Tai Kwun Neon Connection

Date & Time

Coming soon

Location

Tai Kwun Lane

Price

Free of charge

General

Supported by

A new neon installation will blink into public view soon.

Designed by YARD Architecture Studio, the public artwork Memoir in Neon was selected by an expert panel as the winning entry among an impressive field of submissions from Hong Kong artists, designers and architects who took part in the open call Tai Kwun Neon Connection.

Inspired by the overwhelming public response to Tai Kwun’s summer exhibition Vital Signs, the challenge of Tai Kwun Neon Connection was to use the medium of neon light to create a large-scale public art work which links and activates the Tai Kwun Lane - the main pedestrian artery connecting the vibrant and welcoming Parade Ground with the peaceful and introspective Prison Yard.

Mapping the 55 metres and 59 steps of Tai Kwun Lane into three distinct zones, Memoir in Neon was conceived and designed by the Hong Kong creative team of Kenneth Wong and Kei Ngan – founding partners of YARD Architecture Studio. Memoir in Neon leads the visitor through an imagined streetscape of 19th and 20th Century Hong Kong by celebrating some distinctly Hong Kong visual motifs such as local made red plastic chairs and lampshades, concertina shopfront grilles, local designed ubiquitous red-white-blue canvas bags and Victorian Italianate archways and treating them to minimalist repetition and interpreting them in the visual language neon light tubes. The realization of YARD’s ambitious artistic concept relies heavily on the deep experience and artistry of revered Hong Kong neon masters, including Ellen Man and Chung Kin Pui, whose knowhow, accumulated through several decades of making neon advertising and signage in the commercial sector, now inspire and enable a new generation of Hong Kong talent to extend their creative practice into the medium of neon.

By downloading the free Bloomberg Connects app visitors can let the artists Kenneth and Kei guide them through the artwork as it links the Parade Ground and the Prison Yard – the two cherished oases in the heart of hectic Central.


Biography

YARD Architecture Studio

YARD Architecture Studio is a young and professional design firm based in Hong Kong. Founded by two post-80s local licensed architects, Kenneth Wong and Kei Ngan. Drawing from their diverse working experiences in Switzerland, Japan, and the Big Bay Area since 2010, they have developed an understanding of different design philosophies and construction techniques. They have undertaken a wide range of projects, from small-scale art installations to large-scale commercial architecture and residential developments. This rich background allows them to infuse their projects with a unique blend of international influences and local sensibilities.

Their vision goes beyond mere functionality, aiming to reinvent spaces and create meaningful and engaging experiences for users. They prioritize the harmonious relationship between people, the built environment, and nature. Their approach involves a storytelling approach that leverages form, detail, texture, material, and graphic design to deliver brand narratives or messages to the community. The studio deeply cares about the environment and the community, striving for good design in every project, regardless of scale. They dedicate themselves to obsessive attention to proportion, details, materials, and illustration in order to create extraordinary spatial experiences and foster meaningful conversations between human beings, nature, and the community.

Some of their projects include the Richfield in Kam Sheung Road station, a local outdoor retail street with the use of container, and the vegan restaurant Be with Years in Whampoa. Also, the studio's dedication and creativity were recognized when their design, "Upcyclescape" won first prize in the Design Competition for Transformation at Sensory Garden at Kwun Tong Promenade, which will get built in 2025.

大館霓脈

日期及時間

2024年4月11日 - 2025年4月10日 8am - 11pm

地點

大館里

費用

免費

簡介

卓越贊助

一個全新的霓虹裝置即將煥然亮起。

在眾多來自香港藝術家、設計師和建築師的投稿中,YARD Architecture Studio 建築設計工作室設計的公共藝術作品「脈絡 ‧ 霓虹」獲專家評審團選為「大館霓虹提案徵集」的優勝之作。

啟發自廣受大眾歡迎的大館暑假展覽「霓續」,全新展覽「大館霓脈」邀請創作人使用霓虹為媒介,創作大型公共藝術作品,並將作品展示於大館里,為這道連接大館熱鬧的檢閲廣場和靜謐的監獄操場之間的主要行人走道添上旖旎光景。

「脈絡 ‧ 霓虹」將55米長、總共59級台階的大館里分為三個區域,由 YARD Architecture Studio 建築設計工作室的合創夥伴黃智勤(Kenneth Wong)和顏煜奇(Kei Ngan)構思並設計。作品帶領觀眾穿梭想象中的19世紀及20世紀香港街景,從中回憶起一些獨特的經典香港視覺意象,例如香港製造的紅色塑膠櫈和吊燈 、舊式店舖的通花拉閘、本土設計的紅白藍膠袋和維多利亞時代意大利式拱門等,並透過霓虹光管呈現出簡約的重複圖案。YARD 極具難度的作品提案之所以能夠得以實現,幸虧多名香港霓虹師傅包括文慧芳及鍾建培,以及他們在霓虹廣告和招牌製造業數十年所累積而來的豐富經驗,以及經歲月沉淀的精湛工藝,如今師傅們依然啟發新一代香港人才延續其霓虹創作實踐。

觀眾可以透過下載 Bloomberg Connects 應用程式,聆聽藝術家黃智勤和顏煜奇的聲音導航,在兩位的帶領之下觀賞作品,遊訪此兩項位於中環鬧市中的休憩空間——檢閲廣場及監獄操場。


展覽圖集


藝術家簡介

YARD Architecture Studio

YARD建築設計工作室是一家年輕而充滿活力的香港本土設計公司,由兩位80後本地註冊建築師黃智勤和顏煜奇創立。自2010年起,他們先後在本地、瑞士、日本和大灣區工作,積累了豐富的工作經驗,了解了不同的設計理念和建造技術,經歷了從小型藝術裝置到大型商業建築和住宅開發等不同維度的設計項目。 這種豐富的背景使他們能夠將國際化的收穫和本土的獨特性整合到他們的項目中。

他們的設計理念旨在重塑空間並為用戶創造有意義和引人入勝的體驗。 優先考慮人、建築環境和自然之間的和諧關係,嘗試利用形式、細節、紋理、材料的說故事方法和平面設計向社區傳遞品牌敘事或訊息。 YARD深切關心環境和社區,力爭在每個項目中實現良好的設計,無論規模如何。他們致力於對比例、細節、材料、和插圖,以創造非凡的空間體驗並促進人類、自然和社區之間有意義的對話。

他們的作品包括位於錦上路站的盈匯坊,一個使用集裝箱的戶外商業項目,以及黃埔的純素餐廳Be with Years。此外,他們的設計「Upcyclescape」在2022年觀塘海濱花園感官花園改造設計比賽中獲勝,方案將於2025年建成。