means "big station", the colloquial name used by police officers and the public alike to refer to the former law enforcement complex. In fact, as early as the 1880s, the name Tai Kwun has been recorded in news articles in reference to the former Central Police Station. The name has been adopted by The Jockey Club CPS Limited as a reminder of the historical importance of the compound.


Design Concept Behind the Logo

With its contemporary, minimalistic style, the Tai Kwun logo expresses the sense of endless possibilities that Tai Kwun offers.

The geometric shape represents the triangular roofs of the historic buildings and the rectangular profile of the new — conveying the integration of heritage and contemporary art.

關於我們


大館

古蹟及藝術館


大館是一所古蹟及藝術館,致力為香港帶來豐富精彩的歷史文物及藝術體驗,培養公眾對當代藝術、表演藝術和社區歷史的認識和欣賞目標是成為充滿啟發性、激發想力及輕愉快的地方

大館是香港其中一項最重要的歷史古蹟活化計劃。建築群內包括三項法定古蹟—前中區警署、中央裁判司署和域多利監獄,

中區警署建築群活化計劃是香港賽馬會和香港特別行政區政府的夥伴合作項目;由香港賽馬會慈善信託基金成立一間非牟利公司——賽馬會文物保育有限公司,「大館」為營運名稱負責營運

大館按照文物保育的最高規格,致力保留歷史建築原貌,為館內的歷史建築群賦予新生命。大館內原本作為警署,法庭和監獄用途的建築,現開放公眾近距離觀賞建築群中不同年代建築風格特色對比,以及設計中的巧妙和精細之處。

在深厚的歷史文化氣息氛圍訪客可透過各種形式的導賞團、歷史故事空間、多元化的教育活動和以歷史文化為主題的展覽,深入探索香港的歷史,以及過去這個歷地方對法治、秩序和週邊區所擔當的角色。

位於賽馬會藝方內的非牟利美術館致力呈現當代藝術展覽和項目,為香港不斷延伸的文化及藝術論述提供平台。美術館每年將策劃並主辦六至八個展覽,以及與展覽相關的公共項目。

大館的表演藝術節目,旨在活化館內建築群的室內與戶外空間。活動全都經過細心設計和考量,務求切合館內場地的獨有特色,當中包括賽馬會立方、洗衣石階監獄操場檢閱廣場。這些場地均會化身為表演、劇場音樂舞蹈及電影放映場地,致力打造多元化的表演節目,吸引不同觀眾。

除此之外,大館亦提供各種生活休閒娛樂包括美食餐飲、典藏書籍、精緻禮品和訂製服飾等商店;商店亦會舉辦文化活動、工作坊,配合大館一連串的歷史文化及當代藝術節目,使得大館文化體驗之旅變得更豐富精彩。


命名故事

「大館」是昔日警務人員和公眾對前警察總部以至整個建築群的簡稱。事實上早於 1880 年代,各大報章已稱呼前中區警署為「大館」,可見此綽號於當年獲廣泛接納及應用。賽馬會文物保育有限公司以「大館」為營運名稱,以示對中區警署建築群歷史的尊重。


標誌的設計理念

簡約而富時代感,大館的標誌代表這個經活化的歷史建築群將帶來無限的可能。

以幾何圖形,當中三角形屋頂代表古蹟建築,以及四方形外觀表現新建築物,簡明地道出大館是一個歷史文物與當代藝術的融匯結晶。