About


Tai Kwun Contemporary

Tai Kwun Contemporary is the contemporary art programming arm of Tai Kwun dedicated to presenting contemporary art exhibitions and programmes as platforms for a continually expanding cultural discourse in Hong Kong. Operated by contemporary art team, Tai Kwun Contemporary is an integral part of Tai Kwun at the Central Police Station compound, Hong Kong.

Working with other like-minded institutions and art groups to present the highest standards of exhibition making and art programming, Tai Kwun Contemporary will host six to eight curated exhibitions every year alongside exciting public programmes. Reflecting and contributing to Hong Kong’s contemporary art landscape, these exhibitions will affirm the city’s position as a leading international art hub in Asia. As a non-profit art centre, Tai Kwun Contemporary steers free from the commercial art world.

Tai Kwun Contemporary’s exhibitions will be presented in 1500 square meters of museum-standard galleries, designed by Herzog & de Meuron. Additionally, within the Central Police Station compound, there will be a number of public art works specially commissioned by Tai Kwun Contemporary.


Events and Education

Learning is an essential part of the programmes at Tai Kwun Contemporary. A wide range of formal and informal programmes designed to help audiences to understand and engage with contemporary art will be on offer. The Learning and Outreach programme of Tai Kwun Contemporary will stimulate dialogue, creative expression, active engagement between art, artists, and the audiences. Interpretative events such as artist talks, workshops, and guided tours will create a welcoming environment for visitors. The printed and digital publications will supplement the education programmes, allowing audiences to further understand the works of contemporary artists.


Gallery Information

Opening Hours and Location

Tai Kwun Contemporary, near the corner of Old Bailey Street and Chancery Lane, is located within Tai Kwun. We will be open from 11am to 7pm every day, except Friday, when we will be open from 11am to 9pm.
 

Email 
art@taikwun.hk

 


Art and Artists' Books

The Artists’ Book Library is an ongoing collection of artists’ books from Asia and an integral part of the Arts Programme at Tai Kwun.

Artists’ books are publications that have been created as artworks, in which the artists uses the book as a medium of artistic expression. The book, being replicable, widens the reach of the artists’ works, allowing them to circulate in the public realm at a relatively low cost. Often published in limited numbers, sometimes even unique piece of art, artists’ books challenge the idea, content and form of traditional books. The Artists’ Book Library at Tai Kwun will be open and accessible to the public for free as a crucial source for learning and research.

For more information, please visit here.

關於我們


大館 - 當代藝術

大館當代美術館致力呈現當代藝術展覽和項目,為香港不斷延伸的文化及藝術論述提供平台。美術館由「大館」的當代藝術部門營運,是位於香港中區警署建築群的「大館」的重要部分之一。

大館當代美術館將與其他志同道合的機構及藝術團體合作,呈現高水平的展覽和藝術活動。美術館每年將策劃並主辦六至八個展覽,以及與展覽相關的公共項目。這些展覽以表述和支持香港當代藝術為願景,為香港成為亞洲領先國際藝術中心的目標奠定基礎。

大館當代美術館的展廳符合國際美術館標準,美術館建築由赫佐格和德默隆建築師事務所設計,總面積達1,500平方米。此外,大館當代美術館亦委約創作一系列公共藝術作品,於中區警署建築群內的各處呈現。


活動與教育

教育是大館當代美術館藝術項目的重要部分,因此美術館將設計一系列正規和非正規的教學活動,以輔助公眾對當代藝術的理解和體驗。這些教學延伸活動將涵蓋不同形式,以激發對話和創意表逹,並促進藝術家與觀眾的交流。藝術家講座、工作坊、導賞等詮釋活動將營造一個輕鬆的環境,創意出版物及電子刊物將以文本形式補充教育活動,讓觀眾進一步理解當代藝術家的作品。


大館當代美術館資料

開放時間及位置

大館當代美術館位於大館的西南方,在奧卑利街和贊善里交界。美術館的開放時間為每天早上十一時至下午七時*,逢星期五將延長開放至晚上九時*。

電郵 
art@taikwun.hk

*根據展覽開放日期而定


藝術家書籍圖書館

藝術家書籍圖書館是大館的一個重點藝術項目,主要收藏來自亞洲的藝術家書籍。

「藝術家書籍」是指藝術家以書本作為媒介所創作的藝術品。書本可被複製的特性使藝術家的作品能接觸更廣闊的範疇,作品能以較低成本在公共領域中流通。藝術家書籍通常限量發行,有時甚至是獨一無二的作品,從而挑戰傳統書籍的概念、内容和形式。作爲一個重要的學習和研究資源,大館的藝術家書籍圖書館將免費向公衆開放。