Double Vision

Date & Time

21 Apr - 12 Jun, 2022 Tue–Sun | 11am–7pm
(2 & 9 May 2022 open as usual)

Location

1/F, 3/F JC Contemporary

Price

Free of charge

Overview

Artists: Candice Breitz, Omer Fast, Ko Sin Tung, Kong Chun Hei, Sarah Lai, Ocean Leung, Li Shuang, Dane Mitchell, Peng Ke, Paul Pfeiffer, Hito Steyerl, Tamura Yuichiro, Magdalen Wong, Zheng Yuan

Curators: Tobias Berger, Jill Angel Chun, and Daniel Szehin Ho

Toying with doubles, the exhibition explores the concepts of déjà vu and parallax, considering how seemingly superficial differences may reveal much more than expected. While some works are doubled serially or thematically, with subtle slippages and variations, some other artists in the exhibition have works that gesture towards memory and the murky everyday lines between truth, perception, and fiction. Curated by Tobias Berger, Jill Angel Chun, and Daniel Szehin Ho, Double Vision seeks to define a distinctive spatial and temporal experience, with the exhibition prompting reflection on sensorial awareness and the contemporary production of reality.


Tai Kwun Conversations


The upcoming edition of Tai Kwun Conversations features Omer Fast—one of the most respected visual artists and filmmakers of his generation, and one of the artists in the Tai Kwun Contemporary exhibition Double Vision—in conversation with Yeung Chun Yin, a philosopher and a co-founder of “Corrupt The Youth”, an outreach group aimed at making philosophy relevant. Their conversation will revolve around two works by Omer Fast—his landmark 2011 work, 5000 Feet Is the Best, as well as a more recent work from 2020, Karla—and broach topics that range from contemporary warfare, the relation of images and narratives, and the nature of knowledge in a digital age of post-truth. 


Curatorial Essay

Toying with doubling in its various guises—and doing so formally, spatially, and thematically—Double Vision attempts to conjure up a sense of disorientation, of reality being hollowed out. In proposing doubled scenarios with seemingly superficial and sometimes even artificial differences, the exhibition playfully foregrounds perception, especially the field of vision, and the problematics of vision. Double Vision forges and redirects the hallucinatory sensibility of déjà vu towards explorations of the slippery nature of memory and more generally the construction of contemporary reality, lived and imagined, in the hopes of getting at alternative modes of potentiality.

In circling around the concepts of déjà vu, twinhood, and other forms of doubles, Double Vision consciously avoids dealing with the relationship of the “original” and the “copy”. Instead, the exhibition sets up a sensation, a sensibility, where one might “experience the same situation twice”. Through the curatorial intervention of structural and spatial repetition, the layout is repeated on the 1/F and 3/F of the exhibition space, with works by artists who are (mostly) repeated in the same positions across the two floors. Doubling thus creates déjà vu in the most literal form possible.

Some of the works in Double Vision are formally doubled and extended, with subtle gaps opening up in their differences within sameness: works by Sarah Lai and Magdalen Wong stretch across two floors of the exhibition space, while the new works by Ocean Leung and Li Shuang revel in variations of unifying elements. Some artists, such as Candice Breitz, Peng Ke, and Tamura Yuichiro, have works in series, albeit staged disjointedly over two floors, while others, such as Omer Fast and Zheng Yuan, present different works that revolve around a particular topic. Yet others, such as Ko Sin Tung, Kong Chun Hei, Dane Mitchell, Paul Pfeiffer, and Hito Steyerl, are instead formally and thematically doubled with each other, offering different points of departure and perspectives at similar targets.

Double Vision is not without curatorial antecedents. Aside from the similarly titled exhibition in New York in 2000, we must acknowledge the exhibition Glad to Meet You: Fan Mingzhen & Fan Mingzhu in Shanghai in 2002, curated by Tang Maohong, Xu Zhen, and Yang Zhenzhong, where the entire exhibition was axially mirrored: works were presented in doubles but with slight variations, sometimes reversed in mirror image, complete with a set of twins greeting visitors at the two separate entrances. In taking a looser and less restrictive protocol in doubling, Double Vision instead delights in the imperfections of the repetition. Methodologically inspired by parallax—the effect where an object appears to be displaced due to changes in the observer’s point of view, an effect which historically has propelled our understanding of the stars and the cosmos, among others—and the potential of parallax to offer depth from apparent surfaces, the curatorial conceit of doubling gestures at cracks and fissures in our reality which potentially signal deeper truths or other horizons, all the while being aware that one could very well be led down a world of distorted mirrors of simulation and conspiracy, where lies feel “truth-y” and the “real” feels too painful to bear. In defining a distinctive spatial and temporal experience, Double Vision seeks to prompt creative reflection on sensorial awareness and the contemporary production of reality—with possible insights on the relation of structures and accidents, nature and nurture, said and unsaid.


Exhibition Views


Right
Peng Ke
Bay Windows (agree to disagree), 2022
Glass, tin, wood, fabric, archival inkjet print
160 × 300 cm

Left
Li Shuang
Moon, 2022
Stainless steel
Magdalen Wong
Golden Curtain, 2015
Golden metallic tapes
Ko Sin Tung
For a wider view, 2017
Convex mirror, stainless steel structure
Dimensions variable
Courtesy of the artist and Edouard Malingue Gallery
Ocean Leung
Overjoyed, 2022
Plastic chairs, ratchet straps, metal cable zip ties
Dimensions variable
Kong Chun Hei
Flooding, 2019
Water, stainless steel water gauge, stainless structural
profile
18 × 688 cm
The Tossing Light, 2015
5 engraved CRT TVs, live TV channel, no sound
Dimensions variable
Omer Fast
Karla, 2020
Holographic projection and HD video
34’45”
Dane Mitchell
Post Hoc (Palm), 2019-2022
Cell-tower palm tree, steel, acrylic, plastic, antenna,
solid state drive, audio player, horn speakers, cables
650 × 150 × 150 cm

 Hito Steyerl
How Not to be Seen. A Fucking Didactic
Educational .MOV File, 2013
Single-channel high-definition digital video and sound in
architectural environment
15’52”


Li Shuang
Moon Milk series, 2021-22

Ocean Leung
Infinite Happiness (with Gratitude), 2022
Burnt plastic chairs
Dimensions variable

Omer Fast
5000 Feet is the Best, 2011
Video (colour, sound)
32’

Sarah Lai
Flowing, 2017
A set of two panels
41 × 30.5 × 2.5 cm
51 × 40.5 × 2.5 cm
Collection of Dee Poon. Courtesy of the artist and
Edouard Malingue Gallery

Tamura Yuichiro
Chemistry / The Story of C Act 3: Hemicorpus, 2020
Video installation
Zheng Yuan
Hepingli Playthrough, 2022
Video (colour, sound)
28’16’’

雙同

日期及時間

2022年4月21日 - 6月12日 星期二至日|11am–7pm
(2022年5月2及9日照常開放)

地點

賽馬會藝方 (一樓及三樓展廳)

費用

免費

簡介

參展藝術家Candice Breitz、Omer Fast、高倩彤、鄺鎮禧、黎卓華、梁御東、李爽、Dane Mitchell、彭可、Paul Pfeiffer、Hito Steyerl、田村友一郎、黃頌恩、鄭源

策展人:Tobias Berger、秦文娟及何思衍

展 覽 以 把 玩 雙 重 的 形 式 探 索「似 曾 相 識」的 概 念,於 看 似 表 面 的 細 微 差 異 之 中,發 掘 更 多 意 料 之 外 的 隱 藏 涵 義。有 些 作 品 的 系 列 形 式 或 主 題 上 以 雙 重 面 目 出 現,但 兩 者 有 著 微 妙 的 偏 差 和 變 化;另 一 些 參 展 藝 術 家 的 作 品 則 指 向 記 憶 以 及 日 常 生 活 中 真 實、感 知 和 虛 構 之 間 的 模 糊 界 線。由Tobias Berger、秦文娟及何思衍策劃的「雙同」以獨特的時空體驗, 促使人們反思感官覺知,思考當代世界如何製造現實。


大館對談



最新一期「大館對談」的兩位講者,是藝術家Omer Fast和哲學家楊俊賢。Omer Fast 是他那一代備受尊敬的視覺及錄像藝術家,也是大館當代美術館「雙同」展覽其中一位參展者。楊俊賢則是「好青年荼毒室」創辦人之一,竭力使哲學貼近現實。對談將圍繞Fast的兩部作品展開:2011年的著作《5000英尺是最好的》,以及2020年的近作《Karla》,討論範圍涉及當代戰爭、影像和敘事的關係,以及知識在後真相的數碼時代所具有的本質。


策展人的話

「雙同」在形式、空間及主題上,把玩「重複」及其多種變奏,令觀眾迷失方向,感到現實正被挖空。展覽鋪陳了多個看似差別不大或刻意而為的重複場景,但藝術家以有趣好玩的手法,探討有關感知,尤其是視野和視覺疑難等問題。「雙同」令似曾相識的事物顯得如幻如真,並利用這種感性來探索那難以掌握的記憶,以及當代人如何建構其想像及現實生活,希望能找到有別於主流模式的各種潛在可能。

展覽圍繞似曾相識、雙生和雙重視覺等概念,有意不去處理「原本」和「複製」的關係,反而去製造一種感覺及感性,讓觀眾將「同一情景看兩次」。策展團隊故意通過結構和空間的重複安排,令美術館一樓和三樓都有相同佈置,讓藝術家的(大部分)作品都在兩層樓的同一位置出現。重複對倒,作品不僅「似曾」相識,而是「確曾」相遇。

「雙同」有部分作品在形式上重複,由此延伸開去,在細微的縫隙揭示了彼此同中有異:黎卓華和黃頌恩的展品橫跨美術館兩層,梁御東和李爽的新作則將統一的元素盡情加以變化。有些藝術家,如Candice Breitz、彭可和田村友一郎,作品各成系列,散落在兩層展廳之中。其他人如Omer Fast和鄭源,則圍繞一個特定主題展示不同作品。而高倩彤、鄺鎮禧、Dane Mitchell、Paul Pfeiffer和Hito Steyerl,就互相以作品映對重複,從不同的出發點和角度去達成相似的目標。

這類展覽其實已有先例,除了2000年在紐約舉辦的同名展覽外,我們必須回溯唐茂宏、徐震、楊振中2002年在上海策劃的展覽「你好你好:范明珍和范明珠」。那次展覽左右兩邊如同對鏡成雙:作品成雙成對,只是略有不同,有時如鏡像倒映,而展館的兩個入口各有一對雙胞胎的畫面迎接觀眾。不過,這次大館的「雙同」對雙重的標準比較寬鬆,限制較少,不要求無瑕的雙重,反而樂見參差的重複。展覽的方法論一方面受到視差現象的啟發——視差是由於觀察者角度有變,使物體看起來像出現移位,這種效果曾在歷史上加深了人類對恆星和宇宙等現象的理解;另一方面又得益於視差令人一眼看到的表面呈現深度。策展作品對雙重現象巧思妙喻,指出現實中的縫隙和裂紋可能蘊含更深層的真相或其他境界,同時也深知此舉或會把人捲入充滿模擬和陰謀的扭曲鏡象世界,這世界的謊言令人覺得「真實」,而「真實」反讓人難以承受。「雙同」為大家帶來獨特的時空體驗,希望能激發創意,令人好好反思如何提高感官的覺察力,以及如何構建當代的現實;對於結構和偶然、先天與後天、説與不說之間的關係,還望能提出嶄新觀點。


展覽圖集



彭可
《飄窗(求同存異)》,2022年
玻璃片、錫、木頭、布料、收藏級噴墨打印相紙


李爽
《月亮》,2022 年
不銹鋼

黃頌恩
《金色窗簾》,2015 年
金色膠帶
高倩彤
《為了更廣闊的視野》,2017 年
廣角鏡、不銹鋼支架
尺寸不定
鳴謝藝術家及馬凌畫廊
梁御東
《喜出望外》,2022 年
塑膠椅、棘輪綁帶、金屬索帶
尺寸不定
鄺鎮禧
《泛濫》,2019 年
水、不銹鋼水位尺、不銹鋼支架
18 × 688 cm
《顛簸的光》,2015 年
5 部 CRT 雕刻顯像管電視、電視直播頻道、無聲
尺寸可變
Omer Fast
《KARLA》 ,2020 年
3D 全像投影及高清錄像
34 分鐘 45 秒
Dane Mitchell
《事後》(棕櫚),2019-2022 年
棕櫚樹狀的手機訊號發射站、鋼、塑膠彩、塑膠、天線、
固態驅動器、音頻播放器、喇叭擴音器、電纜
650 × 150 × 150 cm

 Hito Steyerl
《如何不被看見⸺一段該死的說教視頻文件》,2013

彩色有聲錄像
15 分鐘 52 秒


李爽
《月乳》系列,2021-22 年

梁御東
《無盡無窮喜樂(感恩)》,2022 年
燃燒成的塑膠椅
尺寸不定

Omer Fast
《5000 英尺是最好的》,2011 年
彩色有聲數碼錄像
32 分鐘

黎卓華
《讓晚風送走昨日的夢》,2017 年
繪畫、裝置、錄像、數碼打印、燈光

《Flowing》,2017 年
兩幅布面油畫
41 × 30.5 × 2.5 cm
51 × 40.5 × 2.5 cm
潘楚穎收藏,鳴謝藝術家及馬凌畫廊

田村友一郎
化學結構 / C 的故事《第三話:剖解》,2020 年
錄像裝置
鄭源
《和平里通行》,2022 年
彩色有聲錄像
28 分鐘 16 秒

攝影:關尚智