Tai Kwun Contemporary Artists’ Studio 2019-20

Tai Kwun Contemporary Artists’ Studio — o!sland

Contemporary Art Programme

Tai Kwun Contemporary Artists’ Studio — Charles Kwong

Contemporary Art Programme

Tai Kwun Contemporary Artists’ Studio — Jess Lau Ching-Wa

Contemporary Art Programme
Time
Timetable
Location
Married Sergeants’ Quarters Map
Price
Free of charge
Tai Kwun Contemporary Artists’ Studio — Jess Lau Ching-Wa

General

Tai Kwun Contemporary’s Residency Programme expands the depth of its education and public programmes and creates a far-reaching network of artists, curators, researchers, writers and academics that encourages interdisciplinary collaborations and contributes to a flourishing art scene in Hong Kong, enabling professionals to develop their practices and benefit from the network of Tai Kwun and its partners.

The Open Call for Artists’ Studio 2019-20, a pilot project for the Residency Programme, targeted emerging artists or creative professionals from Hong Kong and beyond who work in time-based, intangible or less traditional artistic formats such as performances, videos, social interventions, books, writing, research-based practices, conceptual art, AI/VR and more. The selected artists are Chan Wai Lap (artist), Charles Kwong (composer), Jess Lau Ching-wa (artist) and o!sland (artist collective).

Please stay tuned to Tai Kwun website for information on upcoming Artists' Studio Open Calls.


Tai Kwun Contemporary welcomes the Hong Kong-based artist Jess Lau Ching-Wa to our Artists’ Studio Programme. Born in Hong Kong in 1991, Jess Ching-Wa Lau received a Bachelor of Arts (Hons) in Creative Media from the City University of Hong Kong in 2014. Lau’s work focuses on themes such as memories of the body and of the city, and the accumulation of time. Growing up in a densely populated city, she explores the relationships and distances between people and the city by incorporating traces of everyday life such as human voices and handwriting into her multimedia work. Often working in video, animation, and installation, she experiments with the uniqueness and malleability of each medium. Lau is a member of Floating Projects Collective, an experimental artist-run space in Hong Kong.

During her residency, Jess Lau Ching-Wa will start a new project titled ‘Fragment Transition: River’. River—both the rivers in Hong Kong and the ‘rivers’ inside human bodies (blood vessels)—will be the starting point of the project. Rivers stand witness to history and often symbolise the passing of time. The project aims to illuminate the big picture of urban development by compiling fragments of individual lives and of the city space as well as pushing the boundaries of animation and video art.

大館藝術家工作室駐場計劃2019-20

大館藝術家工作室駐場計劃—鄺展維

當代藝術節目

大館藝術家工作室駐場計劃—劉清華

當代藝術節目
時間
時間表
位置
已婚警察宿舍 地圖
費用
免費
大館藝術家工作室駐場計劃—劉清華

簡介

大館藝術家駐場計劃旨在拓展大館當代美術館的公共及教育活動,為藝術家、策展人、研究員、作家和學者擴展網絡,鼓勵他們進行跨領域合作,從而促進香港藝術界的蓬勃發展。駐場的藝術專業人士可受惠於大館及其合作夥伴的支持,實驗創新。

第一屆大館藝術家工作室駐場計劃於2019年夏季公開徵求來自香港或海外的新晉藝術家或創意專業人士。其創意實踐需涉及時間性、非物質性或創新型的媒介,如表演、錄像、社會介入活動、出版、寫作、基於研究的創意實踐、概念藝術、擴增實境和虛擬實境等。本届公開徵集的獲選者為陳惠立(藝術家)、鄺展維(作曲家)、劉清華(藝術家)和o!sland(藝術家組合)。

如欲了解未來公開徵集詳情,請關注大館網站。


大館當代美術館歡迎劉清華參加我們的藝術家工作室駐場計劃。劉清華於1991年生於香港﹐於2014年獲得香港城市大學創意媒體文學士(榮譽)學位。她探索城市的景貌及身體的記憶,著眼於人與城市之間的關係和距離,常將人聲、筆跡等生活痕跡融入作品之中。劉氏也關注不同媒介的獨特性及其質感之可塑性,作品涉及錄像、動畫、裝置等元素。她為本地藝術實驗群體「據點。句點」的成員。

在本次駐場計劃中,劉清華將開展新項目「Fragment Transition: River」。項目由河流的概念出發,不僅研究香港的河流,也會關注人體内的「河流」──血脈。河流見證著歷史,也常被用來比喻時間的流逝。此計劃將用實驗性的錄像藝術和動畫,拼凑個人生活和城市空間的碎片,以一窺城市發展的宏觀進程。