Saturday Music at Laundry Steps 2021

Saturday Music at Laundry Steps

Saturday Music at Laundry Steps

Saturday Music at Laundry Steps

Saturday Music at Laundry Steps

Saturday Music at Laundry Steps

Date & Time

1 May 2021 2:30pm - 5:30pm

Location

Laundry Steps

Price

Free of charge

General

Designated Saturday of each month, an exciting line-up of established and up-and-coming Hong Kong musicians will gather at Tai Kwun’s Laundry Steps to offer an afternoon of light-hearted music. Curated by singer-songwriter Vicky Fung, an avid promoter of Cantopop, these Saturday afternoons will showcase the best of Hong Kong’s jazz, pop, independent and world music, where you will revisit and discover the musical talents of our city at the unique heritage site of Tai Kwun.


THEME OF THE WEEK: The Realism of Illusion

If illusions stem from our imagination, what absurdities can exist within our actual realities? Are they the objective truths we struggle with, or are they the subjective ? We may not have the answer, but music provides us with a starting point to understand and experience the illusions and realities of life.

Time

Line Up

Music Genre

2:30pm – 3:10pm

Rock Hill Street

Electropop

3:40pm – 4:20pm

Olga Chung x William Chan

Folk Pop

4:50pm – 5:30pm

Walter Kwan feat. Crotus Chan & Ming Chan

Pop


Biography

Rock Hill Street
Olga Chung x William Chan
Walter Kwan feat. Crotus Chan & Ming Chan

Both Marstn and Yeung Tung started off as independent musicians. They upload videos of their own music and cover songs on their individual YouTube channels.  They are connected on the social media through music and has since then shared their music with one another. Until one time when Marstn needed some equipment and had to borrow from Yeung Tung, the two finally met each other in person for the first time on Rock Hill Street.

Marstn started composing in 2012 to express himself through his own lyrics. Countless of his material can be found on social media. Since 2018, he has been performing live in various venues such as lounges, bars and mini concerts, etc. He is definitely a very talented composer/singer. Yeung Tung, being an avid singer from the beginning, used to produce her own karaoke cover version on the computer. That gradually became a learning process to write her own music. Then performing opportunities started coming in. At the same time, she also writes and composes for her friends. Her music is mostly of the electronic genre. Both of them certainly have their own idea and infatuation when it comes to music.

Olga is a local independent singer/songwriter. She focuses on performing and composing popular music as well as collaborating with artists of different areas, such as contemporary dance company “4 Degrees Dance Laboratory”. She recently expands her career into theatre performances. Olga is currently a freelancer and a regular performer in restaurants. She will be collaborating with guitar enthusiast William Chan for a number of original works.

Walter Kwan is an independent singer-songwriter, arranger/producer, and keyboard player graduated from the Berklee College of Music in 2018. His music is heavily influenced by Cantopop/Mandopop, Gospel, Soul/R&B, and Jazz/Fusion. He has started releasing music since 2020: writing, producing, and performing all his own originals. Walter has also worked with a number of renowned artists/band from Hong Kong, China, and Taiwan including: Khalil Fong, Tia Ray, Ouyang Nana, Jiayun Yu, RubberBand, Hins Cheung, Phil Lam, etc. 

This time Walter is pairing up with Crotus Chan (drummer) and Ming Chan (bassist) to perform as a trio.

周六階聲作樂 2021

周六階聲作樂

周六階聲作樂

周六階聲作樂

周六階聲作樂

日期及時間

2021年5月1日 2:30pm - 5:30pm

地點

洗衣場石階

費用

免費

簡介

由香港知名唱作人馮穎琪精心策劃,每月指定星期六下午,城中一眾成名多年及嶄露頭角的音樂人將齊聚大館洗衣場石階,為你獻上爵士、流行、獨立到世界音樂,讓你在城市中心的獨特古建築群中,重新認識和發掘本地的音樂人才。


本周主題:現實可是一種幻象

如果幻象是幻想、幻覺中產生的形象,那現實的荒誕,究竟是違反意願的客觀實相,還是真實的主觀幻想?用音樂為疑幻疑真的生活作真誠的記錄,發掘當下身同感受的虛與實。

時間

演出團體

音樂風格

2:30pm – 3:10pm

石山街

電子流行

3:40pm – 4:20pm

Olga Chung x William Chan

流行民謠

4:50pm – 5:30pm

Walter Kwan feat. Crotus Chan & Ming Chan

流行


藝術家簡介

石山街
Olga Chung x William Chan
Walter Kwan feat. Crotus Chan

Marstn 及 Yeung Tung 兩人分別為獨立音樂人,近年於自己的YouTube channel上載自創歌曲及翻唱影片。二人以音樂為由,相識於社交平台,一直以音樂交流,直至一次 Marstn 因欠缺器材,而要向 Yeung Tung 借用器材,造成二人於石山街的首次見面。

Marstn 2012年起開始創作音樂,以曲詞表達自己的想法,在其社交平台上可見他數之不盡的音樂作品,而自2018年起他不時會到餐廳、酒吧、小型音樂會等地方作現場表演,是一位才華創作型歌手。Yeung Tung 初時因喜歡唱歌所以用電腦自製 karaoke,進而慢慢學習原創音樂,亦因此開始到外表演,亦會幫朋友寫歌同做歌。創作類別常為電子音樂。 兩人都對音樂有自己的想法及執著。

本地獨立創作歌手,主力流行曲創作及演出,亦喜愛與不同範疇藝術家合作,如現代舞團四度舞蹈劇場。近年亦涉獵舞台演出,現為自由身創作人及餐廳駐唱歌手。是次聯同資深結他導師 William Chan 帶來多首原創作品。

Walter Kwan是一名獨立唱作人,同時也是一個編曲/製作人以及鍵盤手,2018年畢業於Berklee College of Music。音樂風格深受Gospel/Soul/R&B、Jazz fusion、Cantopop/Mandopop等影響。Walter 2020年開始發表自己的原創,一手包辦曲詞編。曾合作過的歌手及樂隊包括:方大同、袁婭維、歐陽娜娜、 余佳運、RubberBand、張敬軒、林奕匡等等。

這次他將與鼓手 Crotus Chan 及低音結他手 Ming Chan 一同演出。