Tai Kwun Conversations

Tai Kwun Conversations: Connecting Youth

Date & Time

12 Oct 2022 1930 – 2100

Location

JC Cube

Price

Exclusive to Tai Kwun Fans, Free of charge

General

The upcoming edition of Tai Kwun Conversations: Connecting Youth features Rachel Noël, Head of Programme and Partnerships at Tate Britain and Tate Modern, who will be talking about the impact of art on youths and exploring the role that art institutions can play in fostering positive change in young people. Of interest not only to educators, curators, social worker, parents and young people, this event will appeal to anyone who wants to learn more about the intersection of art, learning, and the personal development of young people.

In particular, Rachel will be introducing the programming available for young audiences at Tate, as well as the learning and research findings from Circuit, a programme that connects young people and galleries with the objective of sparking positive change. Led by Tate and funded by Paul Hamlyn Foundation, Circuit connected ten institutions across England and Wales with youth organisations, creating opportunities for a more diverse range of 15- to 25-year-olds to engage with art. Having built on Tate’s long-term work with young people and endeavouring to reach out to those who might not usually connect with art institutions, over a four-year period Circuit has engaged more than 175,000 individuals through events and projects, demonstrating that art can have a significant impact in building young people’s confidence and practical skills, as well as their social and personal development.

Rachel Noël will also share her experiences as Convenor of Young People’s Programmes at Tate, discussing the institution's groundbreaking work with young audiences. This work includes programmes such as Late at Tate Britain, a large-scale interdisciplinary programme curated by young people, and Tate Collective, a youth membership programme that provides affordable access to Tate for those aged 16 to 25.

Tai Kwun Conversations: Connecting Youth will have Rachel Noël sharing virtually with audiences who will be on site in JC Cube; moderated by Veronica Wong, Education and Public Programmes Curator from Tai Kwun Contemporary, this Tai Kwun Conversations also includes a Q&A session at the end.

Tai Kwun Conversations is a monthly event that brings together brilliant minds from the fields of contemporary art, architecture, heritage, among many others. Join us to discover new artistic exchange and outstanding practices in heritage conservation.

This event will be conducted in English, with English to Cantonese simultaneous interpretation.

The event will adhere to the latest health and safety regulations and enforce social distancing measures.

* Key visual photo: Stillness Rehearsal, Young People’s Programmes & Public Programmes, Tate Britain 2020, photo ©Tate (Oliver Cowling)


Artist Bio

Rachel Noël

Rachel Noël, Head of Programme and Partnerships at Tate Britain and Tate Modern, is an experienced curator and emerging cultural leader building creative communities with and for young people, emerging artists and cultural producers through art, ideas, public programming and strategy.

Previously Convenor of Young People's Programmes at Tate, she has developed strategies and programmes that welcome and support all young people in navigating the world around them through art, culture, and ideas. In addition to facilitating a range of creative learning experiences, events, and opportunities for young people, she co-leads Tate Collective, Tate’s youth arts membership scheme at approximate 140,000 members. Her practice is guided by equity, liberation, and social justice.

Her Tate programming highlights include celebrating the cultural production of queer womxn of colour with BBZ and Tate Exchange (2017); producing a radio show on the roof of the British Pavilion in Venice with Tate Collective producers, Touching Bass and Abondance Matanda (2018); commissioning young and emerging artists to create new outdoor artworks for LDN WMN (2018) and Beyond Boundaries (2021); devising and implementing (un)common space, an experimental co-working space and artist development programme at Tate Britain (2018); and piloting a Tate-wide mentoring programme for young people with Creative Society (2021).

大館對談

大館對談:藝聚青年

日期及時間

2022年10月12日 下午7時半至下午9時

地點

賽馬會立方

費用

大館Fans尊享節目,免費

簡介

最新一期大館對談:「藝聚青年」由泰特不列顛美術館和泰特現代藝術館的節目兼合作夥伴負責人Rachel Noël主講,她將談論藝術對青年的影響,並探索藝術機構在促進青年積極變革所發揮的作用。歡迎不僅教育工作者、策展人、社會工作者、家長和年輕人感興趣,是次對談亦歡迎以及所有希望了解藝術、學習和如何與青年個人發展如何相交相輔相成的朋友參加。

Rachel會介紹泰特如何為年輕觀眾策劃節目,以及分享「Circuit」項目的學習和研究成果。該項目藉連繫年輕人和美術館推動積極變革。
由泰特美術館主導、獲Paul Hamlyn基金會資助的,「Circuit」携手英格蘭和威爾士的十家藝術機構與青年組織,為15至25歲來自不同背景的青年創造接觸藝術的機會。這項目以泰特美術館為青年策劃節目的長期工作為基礎,旨在接觸平日甚少與美術館打交道的年輕人。四年來,「Circuit」通過不同活動和節目,吸引了超過175,000人參與,表明藝術對年輕人樹立信心、提高實踐技能、促進社交能力和個人發展方面大有裨益。

身為泰特青年節目召集人,Rachel Noël還會分享她為美術館吸納更多年輕觀眾的種種創舉,如由年輕人策劃的大型跨界節目「泰特不列顛美術館之夜」(Late at Tate Britain);以及優待16至25歲人士進館參觀的泰特青年會員計劃Tate Collective。

大館對談:「藝聚青年」,屆時將邀請Rachel Noël通過視像與賽馬會立方的現場觀衆分享,並由大館當代美術館教育舆公共項目策展人王莉莉主持。對談最後將設有問答環節。

「大館對談」每月舉行,匯集了來自當代藝術、建築、遺產等領域的傑出人才,帶領觀衆發現新的藝術交流和遺產保護的傑出實踐。

對談將以英文進行,現場設粵語即時傳譯。

活動將嚴格遵守最新的健康及衛生防護指引,並採取有效的社交距離措施。


藝術家簡介

Rachel Noël

Rachel Noël,泰特不列顛美術館和泰特現代藝術館項目和合作夥伴負責人。身為嶄露頭角的文化領袖,她策展經驗豐富,通過藝術、意念、公共節目策劃和策略,與青年、新進藝術家和文化製作人共同建立屬於自己的創意社區。

她曾任泰特美術館的青年計劃召集人,制定計劃策略和活動節目,歡迎並支持所有年輕人在泰特藉藝術、文化和思想,探索周遭世界。當中包括為年輕人提供了創意學習經驗、活動及機會,以及共同負責推行泰特青年會員計劃Tate Collective,共吸納了大約14萬名會員。她以公平、解放和正義為處事原則。

她策劃過的精彩節目,包括為頌揚有色酷兒女性的文化成就,與BBZ酷兒組織及Tate Exchange項目合作策劃的展覽(2017);聯合Tate Collective Producers、Touching Bass和Abondance Matanda製作的威尼斯雙年展英國館屋頂廣播節(2018);委約年輕及新進藝術家為倫敦公共藝術項目LDN WMN(2018)和 Beyond Boundaries(2021)創作全新戶外藝術作品;為泰特不列顛美術館構思及執行實驗合作空間和藝術家發展計劃——(un)common space(2018);以及與Creative Society合作,為泰特試行一個面向青年的廣泛導師輔導計劃(2021)。