Courtroom Theatre

Courtroom Theatre

The courtroom of the former Central Magistracy is turned into an immersive theatre for students to re-enact historic court cases. Through roleplay and discussion, this inquiry-based activity allows students to ask important questions and acquire critical thinking and communication skills.

Students will learn about Hong Kong in the early 20th century and reflect on the social problems arising from poverty. The programme is based on court cases that took place at the former Central Magistracy. It allows students to gain a comprehensive understanding of the society at the time, including those were unfree, powerless, and endured inequality, as well as those who sought avenues of change.

After reviewing the social and historical context, students will then be aware of the present. Through creative activities, they will reflect on their roles and responsibilities as an individual in the current society. The programme invites reflection on how far Hong Kong have moved forward towards poverty alleviation. It further explores how every individual has the power to bring positive change and build a better society. It is hoped that everyone enjoys equal rights and promotes sustainable development together. Centre on Behavioral Health of The University of Hong Kong is the programme partner.

Two themes are available for upper primary to secondary school students.

Courtroom Theatre I:Child Hawker(P.5 to P.6 and F.1 to F.2)
From the 1930s to 1950s, many children in poverty would dash through streets and alleys to sell newspaper and even causing traffic accidents. This programme is based on a court case in 1933. Topics include child labour and the importance of free education in poverty alleviation.

Courtroom Theatre II:Bondservant(F.3 to F.6)
In the early days of Hong Kong, human trafficking and the abduction of women and children were still prevalent. Girls in poverty would be sold to other families as bondservants (“Mui Tsai”). Although food and shelter were provided to the girls, it did not protect them from the dangers of domestic violence and child slavery. This programme is based on a court case related to a young girl. It further discusses the changes of social concepts, systems, and laws that gradually strengthen the protection of children’s rights and gender equality.

  • Time: Every Tue (Except on public holidays)
  • The programme fee charged is based on the number of hours: HK$3,000/3 hours; HK$2,500/2 hours.
  • This activity is conducted in Cantonese only


Visit Information
Upper limit: 30 pax
School Information
Contact Person Information

古蹟教育劇場

古蹟教育劇場

前中央裁判司署的法庭,化身成重現歷史案件的沉浸式體驗劇場。這個以探究為本的活動,讓學生透過角色扮演和討論,提出重要的問題,建立批判性思考和溝通技巧。

學生將認識20世紀早期的香港,反思因貧窮而衍生的社會問題。活動以大館前中央裁判司署的法庭案件為主軸,讓學生延伸了解當時的社會情況。學生多角度探討那些無權勢的、承受著不平等待遇的,和尋求改革等觀點。

學生回顧歷史後,亦會覺照當下,以創意活動反思個人在現今社會中的角色和責任,並思考現今香港於改善貧窮的狀況上前進了多少?個人如何有能力帶來積極變化,並建設更美好的社會。希望所有人享有平等權利,共同推動可持續發展。本活動邀請香港大學行為健康教研中心為活動伙伴。

本活動有兩個為高小及中學生而設的主題。

古蹟教育劇場 I:販報小童 (小五至小六 及 中一至中二)
1930至50年代不少貧困兒童穿街過巷兜售報章,交通意外時有發生。是次主題取材於1933 年的法庭案件,並延伸討論童工及免費教育對改善貧窮的重要性。

古蹟教育劇場 II:蓄婢制度「妹仔」 (中三至中六)
早期香港人口販賣和拐帶婦孺情況盛行,將貧窮女童賣作「妹仔」,雖賦予生活照顧,但不能保障女童置於家暴及兒童奴隸的危機之中。是次主題取材於牽涉婦女及女童的法庭案件,並延伸討論社會觀念、制度、法例的改變如何一步步加強保障兒童權利,走上改善貧窮及性別平等的道路。

  • 時間︰逢星期二 (公眾假期除外)
  • 活動收費將按活動時數計算︰3小時為HK$3,000,2小時為HK$2,500
  • 活動以廣東話進行


參觀資料
上限為30人
學校資料
聯絡人資料