Wet feet __ dry feet: borders and games
Time
Tue-Sun | 11am–7pm Timetable
Location
JC Contemporary Map
Price
Free of charge
Wet feet __ dry feet: borders and games

General

Curators: Xue Tan & Sunjung Kim

Co-presenter: Art Sonje Center, Seoul


Wet feet __ dry feet: borders and games gathers for the first time in Hong Kong important recent works by Francis Alÿs, one of the most influential conceptual artists of our time. Structured around the artist’s interest in migration, borders, and his fascination with children’s games from around the world, this solo exhibition highlights Francis Alÿs’s poetic, imaginative sensibility, anchored by geopolitical concerns and individual will while being grounded in everyday life.

The title of the exhibition was the spark to Alÿs’s works in this exhibition: “Wet Feet, Dry Feet” refers to the US policy on Cuban refugees in 1995. Under this policy, Cuban migrants headed for the United States faced vastly different treatment depending on whether they were intercepted at sea or on land, on US soil. If intercepted at sea (“wet feet”), they would be repatriated back to Cuba; if intercepted on land (“dry feet”), they would be allowed to stay in the United States. For a Hong Kong audience, this might sound uncannily familiar: the “Touch Base” policy in 1970s Hong Kong meant that Mainland Chinese migrants would be sent back to the Mainland if intercepted at sea or in the New Territories; only if they reached south of Boundary Street—the formal boundary between Kowloon and the New Territories—were migrants allowed to stay legally in the territory (in the quirky British sports reference, “touch base”).

The connection between borders and games in Francis Alÿs’s artistic practice lies at the heart of the exhibition. After his quixotic attempt to connect Havana and Florida through lines of boats volunteered by fishing communities and private boat owners in Bridge/Puente (2006), the artist shifted his attention to the narrower Strait of Gibraltar, a waterway 13 km wide, with the imaginative impulse of connecting Northern Africa and Southern Europe with lines of fishing boats—which were later enacted metaphorically by groups of children departing from the shores with “shoe boats”, tiny boats made with babouches and flip-flop sandals. In a process that took two years of preparation, the artist evaded interference and interest from various parties, and filmed the final performance as a utopian endeavour. Presented alongside the video installation Don’t Cross the Bridge Before Getting to the River (2008) are over 100 paintings and drawings, as well as notes drafted along the production of the project. While working with these children, Alÿs was reminded of his long-time observation of children at play, particularly their appropriation of public spaces for play and their strong sense of moving freely within “rules”.

His latest on-going project, Children’s Games (1999–present), consists of more than 20 documentary videos of children at play in various locations; some were filmed in countries that have suffered from ongoing war and conflicts, such as Afghanistan and Iraq, as well as other places such as Nepal, Jordan, Mexico, France, and Hong Kong—the last featuring newly commissioned videos by Tai Kwun Contemporary. Without ever becoming directly involved, the artist documents children moving in their own ways and playing their games—games which also echo the rituals, symbols, insights, superstitions and events of the specific society, culture, and locality. Children’s Games is in the vein of his artistic practice—touching poetically on conceptual displacement and alluding lightly, whimsically on politics and social engagement. Viewers can observe a poignant sense of innocence and the redemptive power of play—universal and transcending conventions, boundaries, and borders.

Artist Bio

Francis Alÿs (b. 1959, Belgium; based in Mexico) has a complex and at times elusive artistic practice that poetically fuses an imaginative, conceptual sensibility with the socio-political momentousness of issues related to urban spaces, transnational borders, and political structures.

Trained first as an architect, after moving to Mexico Alÿs shifted towards art making, relishing its freedom and flexibility. Through observations of and engagements with Mexico’s vast urban fabric and everyday life, Alÿs has presented artistic arguments in the form of parables, opening a space for imagination as well as dislocating the sense of the ordinary. In Paradox of Praxis 1 (Sometimes Making Something Leads to Nothing) (1997), for instance, Alÿs pushed a large block of ice through the streets of Mexico City, until the ice fully melted. Absurd yet starry-eyed, the work invites wonder but also evokes awareness of the spatial plane of the street, with its hubbub of pedestrians and street vendors, and indeed a whole economy that depends on ice in tropical climes. Many early works focused on Mexico have some aspect of “blue-collar conceptualism”.

Among a diverse range of works, one has also seen Alÿs take on a certain naturalistic heroic romanticism with his efforts of entering the eye of tornados, while in other works, his engagement with boundaries and borders invest his oeuvre with a more overt sense of politics. The Loop (1997), for instance, involved Alÿs circumnavigating the world in an opposite direction in order to get from Tijuana, Mexico, to San Diego, California, without ever crossing the US-Mexican border. In The Green Line (Sometimes Doing Something Poetic Can Become Political and Sometimes Doing Something Political Can Become Poetic) (2004), Alÿs walked along the border between Palestine and Israel—a border though contested was not immediately apparent to the eye, despite its name—while holding a can of green paint, dribbling a line of green paint behind him.

More recently, Francis Alÿs has come to realise that one important element of his oeuvre involves children at play, through his videos relating to the everyday actions of the street life or to the large-scale performances about borders. This brings a different dimension of the universal fable that has always been inherent in his work, combining play, innocence, and observation, through a poetic sense of dislocation that offers a liberating vision while commenting on socio-political issues of norms, boundaries, and borders.

Alÿs has had solo exhibitions around the world, including at the Tate Modern, London; The Museum of Modern Art, New York; Kunsthaus Zurich, Switzerland; Museo de Arte Reina Sofia, Madrid; among many others. He has participated in Venice Biennales held in 1999, 2001, and 2007; in particular, he sent a peacock in his stead for the 2001 Venice Biennale. Alÿs has also taken part in Documenta 13 in 2012.

水限 __ 陸界: 邊境與遊戲

水限 __ 陸界: 邊境與遊戲

當代藝術節目

「沙之路:歷史的故事」(2018–2020) 放映

當代藝術節目

白雙全:在地圖的邊緣上散步

當代藝術節目
時間
星期二至日|11am–7pm 時間表
位置
賽馬會藝方 地圖
費用
免費

簡介

策展人:譚雪及金宣延

協辦:首爾Art Sonje中心


水限 __ 陸界: 邊境與遊戲邀請了當代極具影響力的概念藝術家Francis Alÿs,首次在香港展出其重量級近作。是次展覽圍繞藝術家對人口遷徙、邊境以及近年對世界各地兒童遊戲的興趣與關注,並將讓觀眾看到Alÿs既詩意又飽含想像力的情感,他的感性既建基於他對個人意志以及地緣政治的關懷,又同時立於日常生活之中。

展覽的標題直指Alÿs是次展出作品的核心,並與1995年美國對古巴難民實施的「乾濕腳」政策互相呼應。在這項政策中,前往美國的古巴難民將按著他們被截獲的地點,面對截然不同的處置措施:如果他們於海上被截獲,即「濕腳」,將被遣送回古巴;反之,假若他們於陸地上被截獲,即「乾腳」,則可獲准居留。這措施難免會詭異地勾起香港觀眾的熟悉感:它與1970年代港英政府實施的「抵壘政策」異曲同工。在這項政策中,港府一度根據以往九龍與新界的正式交界線界限街為限,意味著內地移民若於海上或新界被截獲,將遭遣返,只有進入界限街以南才算是「抵壘」,可獲合法居留(其政策命名「抵壘」一詞,源自一種英式運動,隱藏了某種英式幽默)。

Alÿs的藝術創作中所表現的這種邊界與遊戲的緊密關聯,正是本展的要旨。自從他在前作《橋》(2006年)裡,首度嘗試如精衛填海般召集了漁民和私人船主,以船身串連,連接起哈瓦那和佛羅里達州後,他便進一步把目光投放在直布羅陀海峽那僅有13公里的狹窄水道上,嘗試以漁船接龍,實踐連接北非與南歐的大膽創想,這後來演變成以真人演繹的隱喻——兩批孩子乘坐著以拖鞋做成的船,分別從兩側的海岸線出發。在長達兩年的準備過程中,藝術家在各方干預下避開重重阻撓,最終用鏡頭紀錄了有如烏托邦般的表演行動。隨著錄像裝置《遇河之前莫過橋》(2008年)展出的是超過100幅油畫和繪畫作品,以及準備過程中的大量速寫和筆記。正是在與這群孩子共事的過程中,Alÿs從觀察孩子們的玩耍與遊戲中體會到的一些啟發,尤其是他們如何將公共場所挪為己「玩」,以及總有辦法靈巧地在既有「規則」中遊走的能耐。

他最新的持續性項目《兒童遊戲》(1999年至今)累積了20件自不同地方拍攝的兒童遊戲錄像紀錄作品,一些拍於戰事和衝突不斷的地區如阿富汗、伊拉克,另一些地點包括尼泊爾、約旦、墨西哥、法國,以及於香港拍攝、由大館當代美術館最新委約的兩三件錄像作品。在這些作品中,藝術家從不直接介入,只負責紀錄,孩子以各自的方式玩遊戲——這些遊戲往往反映出不同社會和地緣文化衍生的傳統儀式、符號、見解等,也包括亦一些迷信與當地事件。《兒童遊戲》是描繪他藝術創作脈絡的極佳例子——Alÿs能夠詩化「遷離」概念,輕巧地隱言出其政治性和社會參與。觀眾更可感受到遊戲與玩耍中純真無邪的救贖力量——超越陳規、跨越邊境、沒有邊界,普世皆然。

展覽圖集

藝術家簡介

Francis Alÿs(1959年生於比利時,常駐墨西哥)的實踐手法既繁複,又時而令人難以捉摸,他以一種詩意的方式將那些富有想象力的、概念上的感性與社會政治的重要性結合,其創作所涉獵的議題包括城市空間、邊境和社會結構。

Alÿs最初所受的是建築師的訓練,自移居至墨西哥後,他因創作上的自由度和靈活度而轉向了藝術創作。通過對於墨西哥廣闊的城市構造和日常生活的觀察及體驗,Alÿs開始以寓言故事的形式陳述他藝術上的論點,由此打開想象的空間,並擾亂日常的感悟。以《實踐的悖論I(有時行動指向虛無)》(1997年)為例,Alÿs推著一塊冰穿過墨西哥城的街巷,直到冰塊完全融化。作品看似荒謬又有幻想色彩,在激發奇想的同時,亦喚起人們對於街道空間的平面意識:街頭行人與小販的嘈雜聲不斷,而事實上,整個熱帶氣候的經濟體系都離不開冰。Alÿs早期聚焦在墨西哥的作品,均涉及了「藍領概念主義」。

在Alÿs廣泛又多樣的創作中,特別是從他不斷嘗試進入颶風風眼的行為藝術中,不難覺察他對自然萬物懷有某種宏大的浪漫主義態度;而在那些介入邊界和邊境的作品裡,Alÿs則投注了更為明顯的政治意圖。在作品《環行》(1997年)中,Alÿs為了不觸及美墨邊境地從墨西哥提華納前往美國聖地亞哥,選擇了一條全然相背的路徑去環遊世界。而在作品《綠線(有時詩意可以政治有時政治可以詩意)》(2004年)中,Alÿs手持綠色的顏料桶,在巴勒斯坦和以色列的邊境線上行走——雖說這是邊境,但它卻是備受爭議也不可見。綠色的顏料緩緩滴下,在Alÿs身後形成一條綠色的線。

近期,Alÿs開始從審視自身作品中意識到,那些遊戲中的孩子們是他作品的重要元素,這在他以街頭日常活動為素材的影像作品裡,以及與邊境有關的大型表演中皆有跡可尋。這將他作品中固有的普世寓言面向推至一個全新的維度:結合遊戲、純真與觀察,通過他詩意的錯置,他的作品為我們提供了開放自由的視角,同時亦帶出了他對於規則、邊界以及邊境的社會政治問題的看法。

Alÿs 曾於世界各地舉辦過個展,包括倫敦泰特現代美術館、紐約現代藝術博物館、瑞士蘇黎世美術館(Kunsthaus Zurich)及馬德里索非亞王后國家藝術中心等機構。他曾三次參加威尼斯雙年展(1999、2001及2007年),其中,他在2001年的威尼斯雙年展上派出一隻孔雀代替他出席。Alÿs亦於2012年參加了第十三屆卡塞爾文獻展。