Sarah Morris: Who is Who

Sarah Morris: Who is Who

Date & Time

16 Mar - 14 Apr, 2024 11:00am – 7:00pm
Close on Mondays

Location

3/F JC Contemporary

Price

Free of charge

General

Artist: Sarah Morris
Curator: Tobias Berger

Tai Kwun Contemporary presents Who is Who, an exhibition of new work by the artist Sarah Morris. The exhibition features her latest film ETC alongside a site-specific wall painting Lippo [Paul Rudolph]

ETC, filmed in Hong Kong in the spring of 2023 post-quarantine, highlights both iconic and lesser-known locations. The film features countless subjects alongside architect James Kinoshita, actress Josie Ho, and legendary graphic designer Henry Steiner—who in 1979 designed an Electronic Teller Card for HSBC titled ETC, a predecessor of today’s ATM card.

The film’s title ETC playfully recalls the Electronic Teller Card while considering Hong Kong as a global centre of commerce. The artist visualises the electronic and digital life of the city in an era marked by rapid change. Layering daily life and complex histories, the feature-length film reflects upon the use of space. In particular, Morris considers both macro and micro scales which propel the viewer into a field of fragmented narratives.

ETC is Sarah Morris’s sixteenth film, continuing her examination of the interconnection of global sites. Since her 1998 debut film Midtown, which captures a day in the life of New York, Sarah Morris has featured locations including Washington, D.C., Los Angeles, Beijing, and Rio de Janeiro among countless others. ETC is currently on view on the M+ façade, a monumental exhibition feature of the building.  At Tai Kwun Contemporary, the film is presented for the first time with Liam Gillick’s musical compositions and in 4K.

Alongside ETC is her latest wall painting Lippo [Paul Rudolph], where the artist reimagines the iconic landmark through her iconic use of colour and composition. Through surfaces, Morris explores the psychology of the city and inhabitants.

莎拉.摩里斯:誰是誰

莎拉.摩里斯:誰是誰

日期及時間

2024年3月16日 - 4月14日 11:00am – 7:00pm
星期一閉館

地點

賽馬會藝方三樓展廳

費用

免費

簡介

藝術家:莎拉.摩里斯

策展人:Tobias Berger

藝術周特別開放時間

25.03.2024(周一)2pm–8pm
26.03.2024(周二)11am–8pm
27.03.2024(周三)10am–7pm
28.03.2024(周四)11am–8pm (8-10 pm 只限受邀人士參與)
29.03.2024(周五)11am–7pm
30.03.2024(周六)11am–7pm
31.03.2024(周日)11am–7pm
01.04.2024(周一)11am–7pm
02.04.2024(周二)休館作定期維護

大館當代美術館呈獻「誰是誰」,展出藝術家莎拉.摩里斯(Sarah Morris)的新作。展覽涵蓋藝術家的最新電影《ETC》,以及一幅全新委約的場域特定壁畫《力寶[保羅.魯道夫]》。

《ETC》拍攝於香港經歷隔離時期過後的2023年春天,拍下了本港多個著名景點或鮮為人知的地方。片中出現了不少人物,包括建築師木下一(James Kinoshita)、女演員何超儀和傳奇平面設計師石漢瑞(Henry Steiner)。其中石漢瑞在1979年為滙豐銀行設計了一張名為「易通財」的電子提款卡(ETC),即今天自動提款卡(ATM)的前身。

電影標題《ETC》饒有趣味地以「易通財」的英文簡稱命名,突顯香港的世界商業中心地位。在這個急速變化的時代,藝術家將城市的電子和數碼生活形象化。這部長片將日常生活融入複雜的歷史之中,反思城市空間的使用,並兼容宏觀和微觀的視角,邀請觀眾進入碎片化的敘事。

《ETC》是摩里斯的第十六部電影,延續她對全球各地之間千絲萬縷關係的研究。自1998年,她推出首部電影《Midtown》捕捉紐約一天的生活以來,至今的拍攝對象包括華盛頓、洛杉磯、北京及里約熱內盧等地。《ETC》早前於巨型影像展演平台M+幕牆放映。而在大館當代美術館,電影將首次配合利安.吉利克(Liam Gillick)創作的音樂作品,以4K高清畫質放映。

與《ETC》共同展出的壁畫新作《力寶[保羅.魯道夫]》則以藝術家標誌性的色彩運用和構圖方式,重新想像本地的特色地標,帶領觀眾穿透各種表面,探索城市和居民的心理。