Exhibitions & Events


Art After Hours 2019

One ear to hear - on(h)(e)ar)

24 Oct 2019

Elvia Wilk’s Oval and Real Eco-Estate Futures: reading followed by conversation with Tiffany Sia

17 Oct 2019

Foxconn Frequency (no.3) – for three visibly Chinese performers

11 Oct 2019

Spitting Spirits: from hip hop to acoustic sound with MC Yan

31 Aug 2019

Under-Cover: Investigations in Art Publishing

25 Jul - 31 Aug, 2019

The Great Spirit: acoustic performance by MC Yan

30 Aug 2019

Under-Cover: Investigations in Art Publishing – Spotlight

25 Jul - 29 Aug, 2019

Incoming Outgoing No. 1: spontaneous rituals with Shane Aspegren and Suitcase Institute

23 Aug 2019

Screening and Talk | Chungking Global

17 Aug 2019

Merry Night Ride: performance by Merry Lamb Lamb

16 Aug 2019

Real Estate Zine Bedroom Story: launch with Popo-Post Art Group

9 Aug 2019

Translator as viewer as performer: re-translating conceptual art with Yan Wu

3 Aug 2019

Richard Roe: reading by Tyler Coburn

2 Aug 2019

Cross and Transfer: Bookmaking Workshop with Doreen Chan

27 Jul 2019

ART AFTER HOURS - Disaster and Japanese Art: Noi Sawaragi Lecture

14 Jul 2019

Art After Hours: Mauvais Sang Screening + Li Chi Tak in Conversation

28 Jun 2019

Art After Hours: Sarah Morris: No Inside Outside (ASAP Keynote Lecture)

7 Jun 2019

Art After Hours: Screening and Talk | Rehearsing the Museum

24 May 2019

"Yesterday Once More" Film Premiere and Talk

17 May 2019

Yuk Hui: Book Launch

3 May 2019

Art After Hours: Influenzers 你我相隔(多麼遠) Performative Workshop with Enoch Cheng and curator talk with Ying Kwok

12 Apr 2019

Bitten: Inside the Mosquito World

6 Apr 2019

Screening of “Prison Architect” by Cao Fei with the artist present and followed by a Q&A session

28 Mar 2019

Art After Hours: Influenzers 你我相隔 (多麼遠) Performative Workshop with Enoch Cheng

22 Mar 2019

Art After Hours: “Come to me, Paradise” Film Screening and Conversation with Artist Stephanie Comilang

15 Mar 2019

Travelling Book: “14 Years Old & World & Border” Book Launch & Reading Event

9 Mar 2019

Art After Hours: “The Witching Hour” Panel

8 Mar 2019

Art After Hours: The Violence of Gender (From a Hong Kong perspective) Panel

7 Mar 2019

[Art After Hours] Artist’s Choice: ”Night of the Living Dead“ and in Conversation with Angela Su

1 Mar 2019

Art After Hours: Zhong Kui and the Reform of Hell—A Puppet Show by eteam

22 - 23 Feb, 2019

Art After Hours: Karaoke Court by Jack Tan

8 Feb 2019

Art After Hours: Contagion and Hygiene panel

1 Feb 2019

Art After Hours: Hong Kong Visions with Contemporary Musiking Hong Kong

18 Jan 2019

Art After Hours: The Great Every Pandiculate Dinner Party

4 Jan 2019

Paid Programme Registration Required

One ear to hear - on(h)(e)ar)

Time |
7pm-9pm
Location |
Room 03-206, Barrack Block
Price |
Free of charge

Co-presented with Lingnan University (LU) Cultural Studies Department in partnership with the University of California Humanities Research Institute (UCHRI)


Read as "One Ear to Hear", this intimate performance and sharing session will work through uncommon ideas of "noise, sound, and music." Instead of just listening, the curator Dayang Yraola seeks to bring the audience into a thicker sensorial space. Usually, when we think about "noise" we think: how long or how loud can you listen? For "sound": what is it that I am hearing? For "music": what is it saying? The sound artists Cheuk Wing Nam, Dennis Wong (Sin:Ned), and Nelson Hiu will present a solo performance on each of the above-mentioned categories that leads toward a sound relay—where artists swap genres to question our presumptions about how these genres are defined. Akin to a sound bath, the performances seek to move to a sense of feeling-listening and being together.

Following the performances, a sharing session will be held. It will be hosted by Yang Yeung (soundpocket, Hong Kong Art Appraisal Club) , Nina Sun Eidsheim (author of Sensing Sound, Singing and Listening as Vibrational Practice, UCLA), and Dayang Yraola (curator of <on(h)(e)ar)>, Lingnan University). 


Nelson Hiu 邱立信, born and raised in Honolulu Hawaii, is a fourth-generation descendant of Chinese and Japanese immigrants. His interest in music, improvisation and self-discovery began while a secondary school student during the tumultuous late 60s and early 70s. He is a multi-instrumentalist. He studied ethno-musicology at the University of Hawaii. He has been living in Hong Kong since 1985 as Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts hired him to come to teach. Nelson has also been a founding member of many new music ensembles in Hawaii and Hong Kong including Nuclear Tan, the Pagan Babies, Gain Dangerous Visions, the Pet Project Hawaii, Uncarved Block, CIMG (Collective Improvisational Music Group), Little Red Truck, Dancing Stone and Yihk, and has collaborated extensively with dance and theatre. His music for dance has been performed in Hawaii, Arizona, San Francisco, Los Angeles, Seattle, Utah, New York City, Switzerland, Japan, Hong Kong, Korea, Taiwan and the Mainland.

Dennis Wong 黃仲輝 aka Sin:Ned, is an improviser, experimentalist and noise practitioner from Hong Kong. He regards himself as a sonic medium and advocator of sonic mysticism in search of a direct and pure physical sound experience through chaos, errors and the extremes. He is the co-founder of Re-Records (www.re-records.com) and SECOND. Currently running the live performance series NOISE to SIGNAL and Kill The Silence Festival. He was a writer for the legendary Hong Kong alternative music magazine MCB (Music Colony Bi-Weekly). Among his latest performance were with dotolimpic Festival (Korea, 2017), Lausanne Underground Film & Music Festival (Switzerland, 2015, 2017), and Pop Im Ausland (Germany, 2016). His works have been selected and released by the infamous Belgium imprint Sub Rosa’s “An Anthology of Chinese Electronic Music” and “An Anthology of Noise & Electronic Music Vol. 7”.

Cheuk Wing Nam 卓穎嵐 (as known as Chang May Wing Joy) is an interdisciplinary artist who devotes to develop her artwork with new concepts of mixing sound and other media with the modern computer technology. She graduated from her Master degree of Visual Arts (Studio Art and Extended Media) in Hong Kong Baptist University. Cheuk has exhibited and/or performed in Sonic Environment 2016 (Brisbane, Australia), Zurich University of the Arts (ZHdK, Switzerland), XXX Gallery, 22 Degrees North, Connecting Spaces, floating projects, Hong Kong Baptist University. She was selected to participate in Sonic Transmission Artist Exchange Project 2016 by Contemporary Musiking Hong Kong (CMHK). Recently, her works are selected in Art Central, Art Jakarta, and the upcoming Triennial in Asia Society New York Centre.

Nina Sun Eidsheim is Professor of Musicology at University of California-Los Angeles Herb Alpert School of Music. She authored Sensing Sound: Singing and Listening as Vibrational Practice (Duke UP, 2015) and The Race of Sound: Listening, Timbre, and Vocality in African American Music (Duke UP, 2019); co-edited Oxford Handbook of Voice Studies (2019); co-edited (with Josh Kun and Ronald Radano) of the Refiguring American Music book series for Duke University Press; recipient of the Mellon Foundation Fellowship, Cornell University Society of the Humanities Fellowship, the UC President’s Faculty Research Fellowship and the ACLS Charles A. Ryskamp Fellowship. She’s currently collaborating on a book and performance project with composer and trumpet player Wadada Leo Smith.

Yang Yeung 楊陽 is a writer of art and an independent curator. She founded the non-profit soundpocket in 2008 and is currently its Artistic Director. In 2015, she started independent project A Walk with A3 located at a back alley in Causeway Bay in Hong Kong to support the right of art to be in the streets and right of pedestrians to encounter art as a daily experience. Currently Yeung is a member of the international research network Institute for Public Art and contributes research writings on place-making public art projects regularly to the network’s conference and archive. She is member of the independent art critics collective Art Appraisal Club (HK) and the International Art Critics Association (HK). Most recently, she was in the art writing residency with Contemporary Art Stavanger in Norway. She currently teaches classics at the Chinese University of Hong Kong.

Dayang Yraola is an Assistant Professor at the University of the Philippines College of Fine Arts and a Lecturer at the College of Music. She was Archivist and Collections Manager at the U.P. Center for Ethnomusicology (2006-2015). As curator, she did the Jose Maceda Exhibit Series (2013, 2017-8); founded and curated the art residency/ exchange platforms Project Glocal (2011-5) and Composite Noise(s) (2015-9); and a number of other exhibits/ performances. 

She has recently completed her PhD in Cultural Studies at Lingnan University Hong Kong, as a recipient of the competitive scholarship, Hong Kong Postgraduate Fellowship Scheme. Dayang’s research is on conditions of enablement of sound practices in Hong Kong and Manila.

Main visual: 

Artwork by Armand Bacaltos, professor of Visual Communication at the University of the Philippine College of Fine Arts and founding member of the University of the Philippines Artists’ Circle Fraternity and Sorority.

Artwork medium: Mongol #1 graphite pencil on pharmaceutical give-away Post-it

展覽及活動


藝術不夜館 2019

One ear to hear - on(h)(e)ar)

2019年10月24日

Elvia Wilk的《橢圓》與生態不動產的未來:與謝天穎座談前的誦讀會

2019年10月17日

富士康頻率第三號——爲三位明顯爲華人的表演者而作

2019年10月11日

不吐不快: MC仁帶你從嘻哈玩到原聲音樂

2019年8月31日

封面之下:藝術出版調查

2019年7月25日 - 8月31日

妙演靈音: MC仁原音演出

2019年8月30日

封面之下:藝術出版調查 —— 焦點節目

2019年7月25日 - 8月29日

《來來去去》第一號:與 Shane Aspegren和Suitcase Institute 參與自發儀式

2019年8月23日

放映與座談 | 重慶全球

2019年8月17日

夢之夜遊:與MERRY LAMB LAMB 浪遊

2019年8月16日

後後-後藝術群《地產廣告雜誌--紙上談床》發佈會

2019年8月9日

譯者亦即觀者又如演者:同吳彥一起再譯概念藝術

2019年8月3日

《無名被告》:Tyler Coburn朗讀

2019年8月2日

「交叉/轉移」:陳泳因手作書坊

2019年7月27日

藝術不夜館-滅世創世:災難與日本藝術 椹木野衣講座

2019年7月14日

藝術不夜館:《虎父無犬子》放映 + 利志達對談

2019年6月28日

藝術不夜館:莎拉·摩里斯:無內無外(當代文藝研究學會研討會)

2019年6月7日

藝術不夜館:放映會及講座|排演博物館

2019年5月24日

《拾圍安歌》首映及座談會

2019年5月17日

許煜新書發佈會

2019年5月3日

藝術不夜館: Influenzers 你我相隔(多麼遠)鄭得恩表演工作坊及策展人郭瑛講座

2019年4月12日

叮螫:蚊子的世界

2019年4月6日

曹斐作品《監獄建築師》放映會及藝術家分享環節

2019年3月28日

藝術不夜館: Influenzers 你我相隔(多麼遠)鄭得恩表演工作坊

2019年3月22日

藝術不夜館:《Come to Me, Paradise》電影放映會以及與藝術家Stephanie Comilang 對話

2019年3月15日

旅行的書:《14歲與世界與邊界》新書發佈及讀書會

2019年3月9日

藝術不夜館:「女巫出現時刻」座談會

2019年3月8日

藝術不夜館:性別的暴力(從香港角度探討)座談會

2019年3月7日

【藝術不夜館】 藝術家之選:《活死人之夜》與徐世琪對談

2019年3月1日

藝術不夜館:eteam作品—鍾馗.地府重塑 木偶戲

2019年2月22日 - 23日

藝術不夜館:陳捷棋之《K歌法庭》

2019年2月8日

藝術不夜館:「傳染與衛生」座談

2019年2月1日

藝術不夜館:CMHK香港視界

2019年1月18日

藝術不夜館:《懶腰》飯局之終極大派對

2019年1月4日

收費節目 需預約登記

One ear to hear - on(h)(e)ar)

時間 |
7pm-9pm
位置 |
營房大樓03-206室
費用 |
免費

與嶺南大學文化研究系與加州大學人文研究所合辦


演出標題爲<on(h)(e)ar)>(讀作:one ear to hear,單耳聆聽)。它概括了作品的策劃立場,即「噪音」、「聲音」、「音樂」的差別。有別於純粹的聆聽感知,策展人Dayang Yraola尋求帶領觀衆到更厚重的知覺空間。具體來講:當我們面對噪音時,該問的是:「我可以承受多大聲浪及多久的聆聽?」;對聲音:「我在聽什麼?」;對音樂:「它想說什麼?」。聲音藝術家卓穎嵐(Wing)、黃仲輝(Sin:Ned)和邱立信將各自以獨奏演示符合刻板印象的「噪音」、「聲音」和「音樂」。這些演奏將發展成爲一種輪奏,互換各自的類型,從而點明這些分類實屬「無中生有」。藝術家隨即將演出歸併爲一場全員合奏。

演出之後將有座談和開放討論,講者為「聲音掏腰包」(soundpocket)創始人及香港Art Appraisal Club成員楊陽、Nina Sun Eidsheim,加州大學洛杉磯分校赫伯亞柏特音樂學院音樂學教授及《感覺聲音——歌唱和聆聽的顫動練習》(Sensing Sound: Singing and Listening as Vibrational Practice作者、本活動的表演者和<on(h)(e)ar)> 策展人Dayang Yraola 。


邱立信

邱立信在夏威夷檀香山出生、長大,是第四代華裔和日裔移民。他對音樂、即興和自我發現的興趣始於中學時代,時值60年代末、70年代初的喧囂歲月。他是一名多樂器演奏者。他曾在夏威夷大學修習民族音樂學。自1985年進入香港演藝學院任教以來,他一直生活在香港。邱立信是夏威夷和香港多個新音樂團體的創始成員,包括Nuclear Tan、the Pagan Babies、Gain Dangerous Visions、the Pet Project Hawaii、Uncarved Block、集體即興樂團(CIMG)、Little Red Truck、Dancing Stone和Yihk,並與舞團和劇團有頻繁合作。他的音樂和舞蹈作品曾在夏威夷、亞利桑那、三藩市、洛杉磯、西雅圖、猶他、紐約市、瑞士、日本、香港、韓國、臺灣和內地演出。

黃仲輝

黃仲輝(又名Sin:Ned)是一位香港即興藝人、實驗藝術家和噪音師。他認爲自己是一個聲音媒介,一名聲音神祕論的鼓動者,通過混沌、錯謬和極限去搜尋直接和純實在的聲音體驗。他是Re-Records (www.re-records.com)和SECOND創辦人。現爲現場表演系列NOISE to SIGNAL和Kill The Silence藝術節營運人。他曾爲香港傳奇另類音樂雜誌《MCB》(音樂殖民地雙週刊)撰稿人。他的近期演出包括dotolimpic藝術節(韓國,2017)、洛桑地下電影與音樂節(瑞士,2015、2017)和Pop Im Ausland(德國,2016)。他的作品被比利時著名廠牌Sub Rosa選入《中國電子音樂選集》(An Anthology of Chinese Electronic Music)和《噪音與電子楽選集第7輯》(An Anthology of Noise & Electronic Music Vol. 7)。

卓穎嵐

卓穎嵐(又名Chang May Wing Joy)是一位跨領域藝術家,致力於在聲音和其他媒體中融入現代電腦技術,用由此產生的新概念來形成她的作品。她畢業於香港浸會大學,獲視覺藝術碩士學位(主修藝術創作與延伸媒體)。她的作品在多地展出和/或演出,包括Sonic Environment 2016(澳大利亞布里斯本)、蘇黎世藝術大學(瑞士)、XXX畫廊、22 Degrees North、Connecting Spaces、floating projects、香港浸會大學。現在音樂(Contemporary Musiking Hong Kong)選擇她參加2016年聲音傳輸藝術家交流計劃。近年,她的作品入選Art Central、雅加達藝術博覽會(Art Jakarta)以及即將舉辦的亞洲協會紐約中心三年展。

Nina Sun Eidsheim

Nina Sun Eidsheim是加州大學洛杉磯分校赫伯亞柏特音樂學院音樂學教授。她的著作有《感覺聲音——歌唱和聆聽的顫動練習》(Sensing Sound: Singing and Listening as Vibrational Practice,杜克大學出版社,2015年)和《聲音的種族——非裔美國音樂的聆聽、音色和歌唱性》(The Race of Sound: Listening, Timbre, and Vocality in African American Music,杜克大學出版社,2019年);與人合作編輯《牛津語音研究手冊》(Oxford Handbook of Voice Studies,2019年);(與Josh Kun和Ronald Radano)合作編輯杜克大學出版社的《重解美國音樂》(Refiguring American Music)叢書;獲梅隆基金會獎助金、康奈爾大學人文學會獎助金、加州大學校長研究獎助金和美國學術團體委員會(ACLS)Charles A. Ryskamp獎助金。她目前在與作曲家、小號演奏家Wadada Leo Smith合作一個書籍出版和表演計劃。

楊陽

楊陽是藝術寫作者和獨立策展人。她在2008年創辦非營利組織「聲音掏腰包」(soundpocket),現任該組織藝術監督。2015年,她在香港銅鑼灣一條後巷創立獨立計劃A Walk with A3,以支持藝術存於街頭的權利,以及讓路人與藝術的邂逅成爲一種日常體驗的權利。楊陽現爲國際研究網絡「公共藝術研究學會」成員,定期向網絡研討會和檔案館提交有關地方營造公共藝術計劃的研究文章。她是獨立藝術批評團體Art Appraisal Club(香港)和國際藝評人協會(香港)成員。近期,她參加了挪威斯塔斯坦萬格當代藝術中心的藝術寫作駐留項目。現於香港中文大學教授古典學。

Dayang Yraola

Dayang Yraola是菲律賓大學美術學院助理教授和音樂學院講師。她曾任菲大民族音樂學中心檔案和收藏管理人(2006–2015)。她是荷西馬西遝系列展覽(Jose Maceda Exhibit Series,2013, 2017-8)的策展人;創辦並策劃藝術駐場和交流平臺Project Glocal(2011-5)和Composite Noise(s)(2015-9);以及許多其他的展覽/演出。作爲香港博士後獎學金計劃的獲勝者,她不久前剛剛完成在香港嶺南大學的文化研究博士學業。Dayang的研究課題是香港和馬尼拉聲音實踐施能的條件。

圖像:

作品來自Armand Bacaltos,菲律賓大學藝術部視像傳意系教授,菲律賓大學 Artists’ Circle Fraternity and Sorority 創立人之一。

作品媒介:Mongol #1石墨鉛筆、藥廠贈品便利貼