Organisation & Management


Timothy Calnin

Director of Tai Kwun

"The Central Police Station compound is a remarkable jewel in the heart of Hong Kong, which is poised to assume a tremendously significant role in the cultural life of a city which I love. We are dedicated to offering the best heritage and arts experiences to Hong Kong and to cultivating knowledge and appreciation of contemporary art, performing arts and history in our community."

As Director of Tai Kwun, Timothy Calnin is responsible for guiding a team of passionate professionals in developing Tai Kwun into Hong Kong’s best-loved destination for heritage, arts and lifestyle enjoyment.

Timothy Calnin has held senior positions with leading musical and artistic organisations in Australia, Europe and Asia, which included senior executive roles at the Sydney Opera House, the Australian Chamber Orchestra and the Hong Kong Philharmonic Orchestra.


TAI KWUN Management Team

Bringing Tai Kwun to life requires different teams — composed of experienced professionals in Heritage, Contemporary Art, Performing Arts, Marketing and Communications, Asset Management, Facilities Management, Information and Communications Technology, Corporate Services, Operations, Human Resources and more. These various teams are committed to a single vision — to make Tai Kwun the Centre for Heritage and Arts, a place of inspiration, stimulation and enjoyment for all Hong Kong people.


Advisory Committee

Chairman 

The Hon Bernard Charnwut CHAN, GBS, JP 
The Hon CHAN is a deputy to the National People's Congress of China and the Convenor of the Non-official Members of Hong Kong's Executive Council. He is also a former member of Hong Kong's Legislative Council (1998–2008). A graduate of Pomona College in California, the United States, he is the President of Asia Financial Holdings Limited and Asia Insurance Co. Limited. He is Chairman of the Committee on Reduction of Salt and Sugar in Food, Chairman of the Steering Committee on Restored Landfill Revitalisation Funding Scheme, Chairman of Hong Kong Palace Museum Limited and Chairperson of the Hong Kong Council of Social Service. He is also Chairman of the Hong Kong - Thailand Business Council and an advisor to Bangkok Bank (China) Co. Limited. Mr CHAN chairs the Art Working Group of the Central Police Station Revitalisation Project.

Members
(In alphabetical order of last names)

Mr Benjamin CHA, Yiu-chung 
Mr CHA is the Chief Executive of Grosvenor Asia Pacific and has been a property investor and developer in the Asia Pacific region during his 20+ year career in the industry. Mr CHA has had a long standing interest in contemporary art and has been a long term supporter of the development of art and cultural institutions in Hong Kong. Mr CHA serves as Vice-chairman of the Asia Art Archive and is a Member of the Board of the M+ Museum for Visual Culture.  He serves on the Asian Council of the Serpentine Galleries and previously served on the Tate Asia-Pacific Acquisitions Committee. Mr CHA has a Master Degree in Business Administration from Stanford University and a Bachelor Degree of Arts in International Politics and Economics from Middlebury College, the United States. Mr CHA is a Member of the Art Working Group of the Central Police Station Revitalisation Project.

Ms CHENG Lai-king 
Ms CHENG, a Member of the Central and Western District Council, has been following heritage conservation in the community for many years. She is the Chairperson of the District Facilities Management Committee and the Member of the Working Group on Concern over the Development of the Central Police Station Compound and Former Police Married Quarters under the District Council. Ms CHENG is a social worker. 

Dr LEE Ho-yin
Dr LEE is a founder and the longest serving Director (2006-2015) of the Architectural Conservation Programmes in the Faculty of Architecture of The University of Hong Kong. A well-published academic and an experienced practitioner in built-heritage conservation, he has been appointed by government agencies in Hong Kong, Mainland and overseas as an expert advisor or a consultant for conservation projects and UNESCO World Heritage Site nominations. He is the Founding Vice-President of The Hong Kong Institute of Architectural Conservationists, Associate Member of The Hong Kong Institute of Architects, and Honorary Affiliate Member of the Hong Kong Chapter of the American Institute of Architects. Dr LEE currently chairs the Heritage Working Group of the Central Police Station Revitalisation Project and serves on the Urban Renewal Authority’s Planning, Development and Conservation Committee. 

Mr Dick LEE, Ming-kwai, GBS 
Mr LEE retired from the office of Commissioner of Police in 2007 after 34 years of distinguished service, including several years at the former Central Police Station. Mr LEE was awarded the Gold Bauhinia Star Medal in 2007 for his outstanding public service. He is now Executive Director for the Hong Kong Institute for Public Administration. Mr Lee is a Member of the Heritage Working Group of the Central Police Station Revitalisation Project. 

Mr Weber LO, Wai-pak
Mr LO is currently the Chief Executive Officer of Hang Lung Group Limited and Hang Lung Properties Limited. He served as a member of the Board of Inland Revenue and the Committee on Financial Assistance Scheme for Family Members of Those Who Sacrifice Their Lives to Save Others under the Labour and Welfare Bureau, Hong Kong SAR Government.  Prior to joining Hang Lung, Mr LO was Citi Country Officer and Chief Executive Officer for Citi Hong Kong and Macau.  Mr LO holds a degree in Social Sciences from The University of Hong Kong.

Professor Eva MAN, Kit-wah 
Received her doctorate degree from The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Professor MAN is the Director and Chair Professor of Academy of Film of the Hong Kong Baptist University. Professor MAN is a Member of Leisure and Cultural Services Department's Art Museum Advisory Panel, Expert Adviser of the Arts Capacity Development Funding Scheme under Home Affairs Bureau, Advisor for the Hong Kong Arts Development Council's Arts Criticism Group and Co-vice Chairman of the City Contemporary Dance Company. Professor MAN is a Member of the Art Working Group of the Central Police Station Revitalisation Project.

Mr Jeremy YOUNG, Chit-on
Mr YOUNG is a District Councillor of the Central and Western District. He is the Vice Chairperson of the Food, Environment, Hygiene & Works Committee and a Member of the Culture, Leisure & Social Affairs Committee under the Central and Western District Council. Mr YOUNG holds a Bachelor of Arts Degree from University of Oxford and a Master of Science Degree from the London School of Economics and Political Science of the University of London.

Ex-Officio Members

Commissioner for Heritage, The Government of the Hong Kong SAR or his representative
Executive Director, Charities and Community, The Hong Kong Jockey Club or his representative
Director of CPS, The Jockey Club CPS Limited or his representative


Heritage Working Group

The Heritage Working Group assists The Jockey Club CPS Limited in providing comments and suggestions on proposed programmes, and offers expert advice on the content of the heritage programmes.

Chairman 

Dr LEE Ho-yin
Dr LEE is a founder and the longest serving Director (2006-2015) of the Architectural Conservation Programmes in the Faculty of Architecture of The University of Hong Kong. A well-published academic and an experienced practitioner in built-heritage conservation, he has been appointed by government agencies in Hong Kong, Mainland and overseas as an expert advisor or a consultant for conservation projects and UNESCO World Heritage Site nominations. He is the Founding Vice-President of The Hong Kong Institute of Architectural Conservationists, Associate Member of The Hong Kong Institute of Architects, and Honorary Affiliate Member of the Hong Kong Chapter of the American Institute of Architects. Dr LEE also serves on The Jockey Club CPS Limited Advisory Committee and Urban Renewal Authority’s Planning, Development and Conservation Committee.

Members
(In alphabetical order of last names)

Mrs Margaret Eileen BROOKE
A surveyor by profession, Mrs BROOKE has been advocating developments in heritage conservation and sustainable built environment, serving a number of bodies, including the Heritage Hong Kong Foundation Limited, the Harbourfront Commission and its Task Forces on Hong Kong Island and Kai Tak together with Very Hong Kong Foundation Limited. Mrs BROOKE is Chief Executive Officer of Professional Property Services Limited.

Mr Stephen CHAN, Chit-kwai, BBS, JP
Mr CHAN is a Member of the Central and Western District Council. He is an active supporter for heritage conservation in the local community. He was appointed as a Justice of the Peace in 2000 and was awarded the Bronze Bauhinia Star Medal in 2012 for his community service over the years. Mr CHAN is a Member of the Antiquities Advisory Board.

Mr Andrew LAM, Siu-lo, SBS, JP
A town planner by profession, Mr LAM is an active supporter for heritage conservation and cultural development. He serves on a number of government advisory committees, including as Chairman of the Antiquities Advisory Board. Mr Lam holds a Bachelor of Science Degree in Urban / Regional Planning and Analysis from Buffalo State University in the United States.

Mr Dick LEE, Ming-kwai, GBS 
Mr LEE retired from the office of Commissioner of Police in 2007 after 34 years of distinguished service, including several years at the former Central Police Station. Mr LEE was awarded the Gold Bauhinia Star Medal in 2007 for his outstanding public service. He is now Executive Director for the Hong Kong Institute for Public Administration. Mr Lee also serves on The Jockey Club CPS Limtied Advisory Committee. 

Ms Susanna SIU, Lai-kuen
Ms SIU received her Masters in Conservation from the University of York in the United Kingdom and Masters in Architecture from the Tsinghua University in Beijing. Ms SIU is an experienced museum curator and specialises in heritage conservation. Ms SIU is currently the Executive Secretary of the Antiquities and Monuments Office and the Adjunct Associate Professor of The Chinese University of Hong Kong.

Dr Joseph TING, Sun-pao 
Dr TING is a well-known expert in Hong Kong history. He retired from the office of Chief Curator of the Hong Kong Museum of History in 2007. He serves on numerous boards and committees, such as the Council of the Lord Wilson Heritage Trust. Dr TING is a Member of the LCSD Museums Advisory Committee and Member of the Board of Hong Kong Palace Museum Limited.

Ex-Officio Members

Director of CPS
Head of Heritage


Art Working Group

The Art Working Group assists The Jockey Club CPS Limited in the development of policy, provides comments and suggestions on proposed programmes, and offers expert advice on the content of the contemporary art programmes.

Chairman 

The Hon Bernard Charnwut CHAN, GBS, JP 
The Hon CHAN is a deputy to the National People's Congress of China and the Convenor of the Non-official Members of Hong Kong's Executive Council. He is also a former member of Hong Kong's Legislative Council (1998–2008). A graduate of Pomona College in California, the United States, he is the President of Asia Financial Holdings Limited and Asia Insurance Co. Limited. He is Chairman of the Committee on Reduction of Salt and Sugar in Food, Chairman of the Steering Committee on Restored Landfill Revitalisation Funding Scheme, Chairman of Hong Kong Palace Museum Limited and Chairperson of the Hong Kong Council of Social Service. He is also Chairman of the Hong Kong - Thailand Business Council and an advisor to Bangkok Bank (China) Co. Limited. Mr CHAN chairs The Jockey Club CPS Limited Advisory Committee.

Members
(In alphabetical order of last names)

Mr John BATTEN
Mr BATTEN is an active member of Hong Kong's art community as an art critic, curator and public commentator on art, culture, heritage and urban planning issues. He is a regular contributor to the South China Morning Post, Ming Pao Weekly, Artomity and Perspective and on television and radio. He is currently Convenor of the heritage and urban planning advocacy group, the Central & Western Concern Group; President of the International Association of Art Critics-Hong Kong; and, a non-executive Director of Rooftop Institute, a non-profit arts organisation linking Hong Kong and other Asian countries and territories. He ran his own gallery for many years; and between 2005–2015 organised the annual charity art event, Hong Kong ArtWalk. He studied history and social work at university and worked for a prisoner rehabilitation organisation in the 1980s.

Mr Benjamin CHA, Yiu-chung 
Mr CHA is the Chief Executive of Grosvenor Asia Pacific and has been a property investor and developer in the Asia Pacific region during his 20+ year career in the industry. Mr CHA has had a long standing interest in contemporary art and has been a long term supporter of the development of art and cultural institutions in Hong Kong. Mr CHA serves as Vice-chairman of the Asia Art Archive and is a Member of the Board of the M+ Museum for Visual Culture.  He serves on the Asian Council of the Serpentine Galleries and previously served on the Tate Asia-Pacific Acquisitions Committee. Mr CHA has a Master Degree in Business Administration from Stanford University and a Bachelor Degree of Arts in International Politics and Economics from Middlebury College, the United States. Mr CHA also serves on The Jockey Club CPS Limited Advisory Committee.

Professor HO Siu-kee
Professor HO is currently the Associate Professor of the Department of Fine Arts, The Chinese University of Hong Kong. As a renowned local artist with artistic and academic achievements widely recognised by local and overseas art communities, he represented Hong Kong in various prestigious exhibitions worldwide including the 23rd International Biennial of Sao Paulo in 1996 and the 49th Venice Biennial in 2001. Professor HO obtained his Doctor of Fine Art degree from RMIT University (Australia) in 2003.

Mr Calvin HUI, Kim-lung
Mr HUI co-founded 3812 Gallery with Mr Mark Peaker in 2011, and currently acts as Artistic Director. Mr HUI was a Member of Art Museum Advisory Panel, Leisure and Cultural Services Department, HKSAR (2014-2016); Advisor for the Arts Education Group, Hong Kong Arts Development Council (2014-2016), he was also a member of the Board of Governors of the Hong Kong Arts Centre (2009-2012). In 2013, Mr HUI co-founded various not-for-profit initiatives such as Arts in Heritage Research and SKETCH HONG KONG. In December 2015, he launched INK ASIA, the first international art fair specialising in contemporary ink art in Hong Kong. 

Professor Eva MAN, Kit-wah 
Received her doctorate degree from The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Professor MAN is the Director and Chair Professor of Academy of Film of the Hong Kong Baptist University. Professor MAN is a Member of Leisure and Cultural Services Department's Art Museum Advisory Panel, Expert Adviser of the Arts Capacity Development Funding Scheme under Home Affairs Bureau, Advisor for the Hong Kong Arts Development Council's Arts Criticism Group and Co-vice Chairman of the City Contemporary Dance Company. Professor MAN also serves on The Jockey Club CPS Limited Advisory Committee.

Ex-Officio Members

Director of CPS
Head of Art

管理團隊


簡寧天

大館總監

「中區警署建築群是香港的一顆寶石,將在這個我鍾愛的城市的文化生態中閃閃生光。我們致力為香港帶來最好的歷史文化和藝術體驗,並培養大眾對當代藝術、表演藝術和歷史文物的認知和興趣。」

作為大館總監,簡寧天負責帶領專業和充滿熱誠的籌劃團隊,將大館發展成香港集歷史文物、藝術及消閒娛樂體驗於一身的新焦點。

簡寧天曾在澳洲、 歐洲和亞洲的主要音樂及藝術團體擔任高層職位,其經驗包括在悉尼歌劇院、澳洲室樂團及香港管弦樂團出任管理層職位。


大館管理團隊

大館的成立,是各方團隊共同努力的成果,當中包括來自歷史文物、當代藝術、表演藝術、市場推廣、資產管理、設施管理、訊息和通訊技術、企業服務、營運、人力資源等範籌的資深專業人員。各個團隊同心協力,忠於同一個願景 — 致力為香港帶來豐富精彩的歷史文物及藝術體驗,培養公眾對當代藝術、表演藝術和社區歷史的認識和欣賞。


諮詢委員會

主席

陳智思議員, GBS, JP 
陳議員為中國全國人民代表大會代表及香港行政會議非官守議員召集人,並於1998–2008年出任立法會議員。陳議員畢業於美國加州 Pomona College,現為亞洲金融集團(控股)有限公司及亞洲保險有限公司總裁。現時社會公職包括降低食物中鹽和糖委員會主席、活化已修復堆填區資助計劃督導委員會主席、香港故宮文化博物館有限公司主席及香港社會服務聯會主席。此外,陳議員亦是香港泰國商會主席及盤谷銀行(中國)有限公司顧問。陳議員同時在中區警署活化計劃的藝術工作小組擔任主席。

委員
(按英文姓氏排列)

查耀中先生
查先生現為高富諾亞太區行政總裁,擁有逾二十年亞太區地產投資及發展經驗。查先生醉心當代藝術,對香港的藝術發展及文化機構工作一直十分支持。查先生為亞洲藝術文獻庫董事會副主席、M+視覺文化博物館董事局成員及Serpentine Galleries亞洲分會成員。他早前亦擔任泰特美術館亞太收藏委員會委員。查先生持有美國史丹福大學工商管理碩士學位,及明德大學(Middlebury College)國際政治和經濟文學士學位。查先生亦是中區警署活化計劃藝術工作小組的成員。

鄭麗琼女士
鄭女士是中西區區議員,過去多年一直跟進當區的文物保育工作。她現時擔任區議會轄下地區設施管理委員會主席及關注中區警署古蹟群及前荷李活道警察宿舍發展工作小組成員。鄭女士是一名社會工作者。

李浩然博士
李博士是香港大學建築文物保護課程的創始人之一,亦是在任最長的課程主任(2006-2015)。在大學任教之外,他亦是一位資深的建築文物保護師,曾被香港、國內與海外政府機構委任為專家或顧問,參與各類的文物保育工程及聯合國教科文組織世界文化遺產申報。他是香港建築文物保護師學會的創會副會長,香港建築師學會的副會員,亦被美國建築師學會(香港分會)頒發名譽聯屬會員名銜。他現時是中區警署活化計劃文物工作小組的主席以及市區重建局轄下規劃、拓展及文物保護委員會的增選委員。

李明逵先生, GBS 
李先生服務警隊三十四年,2007年退休時為警務處處長。中區警署曾是他的工作地點之一。他於2007年獲頒授金紫荊星章以表揚他卓越的公共服務。李先生現時為香港公共行政學院院長。李先生亦是中區警署活化計劃文物工作小組的成員。

盧韋柏先生
盧先生現時是恒隆集團及恒隆地產的行政總裁。曾為花旗集團香港及澳門區行長,盧先生任香港特別行政區稅務委員會委員,勞工及福利局旗下向捨身救人者家屬提供經濟援助委員會委員。盧先生持有香港大學社會科學學士學位。

文潔華教授  
文教授在香港中文大學修獲博士學位,現時是浸會大學電影學院的總監兼講座教授。她是康樂及文化事務署轄下藝術博物館諮詢委員會的成員、民政事務局藝能發展資助計劃的專業顧問、香港藝術發展局的藝術評論顧問及城市當代舞蹈團的聯合副主席。文教授亦是中區警署活化計劃藝術工作小組的成員。

楊哲安先生
楊先生是中西區區議員,現時擔任中西區區議會轄下食物環境衞生及工務委員會副主席及文化康樂及社會事務委員會委員。楊先生持有英國倫敦政治經濟學院理學碩士學位及牛津大學文學士學位。

當然委員

香港特別行政區政府文物保育專員或其代表
香港賽馬會慈善及社區事務執行總監或其代表
賽馬會文物保育有限公司中區警署建築群總監或其代表


文物工作小組

「文物工作小組」協助賽馬會文物保育有限公司訂立文物活動方針,在制訂節目的過程中提供意見,並就活動內容提出專業建議。

主席

李浩然博士
李博士是香港大學建築文物保護課程的創始人之一,亦是在任最長的課程主任(2006-2015)。在大學任教之外,他亦是一位資深的建築文物保護師,曾被香港、國內與海外政府機構委任為專家或顧問,參與各類的文物保育工程及聯合國教科文組織世界文化遺產申報。他是香港建築文物保護師學會的創會副會長,香港建築師學會的副會員,亦被美國建築師學會(香港分會)頒發名譽聯屬會員名銜。他現時亦是賽馬會文物保育有限公司諮詢委員會的委員以及市區重建局轄下規劃、拓展及文物保護委員會的增選委員。

委員
(按英文姓氏排列)

蒲美琪女士
蒲女士是一名測量師,致力推動文物保育及屋宇的可持續發展,並出任多個諮詢組織,包括香港文化遺產基金會有限公司、海濱事務委員會及其轄下的港島區及啟德海濱發展專責小組和非常香港。蒲女士現時擔任Professional Property Services Limited的行政總裁。

陳捷貴先生, BBS, JP
陳先生是中西區區議員,致力支持地區的文物保育工作。陳先生於2000年獲委任太平紳士,並於2012年獲頒授銅紫荊星章以表揚他在社區的長期服務。陳先生現時為古物諮詢委員會委員。

林筱魯先生, SBS, JP
林先生是一名城市規劃師;他積極支持文物保育及文化發展,並為多個政府諮詢組織服務,包括出任古物諮詢委員會主席。林先生擁有美國水牛城州立大學城市/區域規劃及分析理學士學位。

李明逵先生, GBS 
李先生服務警隊三十四年,2007年退休時為警務處處長。中區警署曾是他的工作地點之一。他於2007年獲頒授金紫荊星章以表揚他卓越的公共服務。李先生現時為香港公共行政學院院長。李先生亦是賽馬會文物保育有限公司諮詢委員會的委員。

蕭麗娟女士
蕭女士為英國約克大學文物建築保護碩士及北京清華大學建築學院工學碩士,資深博物館館長及文物保育工作者。蕭女士現任古物古蹟辦事處執行秘書及香港中文大學客座副教授。

丁新豹博士
丁博士是知名的香港歷史學學者,2007年退休時為香港歷史博物館總館長。他為多個政府諮詢組織服務,包括衞奕信勳爵文物信託理事會。丁博士現時是康樂及文化事務署博物館諮詢委員會成員和香港故宮文化博物館有限公司董事局成員。

當然成員

中區警署建築群總監
文物事務主管


藝術工作小組

「藝術工作小組」協助賽馬會文物保育有限公司訂立文物活動方針,在制訂節目的過程中提供意見,並就活動內容提出專業建議。

主席

陳智思議員, GBS, JP 
陳議員為中國全國人民代表大會代表及香港行政會議非官守議員召集人,並於1998–2008年出任立法會議員。陳議員畢業於美國加州 Pomona College,現為亞洲金融集團(控股)有限公司及亞洲保險有限公司總裁。現時社會公職包括降低食物中鹽和糖委員會主席、活化已修復堆填區資助計劃督導委員會主席、香港故宮文化博物館有限公司主席及香港社會服務聯會主席。此外,陳議員亦是香港泰國商會主席及盤谷銀行(中國)有限公司顧問。陳議員同時在賽馬會文物保育有限公司諮詢委員會擔任主席。

委員
(按英文姓氏排列)

百德,約翰先生
百德先生是藝術工作者及藝術和公共事務的評論人,關注香港藝術、文化、保育及城市規劃的議題。他經常在南華早報、明報周刊撰文,並於電台、電視台發表評論。百德先生一直致力推廣香港的城市規劃及文化遺產保存工作,為中西區關注組召集人及國際藝評人協會香港分會主席。他亦是非牟利藝術團體天台塾的非執行董事。百德先生曾開辦畫廊,並於2005–2015年間出仼香港週年慈善藝術活動ArtWalk的策劃人。他於大學修讀歷史及社工課程,並於1980年代為一所更生人士復康機構工作。

查耀中先生
查先生現為高富諾亞太區行政總裁,擁有逾二十年亞太區地產投資及發展經驗。查先生醉心當代藝術,對香港的藝術發展及文化機構工作一直十分支持。查先生為亞洲藝術文獻庫董事會副主席、M+視覺文化博物館董事局成員及Serpentine Galleries亞洲分會成員。他早前亦擔任泰特美術館亞太收藏委員會委員。查先生持有美國史丹福大學工商管理碩士學位,及明德大學(Middlebury College)國際政治和經濟文學士學位。查先生亦是賽馬會文物保育有限公司諮詢委員會的委員。

何兆基教授
何教授現為香港中文大學藝術系副教授。作為本地知名藝術家,何教授的藝術和學術成就獲得本地及海外藝術界的廣泛認可,並曾代表香港參與第二十三屆巴西聖保羅國際雙年展(1996)及第四十九屆威尼斯雙年展(2001) 等國際大型藝術展覽。何教授於2003年修獲澳洲皇家墨爾本理工大學藝術博士。

許劍龍先生
許先生於2011年與Mark Peaker先生聯合創辦3812畫廊,並擔任藝術總監至今。於2014年,許先生曾任香港康樂及文化事務署藝術博物館諮詢委員會成員(2014-2016) 、香港藝術發展局的藝術教育顧問(2014-2016) 及香港藝術中心監督團成員(2009-2012)。於2013年,許先生創立非牟利機構 — 藝術及古蹟資料研究有限公司。2011至2017年期間擔任「典亞藝博」聯席主席及總監。2015年12月,許先生於香港會議展覽中心推出全球首個當代水墨藝術博覽會 ─「水墨藝博」。

文潔華教授  
文教授在香港中文大學修獲博士學位,現時是浸會大學電影學院的總監兼講座教授。她是康樂及文化事務署轄下藝術博物館諮詢委員會的成員、民政事務局藝能發展資助計劃的專業顧問、香港藝術發展局的藝術評論顧問及城市當代舞蹈團的聯合副主席。文教授亦是賽馬會文物保育有限公司諮詢委員會的委員。

當然成員

中區警署建築群總監
藝術事務主管