Tai Kwun Conversations

Tai Kwun Conversations: Spectre of Truth

Tai Kwun Conversations: Negotiating Gender Relations–Insights from the Past

Tai Kwun Conversations: Authenticity vs Interpretation in music of the 17th and 18th centuries. Giulio d’Alessio in dialogue with Timothy Calnin

Tai Kwun Conversations: Bridal Laments – The Intangible Cultural Heritage of Lung Yeuk Tau

Tai Kwun Conversations: Connecting Youth

Tai Kwun Conversations: UNESCO Series - Talk 3
Heritage, power and gender in cities

Tai Kwun Conversations: UNESCO Series – Innovations in Urban Heritage

Tai Kwun Conversations: UNESCO Series - Talk 2
Urban sustainability and resilience through nature and culture

Tai Kwun Conversations: UNESCO Series - Talk 1
Urban recovery through culture, arts, and creativity

Tai Kwun Conversations

Tai Kwun Conversations: Spectre of Truth

Tai Kwun Conversations - Notre Dame – How to rebuild a masterpiece of Gothic architecture in the 21st century?

Tai Kwun Conversations - International Series on Architectural Conservation

Tai Kwun Conversations
Dancing with a Stranger

Tai Kwun Conversations - The Making of National Gallery Singapore

Tai Kwun Conversations - Renovation of the Staatsoper Unter den Linden

CHAOS: Wing Shya × Inoue Tsuguya

Twentieth Century Heritage: Diversifying Hong Kong Stories – Using the ICOMOS ISC20C Historic Thematic Framework

Tai Kwun Conversations—No Stone Unturned – A Material Journey from Hong Kong to Mexico

Tai Kwun Conversations—Inclusive Conservation and Cultural Connection: Building Resilience for People and the Planet

Tai Kwun Conversations – Summer Institute #4 A Dialogue on Art and Cosmotechnics between Yuk Hui and Hans Ulrich Obrist

Tai Kwun Conversations – Unpacking the Reuse of Colonial-era Historic Buildings: Cases of Tai Kwun and the Rockbund Art Museum

Tai Kwun Conversations – Community Matters: Planning and Design through Narrating Community Stories

Tai Kwun Conversations – Making a Classic Modern: Frank Gehry’s Masterplan for the Philadelphia Museum of Art

Tai Kwun Conversations – A Vibrant New Arts Precinct in a Heritage Waterfront: The Revitalisation of Pier 2/3 of Walsh Bay Arts Precinct, Australia

Tai Kwun Conversations — Invisible Innovation: Revitalising the Central Police Station Compound

Laying the Groundwork: The Burra Charter and Heritage Values

The Book and the Sword in China and Italy’s Martial Culture

Healing Architecture: Tsz Shan Monastery’s Mindfulness Journey in Purifying Body and Mind

Heritage Reborn: Restoration of Duddell Street Steps and Gas Lamps

Crime, Justice and Punishment in Colonial Hong Kong

Beyond the Surface – How paint conservation tells the identity of a building

Creating a Liveable City: Combining Conservation and Development in Yangon

Beyond Memories: Conserving Heritage in France and Macao

Date & Time

26 May 2022 7:30-9:00pm

Location

JC Cube

Price

Exclusive to Tai Kwun Fans, Free of charge

General

The upcoming edition of Tai Kwun Conversations features Omer Fast—one of the most respected visual artists and filmmakers of his generation, and one of the artists in the Tai Kwun Contemporary exhibition Double Vision—in conversation with Yeung Chun Yin, a philosopher and a co-founder of “Corrupt The Youth”, an outreach group aimed at making philosophy relevant. Their conversation will revolve around two works by Omer Fast—his landmark 2011 work, 5000 Feet Is the Best, as well as a more recent work from 2020, Karla—and broach topics that range from contemporary warfare, the relation of images and narratives, and the nature of knowledge in a digital age of post-truth. 

A haunting, cinematic work, 5000 Feet Is the Best is based on a series of interviews that the artist conducted with a former drone pilot in Las Vegas, who suffers from Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder. As the film unfolds, the viewer notices the three-part division of the film, as well as the circularity and repetition of certain scenes. With a hallucinatory sense of déjà vu thus forged, the viewer’s focus shifts to the telling of the story itself and to how images and narratives are made and constructed. With subtle complexity, the work captivatingly offers glimpses that neither glorify nor vilify the drone pilot, all the while unpacking the larger socio-political reality of contemporary warfare.

Karla explores the life of a content moderator for one of the largest online video sharing platforms in the world. To preserve anonymity, an actress performed the responses, which were recorded by facial capture technology; with the face and voice morphing into different characters without ever settling into a single identity, the interview with

the content moderator is then presented as a holographic projection along with the facial capture videos. The narrative tells of one person’s nightmare working in content moderation: tasked with determining “sensitive content” on social media—clips with violence, self-harm, hate 

speech, among others—the narrator came to be unhinged by the avalanche of disturbing videos, with troubling effects on mental sanity. With a presence poised between an anonymity that suggests the real, and a ghostly apparition, Karla offers insight on the precarity of life and work inside the contemporary “platform economy”.

Tai Kwun Conversations: Spectre of Truth will have Omer Fast joining us virtually with Yeung Chun Yin discussing on site in JC Cube; moderated by Daniel Szehin Ho, one of the co-curators of Double Vision.

Tai Kwun Conversations is a monthly event that brings together brilliant minds from the fields of contemporary art, architecture, heritage, among many others. Join us to discover new artistic exchange and outstanding practices in heritage conservation.

This event will be conducted in English, with English to Cantonese simultaneous interpretation.

The event will adhere to the latest health and safety regulations and enforce social distancing measures.


Artist Bio

Omer Fast
Yeung Chun Yin

Frequently blurring the boundaries between documentary, enactment, and fiction, the work of Omer Fast (b. 1972 in Jerusalem; lives in Berlin) offers tantalising insights into filmic genres and motifs. With a penchant for repetition, circularity, and a multiplicity of narrative strands, Fast builds complex shades of meaning in his oeuvre. Together with a reflexive use of narrators or actors, the artist at once problematises and mythologises image-making and storytelling for viewers who are thus willingly enthralled. His works have been shown in major institutions around the world and have also been featured in dOCUMENTA (13) and the 54th Venice Biennale.

Yeung Chun Yin, also known as “Uncle Salt”, graduated from the Faculty of Social Sciences of the University of Hong Kong and the department of Philosophy in the Chinese University of Hong Kong. Later he embarked on a doctoral programme in Humboldt University in Berlin and Kings College, London. He currently teaches courses on philosophy and critical thinking. In 2016, with some of his friends, Yin co-founded “Corrupt the Youth in the aims of getting more people to understand philosophy.

大館對談

大館對談:真相的幽靈

大館對談:聯合國教科文組織對談系列 – 對談 3
城巿中的性別、權力和文化遺產

大館對談:聯合國教科文組織對談系列 – 城市遺產的創新

大館對談:聯合國教科文組織對談系列 – 對談 2
以自然與文化建構城巿適應力及可持續性

大館對談:聯合國教科文組織對談系列 – 對談 1
以文化、藝術、創意令城巿煥然重生

大館對談

大館對談:真相的幽靈

大館對談—巴黎聖母院 – 如何在廿一世紀重建哥德式傑作?

大館對談—國際建築保育系列

大館對談
同陌生人跳隻舞

大館對談—新加坡國家美術館的誕生

大館對談—柏林國家歌劇院之復修

CHAOS: 夏永康 × 井上嗣也

二十世紀遺產:多元香港故事 – 應用國際古蹟遺址理事會「二十世紀遺產的歷史主題體系」

大館對談—翻遍石頭 —— 從香港到墨西哥的物質之旅

大館對談—共融保育與文化聯繫:培養人和地球復原力

大館對談—夏日學社 #4 許煜與Hans Ulrich Obrist對談《藝術與宇宙技術》

大館對談—古蹟活化再利用的大館和外灘美術館

大館對談—以人為本: 從社區敘事到規劃與設計

大館對談—讓經典成現代:Frank Gehry翻新費城藝術博物館的藍圖

大館對談—朝氣蓬勃的海濱古蹟新藝術區: 澳洲華素灣2/3號碼頭的活化

大館對談 — 潛藏的創新: 中區警署建築群的活化專案

立下根基:《布拉憲章》與文物價值

中國和意大利的書劍文化

治癒建築:「慈山 · 心導遊」身心洗滌之旅

古蹟重生:都爹利街石階及煤氣路燈修復工程

香港殖民地的犯罪、正義與刑罰

表面以外:細談歷史建築物的油漆保育

創造宜居城市:仰光建築保育和發展的融合

記憶之外: 從法國到澳門的建築保育

日期及時間

2022年5月26日 7:30-9:00pm

地點

賽馬會立方

費用

大館Fans尊享節目,免費

簡介

最新一期「大館對談」的兩位講者,是藝術家Omer Fast和哲學家楊俊賢。Omer Fast 是他那一代備受尊敬的視覺及錄像藝術家,也是大館當代美術館「雙同」展覽其中一位參展者。楊俊賢則是「好青年荼毒室」創辦人之一,竭力使哲學貼近現實。對談將圍繞Fast的兩部作品展開:2011年的著作《5000英尺是最好的》,以及2020年的近作《Karla》,討論範圍涉及當代戰爭、影像和敘事的關係,以及知識在後真相的數碼時代所具有的本質。

《5000英尺是最好的》是一部令人難以忘懷、具電影感的作品,藝術家根據他在拉斯維加斯採訪一名患有創傷後遺症的無人機機師所創作而成。影片分三部分展開,有些場景循環而重複地出現。隨著這種似曾相識的幻覺,觀眾的注意力轉移到故事敘述的手法上,並聚焦於影像和敘事的製作和組合方式。作品以含蓄而豐富的結構,勾勒出無人機機師耐人尋味的面貌,既不美化也不醜化,同時揭露出當代戰爭的社會政治現實。

《Karla》帶我們走進一個網站內容審核員的生活,那是世界上最大的網上錄像分享平台之一。為了保密身份,一位女演員扮演該職員來回答問題,過程用面部表情捕捉技術記錄下來;但容貌和聲音不時會轉變成不同角色,沒有固定於單一身份,然後整段訪問以全息投影展示。故事圍繞內容審核員的恐懼:為了決定社交媒體上哪些是「敏感內容」(包括暴力、自殘、仇恨言論等片段),敘述者被大量令人不安的影片弄得精神失常。《Karla》一方面如鬼魅現身,另一方面它的無名無姓又指向某種真實;作品洞察到當代網上平台、媒體當道的社會環境中,人的生活與工作都變得脆弱不穩。

大館對談:「真相的幽靈」,屆時將邀請Omer Fast通過視像加入,與賽馬會立方的現場講者楊俊賢展開對話,並由「雙同」展覽策展人之一何思衍主持。

「大館對談」每月舉行,匯集了來自當代藝術、建築、遺產等領域的傑出人才,帶領觀衆發現新的藝術交流和遺產保護的傑出實踐。

對談將以英文進行,現場設粵語即時傳譯。

活動將嚴格遵守最新的健康及衛生防護指引,並採取有效的社交距離措施。


藝術家簡介

Omer Fast
楊俊賢

Omer Fast (1972年生於耶路撒冷,現居柏林)的作品經常模糊紀錄片、表演和虛構故事之間的界限,對電影類型和母題的見解引人入勝。他喜歡運用重複、循環和多重敘事線,其作品意蘊複雜。Fast對敘事者與演員的運用相當自覺,他將說故事與影像製作神化,同時又帶出箇中矛盾和問題,令願意投入他的作品的觀眾讚歎。他的作品曾在世界各地的主要美術機構展出,當中包括第13屆卡塞爾文獻展及第54屆威尼斯雙年展。

楊俊賢,人稱鹽叔,畢業於香港大學社會科學學院和香港中文大學哲學系,後於德國柏林洪堡大學和英國倫敦國王學院攻讀博士,現時在各大專院校任教哲學和思考方法課程。他在2016年與朋友創立「好青年荼毒室」,希望讓更多人認識哲學。