Green Snake: women-centred ecologies

Green Snake Guided Tour: Who’s Next?

Green Snake: women-centred ecologies

Green Snake Guided Tour: Who’s Next?

Family Day at Tai Kwun Contemporary

Date & Time

31 Dec 2023 - 31 Mar 2024 Please refer to the programme timetable

Location

JC Contemporary

Price

Free of charge

General

Join our art professionals and educators for a unique guided tour of the current exhibition Green Snake: women-centred ecologies at Guided Tour: Who's Next? in Tai Kwun Contemporary. Discover the connections between art and larger themes of ecology through our guest tour guides' eyes as they share insights into their fields of specialty—in particular highlighting the green snake's potential for transformation and skin-shedding to reflect on all-encompassing circle of planetary and cosmic renewal. Whether you're an art enthusiast or a first-time visitor, this tour offers a thoughtfully guided perspective on the artists’ creative process, techniques, and sources of inspiration. 

This series of tours is presented by Tai Kwun Contemporary in collaboration with the researcher and curator Anqi Li, the writer Coco Shen, the artist and educator Morgan Wong, the architectural designer Human Wu and the environmental educator Yeungs. 

Cantonese or Putonghua Sessions: 2pm-3pm
English Sessions: 4pm-5pm

Free of charge on a first-come, first-serve basis; no registration is required. Please gather at the entrance of the 1/F gallery 5 minutes before the start of the session.


Tour Guides

ANQI LI
COCO SHEN
EUNICE TSANG
MORGAN WONG
HUMAN WU
YEUNGS

Anqi Li is a researcher and curator. Previously she was Curator of Education and Public Programs at Para Site, Graduate Student Teacher at Harvard Art Museums, and Curatorial Fellow at Chinese Cultural Foundation of San Francisco. Her writings have been published in Artforum, ArtAsiaPacific, Wallpaper, and others. Li holds a Bachelor of Fine Arts degree from San Francisco Art Institute and a Master of Education degree in Arts in Education from Harvard University. She is a current PhD candidate at the University of Hong Kong, investigating the relationship between art museums and cultural policy. 

Tour dates:24/2 (PTH & EN), 2/3 (PTH), 10/3 (PTH & EN), 17/3 (PTH & EN), 23/3 (EN) 

Coco Shen is a Taiwanese-Canadian writer residing in Hong Kong. With her background in Art History and Visual Culture, her work deals with expectation fallacy and atomised life in diaspora in a tongue in cheek attitude. Her story “GENEROSO” was a part of “INCARNATION”, a multi-media exhibition from Hong Kong International Photo Festival 2021. You can find her latest work in SEVEN, a short story collection from seven female writers, with their new sharpened take of seven deadly sins. 

Tour dates:17/2 (PTH & EN), 3/3 (PTH & EN), 9/3 (PTH & EN), 24/3 (PTH & EN) 

Eunice Tsang is a curator and artist based in Hong Kong. She founded and curates Current Plans, an experimental art space that encourages cross-disciplinary dialogues through exhibition making. She set up the Asian Artists’ Book Library at Tai Kwun Contemporary and is part of the curatorial team at the annual BOOKED: Hong Kong Art Book Fair. Her curatorial interests lie in how artists develop new languages and symbols in times of political change, and how to manoeuvre in the liminal space between fact and fiction—using magic realism, sarcasm, humour, and myth-making. 

Tour dates:31/12 (CN & EN), 13/1 (EN), 21/1 (EN), 27/1 (EN), 28/1 (CN & EN), 4/2 (EN) 

Morgan Wong is an artist and educator. He currently teaches at the Department of Creative Arts, Hong Kong Metropolitan University. He holds a Master of Fine Arts degree from the Slade School of Fine Art, University College London. His research and practice focus on temporality through performance and visual arts. Wong's selected solo exhibitions include: “Time Isn’t Our Border” (Goethe Institute Hong Kong), “Our Feet Are Always Younger than Our Heads” (Hong Kong Visual Arts Centre), “The Dashes; the Laughter; the Reservoirs” (Asia Art Center, Taipei), and “Filing Down a Steel Bar until a Needle Is Made” (Tintype Gallery, London). Wong’s work has also been shown at Media Museum ZKM, Karlsruhe; Tate Modern, London; Seoul Museum of Art; ArtScience Museum, Singapore; and the Kuandu Museum of Fine Arts, Taipei. He was awarded the Asian Cultural Council New York Fellowship in 2019 and the Award for Young Artist (Media Arts) at the 15th Hong Kong Arts Development Awards in 2021. His works are included in the collections of M+ and MILL6 CHAT. 

Tour dates: 7/1 (CN & EN), 20/1 (CN & EN), 16/3 (CN & EN) 

Human Wu is an architectural designer and educator based in Hong Kong. After working at world-renowned offices in New York, Basel, and Hong Kong, he is now Founding Director of his own practice, Human Architects. Human graduated from the Harvard Graduate School of Design and is currently Adjunct Assistant Professor in the Department of Architecture at the University of Hong Kong. His writings on architecture and art have been published in various magazines including Clog, San Rocco, MONU, Time+Architecture, Art Plus, Sample, and Dance Journal/HK.

Tour dates: 6/1 (CN & EN), 14/1 (CN & EN), 21/1 (CN), 3/2 (EN), 25/2 (CN & EN), 30/3 (EN), 31/3 (CN & EN) 

Yeungs has engaged in environmental activism since 2009 and believes that sustainability is a lifestyle. She enjoys the ocean, often studies trash, and hopes for more people to see the beauty and necessity of nature in order to put reflection into action. She has lived in Taiwan, researched whale sharks, and believes that eco-friendly living is wonderful. 

Tour dates:13/1 (CN), 27/1 (CN), 3/2 (CN), 4/2 (CN), 18/2 (CN), 2/3 (CN), 23/3 (CN), 30/3 (CN) 


Timetable

青蛇:女性中心的生態學

「青蛇」嘉賓接手導賞團

青蛇:女性中心的生態學

「青蛇」嘉賓接手導賞團

大館當代美術館家庭日

日期及時間

2023年12月31日 - 2024年3月31日 請參考節目時間表

地點

賽馬會藝方

費用

免費

簡介

歡迎參與大館當代美術館––嘉賓接手導賞團。我們邀請來自不同範疇的專業人士和教育工作者,以他們的視角帶領觀眾探索展覽「青蛇: 女性中心的生態」。透過講解與互動,特約導賞員將與觀眾分享對藝術家的創作過程、技術和靈感來源的獨特見解。導賞團鼓勵觀眾從中探討對展覽的感受和想法,與導賞員一起探索藝術與生態之間的聯繫。以「青蛇」的蜿蜒曲線、蛻皮更新的能力為靈感,反思宇宙萬物循環更替的變化復甦。 

是次活動由大館當代美術館策劃,特邀美術館研究學者和策展人李安琪、策展人及藝術家曾智愛怡、作家沈意卿、藝術家兼教育者黃榮法、建築設計師吳鐵流及環保教育工作者大便妹共同呈現。   

廣東話或普通話場次:下午2時至3時
英語場次:下午4 時至5時 

是次活動免費參與,無需預先登記,名額先到先得。請於每節導賞團開始前5分鐘到一樓展廳門口集合。


導賞團

李安琪
沈意卿
曾智愛怡
黃榮法
吳鐵流
大便妹

李安琪是一位美術館研究學者和策展人。她曾是Para Site的教育和公共項目策展人,哈佛藝術博物館研究生教師,舊金山中華文化中心策展研究員。她的寫作發表於《藝術論壇》、 《 ArtAsiaPacific 》、《Wallpaper等期刊。她於舊金山藝術學院取得學士學位,哈佛大學取得碩士學位。 她目前是香港大學博士生候選人,研究方向是現當代美術館與文化政策之間的關系。 

導賞團日期:24/2(普通話 及 英語)、2/3(普通話)、10/3(普通話 及 英語)、17/3(普通話 及 英語)、23/3(英語) 

沈意卿,作家,生於台灣,現居香港。本科為藝術史與文化研究,作品以荒謬態度描述當代離散的原子化生活,失望與絕望共生共榮。著有小說《那些殺死你的都並不致命》、散文《桃紅柳綠 生張熟李》,小說《慷慨》參與香港2021國際攝影節的《體會 Incarnation》多媒體展。於七位女作家重新闡譯七宗罪的短篇小說集《SEVEN》裡,描寫女性靈與肉(食)的拉鋸。 

導賞團日期:17/2(普通話 及 英語)、3/3(普通話 及 英語)、9/3(普通話 及 英語)、24/3(普通話 及 英語) 

曾智愛怡是現居香港的策展人及藝術家。她創辦了實驗藝術空間Current Projects,以不同展覽項目推動跨界對話。她此前曾協助建立大館當代美術館的亞洲藝術家藏書館,同時為大館「BOOKED: 香港藝術書展」的策展團隊之一。她的策展意向注重探討藝術家如何在政治變遷中發展新的創作語言及和符號,以及如何透過魔幻現實主義、反諷、幽默以及神話構建等手段,探索在真實與虛構之間的閾限。 

導賞團日期:31/12(廣東話 及 英語)、13/1(英語)、21/1(英語)、27/1(英語)、28/1(廣東話 及 英語)、4/2(英語) 

黃榮法是一位藝術家兼教育者,目前任教於香港都會大學創意藝術學系。他擁有英國倫敦大學學院斯萊德美術學院的藝術碩士學位,他的研究和實踐通過行為和視覺藝術關注時間性。他的作品在香港和世界各地機構展出,包括香港視覺藝術中心,臺北亞洲藝術中心,卡爾斯魯厄Media Museum ZKM、倫敦泰特現代藝術館、首爾市立美術館、星加坡藝術科學博物館以及臺北關渡美術館。黃氏於2019年獲亞洲文化協會紐約獎助計劃,後於2021年榮獲香港藝術發展局頒第15屆香港藝術發展獎 - 藝術新秀獎 (媒體藝術),作品的公共收藏亦包括M+ 美術館及CHAT六廠。 

導賞團日期: 7/1(廣東話 及 英語)、 20/1(廣東話 及 英語)、 16/3(廣東話 及 英語) 

吳鐵流在香港從事建築設計和教育工作。他曾在紐約、巴塞爾、香港的世界知名建築設計公司工作,現在主理他自己創立的事務所「人人建築」。吳氏畢業於哈佛設計研究生院,現任香港大學建築系兼職助理教授。他的建築與藝術評論文章在多種雜誌上發表,包括《CLOG》、《San Rocco》、《MONU》、《時代建築》、《Art Plus》、《樣本》和《舞蹈手札》等。 

導賞團日期: 6/1(廣東話 及 英語)、 14/1(廣東話 及 英語)、 21/1(廣東話)、3/2 (英語)、 25/2(廣東話 及 英語)、 30/3( 英語)、 31/3(廣東話 及 英語)

大便妹—2009年開始支持環保,認為:支持環保是一種生活態度,喜歡海洋,經常研究垃圾,希望讓更多人看到大自然的美好及需要,引起反思帶來行動。旅居過台灣、研究過鯨鯊、深信過環保生活絕對是美好的。 

導賞團日期:13/1(廣東話)、27/1(廣東話)、3/2(廣東話)、4/2(廣東話)、18/2(廣東話)、2/3(廣東話)、23/3(廣東話)、30/3(廣東話) 


時間表