About


Heritage at Tai Kwun

Tai Kwun immerses visitors in the rich heritage of the historic Central Police Station compound. More than 170 years of history will unfold through interactive tours, heritage storytelling spaces, diverse education programmes and thematic heritage and community exhibitions.

The Heritage Department of Tai Kwun aims to inform visitors about the past and to inspire them about the present and the future. As a celebration of Hong Kong culture and identity, the heritage offerings and educational programmes are for all demographics. There will be tours around the historic Central Police Station compound—the former Central Police Station, Central Magistracy and Victoria Prison—a one-stop approach for law and order. The interactive and immersive experience will entice visitors to come back for more.


Heritage Storytelling

Visitors explore this site with over 170 years of history through heritage interpretation. Heritage is not merely architecture and artefacts but also people and their stories. Our approach to site-wide heritage interpretation is oriented towards people’s lives and storytelling throughout the site, while our research brings in historical materials, as well as oral history by engaging ex-officers who worked in the compound.

The heritage offerings include eight designated heritage storytelling spaces and they are supported by storytelling also at stairways and corridors. The site-wide storytelling also features location-specific stories named Tai Kwun Tales and Building History. Visitors can join our daily Tai Kwun Guided Tours to get themselves familiarised with the site or they can make use of our leaflets and Tai Kwun App to embark a self-guided thematic journey around. Regardless of your level of interest in history and heritage, Tai Kwun will offer heritage experiences for all.


Heritage Education

Tai Kwun provides a wide range of heritage education programmes which encourage audiences of all ages to discover and learn to appreciate history and heritage through an immersive learning experience.

The highlighted heritage education programmes, which cater to students of varying ages, offer children and youth a chance to participate in treasuring cultural heritage. By understanding such social values and by building self-confidence, students will be able to realise the aim of whole-person development and develop their lifelong learning skills.

Tai Kwun will also offer workshops every fortnight to celebrate the rich heritage of the Central Police Station compound through immersive exercises and handmade crafts.


Heritage and Community Programmes

Tai Kwun is the starting point from which visitors can understand our culture, history, and community. With large-scale programmes and exhibitions that embrace our community, our culture and our city, Tai Kwun collaborates with community and cultural groups in its programming and exhibitions.

關於我們


大館 - 文物故事

大館—中區警署建築群將為你帶來一個充滿歷史文化氣息的氛圍。你可從各種形式的導賞團、歷史故事空間、多元化的教育活動和以歷史文化為主題的展覽探索這裡逾170年的歷史。

大館藉由重塑昔日故事以聯繫城市的現在和未來。為推廣及傳承香港本土文化與身份認同,大館提供的歷史文物節目將切合不同需要、類型和年齡層。訪客可透過導賞團了解中區警署建築群的故事—前中區警署、中央裁判司署和域多利監獄這個維護法紀的「一站式」機構。大館希望互動展品將讓訪客有如置身舊日時光並再三造訪。


關於歷史故事

透過我們對中區警署建築群的歷史故事詮釋,你將重新發掘它逾170年的歷史。歷史文物不單涵蓋建築物和文物,更包括人與人和人與物之間的故事和連繫。研究團隊透過參考歷史文獻、影像、紀錄、書籍,及與曾在大館工作的退休人員進行口述歷史訪問,蒐集了不少歷史資料。然後採用以人為本、猶如說故事的方式,在大館各處為大家細述建築群的歷史和演變,在大館各處為大家細述建築群的歷史和演變。

我們的歷史文物節目包括八個歷史故事空間、大堂和走廊位置、遍佈建築群各處的大館故事,以及各建築物歷史和昔日用途的介紹。我們每天均設有大館導賞團,但你亦可利用大館App上的語音導賞,自由探索大館。不論你對歷史文物的認識和興趣有多深,你定能在大館找到新的發現。


關於歷史文化教育

大館提供一系列的古蹟文物教育活動,鼓勵不同年齡層的訪客發掘和認識歷史文物。

大館的重點古蹟文物教育項目為不同年紀的小朋友和青年人提供全人發展的機會,讓他們學習終身受用的知識和技能。

大館每兩星期舉辦圍繞歷史文化主題的工作坊,例如手工藝製作,令參加者有深刻的體驗。


關於歷史文化節目

由大館出發,訪客可以認識有關大館的文化、歷史以及附近的社區。大館與不少機構合作策劃以社區文化歷史為主軸的大型節目和展覽。