Green Snake: women-centred ecologies

Family Day at Tai Kwun Contemporary

Green Snake: women-centred ecologies

Green Snake Guided Tour: Who’s Next?

Family Day at Tai Kwun Contemporary

Date & Time

21 Jan - 10 Mar, 2024

Location

JC Contemporary, F Hall Studio and Prison Yard

Price

Refer to programme details

General

Supported by:

Welcome to Tai Kwun Contemporary’s Family Day! Inspired by the artworks in the exhibition Green Snake: women-centred ecologies, this workshop explores the possibilities for different kinds of ecological relationships, demonstrating the importance of human relationships with each other and with nature.

In the natural world, whoever does the work or takes on the role of the caregiver in a family is not limited by concepts of gender. Everyone in the family has individual duties and performs a variety of tasks. In present-day human societies and families, however, gender roles often create a set of rigid expectations and norms. This artist-led workshop invites parents and children to discuss the different roles within a family by using recycled wood to create small toys that associate each child’s special qualities with the unique sounds of an animal. Participating families will create their own distinctive rhythms and sounds, allowing them to build bridges of communication and connect with one another.

This artist-led programme welcomes any child aged five or older to participate, accompanied by a parent/guardian.

This series of family workshops is presented by Tai Kwun Contemporary in collaboration with MUDWORK.


Workshops will be conducted in Cantonese.

Ticketing information: $80 per Family Pair (one adult with one child) for each timeslot

Please register and pay in advance online.


Artist Bio

MUDWORK

MUDWORK, an art and design studio founded by artists Chung Wai Ian and Ng Ka Chun in 2013, uses sculpture and installation to explore the contemporary state of urban space, community, and nature. In recent years, they have participated in several public and community art projects, including Art in MTR, Hi! Hill, and M+ Rover. Their work Cement Ping Pong Table was selected as part of the 2015 Public Art Scheme by the Project of Art Promotion Office.

青蛇:女性中心的生態學

大館當代美術館家庭日

青蛇:女性中心的生態學

「青蛇」嘉賓接手導賞團

大館當代美術館家庭日

日期及時間

2024年1月21日 - 3月10日

地點

賽馬會藝方、F倉展室及監獄操場

費用

參考節目詳情

簡介

卓越贊助:

歡迎參與大館當代美術館家庭日!工作坊受展覽「青蛇:女性中心的生態學」作品啟發,探索不同生態關係的可能性,展現出對人與人,及與自然之間關係的重視。

在大自然世界中,家庭中勞動或照顧者的角色沒有被既定的性別觀念所限制,他們各司其職,在家庭中擔當不同的工作。而在現代人類社會及家庭中,對不同性別角色往往有著固化的期望和規範。是次藝術家帶領的工作坊邀請大人小朋友開展對不同家庭角色的討論,參考動物以獨特的叫聲識別子女的特性,利用回收的木材創作小玩具。參與家庭將創造屬於他們獨特的節奏和聲音,建立溝通的橋樑以及奏起彼此的共鳴。

歡迎五歲或以上的小朋友與家長/監護人二人一組參與。

是次活動由大館當代美術館與MUDWORK策劃。

工作坊將以粵語進行。

工作坊門票:$80(每節活動:包含一位成人和一位小孩)

請預先登記及網上付款。


藝術家簡介

MUDWORK

MUDWORK是由藝術家鍾惠恩和吳家俊於 2013 年成立的藝術及設計工作室, 常以雕塑/裝置的方式探討城市空間、社區及自然的狀態。近年他們參與了多個公共/社區藝術計劃, 包括「港鐵。藝術」、「邂逅!山川人」、「M+Rover」等計劃。作品「水泥乒乓球枱」於藝術推廣辦事處「公共藝術計劃2015」中獲選。