trust & confusion

Tino Sehgal

trust & confusion

Tino Sehgal

Date & Time

23 Oct - 5 Dec, 2021 Tue–Sun | 11am–7pm

Location

This Variation | JC Contemporary
These Associations | Prison Yard

Price

Free of charge

General

"What is probably the most radical, far-reaching, beautifully generous art programme of his generation." 
Martin Herbert at Art Review

“Something dazzlingly powerful, moving, and full of potential.”
Laura McLean-Ferris at Independent

"His work has an influence on how you experience reality, it makes you sensitive and alert, it has the power to transform spectators into new people."
Oscar van den Boogaard at Frieze Magazine  

“I was so enthralled I fell in step behind him, unable to tear myself away. We're in the middle of things. It is marvellous.”
Adrian Searle at The Guardian


A new episode of trust & confusion presents two most significant works by the critically acclaimed artist Tino Sehgal: These Associations, on the Prison Yard of Tai Kwun, and This Variation, on the 3/F Tai Kwun Contemporary gallery.

Originally commissioned for the Turbine Hall at Tate Modern, These Associations involves interpreters of various ages and backgrounds, from all walks of life. Here, adapted for the context of Hong Kong, 30 interpreters at any given time transform Tai Kwun’s historic Prison Yard into a changing and fluctuating live environment. In the 3/F Tai Kwun Contemporary gallery space is This Variation—first presented at d(OCUMENTA) 13—where Sehgal’s most exuberant and musical work opens up dance to be experienced through listening and sensing.

Limited capacity for This Variation in 3/F gallery space; online reservation is recommended before visiting on weekends and public holidays.


Artist Bio

Tino Sehgal

One of the most important artists in recent decades, the work of Tino Sehgal (b. 1976, UK; lives in Berlin) unfolds itself not by way of the object but by ephemeral constructed situations. Redefining the museum as a place for social relations, Sehgal radically eliminates the conventional art object, shifting the focus to live interconnections—compositions of voices, choreographies, and people, without involving or generating any physical materials. 

Marked by his training in political economy and dance, Sehgal’s live works consist of language, conversations, games, movements, and choreographies, poignantly reflecting on the ways society today takes and is given shape. Like no other, Sehgal rearticulates art spaces as a ritualistic environment of social interactions. Visitors often take part in the very construction of the works, which in turn prompt the visitors’ responses, opinions, and sentiments, and carry them to a new place. Thus, the conventional subject-object relation is challenged and redirected into a fleeting production of implication, engagement, connection, and belonging.  Meaning and value are thereby produced through the exchange of language and movement, rather than through the traditional operation of visual object and beholder. 

Sehgal’s work raises pertinent questions about the mass production and consumption of materials that have taken hold of our contemporary life. With a deep consideration of locality and minimal carbon footprint, a full cast of over 170 people was chosen in Hong Kong through a long process of exchange, training, and collaboration—offering immeasurable community impact and turning the institution towards engagement beyond its usual remit.

信任&迷惑

Tino Sehgal

信任&迷惑

Tino Sehgal

日期及時間

2021年10月23日 - 12月5日 星期二至日|11am–7pm

地點

《如此變奏》| 賽馬會藝方三樓 (需預先預約)
《這些聯繫》| 監獄操場

費用

免費

簡介

「這可能是這時代最激進、最影響深遠、最優秀和慷慨的藝術項目。」
知名藝術作家 Martin Herbert 於 《Art Review》評論

「有某種力量令人眼花繚亂,使人感動,且充滿潛力。」
英國《獨立報》藝術評論人 Laura McLean-Ferris 

「他的作品會影響你如何體驗現實,讓你變得敏感、警覺,能令觀眾脫胎換骨。」
知名藝術作家 Oscar van den Boogaard 於 《Frieze》雜誌評論  

「讓我著迷,不禁跟隨他走,難以自拔。我們在世界的中心,太華麗了。」
英國《衛報》首席藝評家 Adrian Searle


「信任&迷惑」新篇章呈現國際知名藝術家 Tino Sehgal的兩件重要現場作品——於大館監獄操場的《這些聯繫》(These Associations),以及位於大館當代美術館3樓展廳《如此變奏》(This Variation)。

《這些聯繫》原受泰特現代美術館為渦輪大廳所委託創作,參與者來自各行各業,不同年齡及人生經歷。是次作品為香港特別創作,30位參與者將大館歷史悠久的監獄操場轉化成一個流動變化的現場環境。而位於大館當代美術館三樓展廳的,是藝術家最有活力和音樂感的作品《如此變奏》,原為第13屆卡塞爾文獻展所創作,作品讓觀眾通過聆聽和感受去體驗舞蹈。

由譚雪與助理策展人何苑瑜、李伊寧策劃

由於《如此變奏》的空間有限,參觀前建議先網上預約。歡迎未經預約的觀眾於平日到訪。


藝術家座談:Tino Sehgal

藝術家座談:Tino Sehgal
2021年11月10日 (星期三)
7:15-8:30pm
賽馬會立方
免費活動(先到先得)

參加首次於香港展出作品的國際知名藝術家Tino Sehgal與策展人譚雪的對談!

Tino Sehgal的作品以動作及對話取代靜止的物件,對世界各地的美術館實現範式轉移。他的作品將美術館重新定義為人際交往的地點,創造現場關聯——由聲音、遊戲、編舞和人組合,從不涉及或創造任何物質材料。

是次展覽「信任&迷惑」中,Sehgal的兩件重要作品《這些聯繫》和《如此變奏》正由超過170位本地參與者及舞者現場呈獻。節目當日,展覽策展人譚雪將於賽馬會立方現場與藝術家即時網上會談,談及其創作實踐,及為香港創作的作品。

Photo Credit: Wolfgang Tillmans, 2013


藝術家簡介

Tino Sehgal

Tino Sehgal(1976年生於英國,現居柏林)是近數十年來舉足輕重的藝術家,他的作品並非以物件呈現,而是透過轉瞬即逝的情景建構而成。Sehgal 將美術館重新定義為人際交往的地點,他徹底脫離傳統藝術物件,將重點轉移至現場關聯──由聲音、編舞和人組合,從不涉及或製造任何物質材料。

Sehgal 曾受政治經濟學和舞蹈訓練,他的現場作品使用語言、對話、遊戲、動作和編舞元素,深刻地反省當下社會趨勢及運作方式。他的創作獨一無二── 將藝術空間重新表現為社交儀式進行的場所 。而觀眾經常參與作品的創建,他們即時作出的反應,意見及情緒,帶他們進入另一個境界。傳統的主客關係受到挑戰,這些即時的感覺:讓人參與其中,建立聯繫,彼此相通,找到歸屬。在他的作品中,意義和價值藉在語言與動作的交流中產生,這推翻了藝術物件與觀者的傳統關係。

Sehgal的作品對現代生活中充斥著的大規模生產和消費主義提出質問。考慮香港的獨特文化,以及對減碳對關注,藝術家與170多位來自香港對舞者與參與者合作,這漫長的交流、培訓、排練和合作對本地社群產生了不可估量的影響,也使大館主辦方更積極地融入到社區參與之中。