Dance en Scene

Dance en Scene

Tai Kwun x HK Phil: Social Distancing

Jockey Club Musicus Heritage Alive Online Concerts - “Explore Tai Kwun with Classical Music”

Breathed a Sigh of Relief

Social Gathering Ban(d) Show

Om Encounter: Work-in-progress

A Lover’s Concerto

A Poem in Jail (in progress) – Happy Together Till the Next Century Comes

See You Zoom Again

The Creation of Under ∞ Line

This Victoria Has No Secrets...When It Goes Online

We Are (digitally becoming) Spectacle(s)

Date & Time

29 Mar - 5 Apr, 2021 29-30.03.2021 │8pm (JC Cube)
30.03 - 05.04.2021 (Online)

Location

JC Cube (29-30.03.2021);
Online (30.03 - 05.04.2021)

Price

Free of charge

General

Co-presented by (In alphabetical order)

Esplanade - Theatres on the Bay (Singapore)

Kaohsiung Center for the Arts (Weiwuying) (Taiwan)

Tai Kwun – Centre for Heritage and Arts (Hong Kong)

Taichung Theater (Taiwan)

Dance films, a coming together of two art forms that empowers dance artists and filmmakers alike to rethink movements and transform storytelling. Tai Kwun joins hands with various arts centres in the region through Dance en Scene, an initiative which dedicates to commission dance films that invite artists to find inspiration from sites or themes of meanings and significance, celebrating the diversity of culture and artmaking of Asian artists living in different cities.

Dance en Scene features three films (in alphabetical order): 

  • Rooms, a film by Cinemovement (Singapore) 
  • Terry-fying (work in progress) (Hong Kong)
  • Transmission: Beginning Step into Walk/Dance Project (Taichung – Taiwan) 

Date│Time│Location

29 - 30.03.2021

8pm*

JC Cube 

30.03 - 05.04.2021

Online  Register Now

* There will be a meet-the-artist session after the screening on 30.03.2021

  • The event will adhere to the latest health and safety regulations and enforce social distancing measures
  • Chinese and English subtitles


Rooms, a film by Cinemovement 

(Singapore – A programme of Huayi – Chinese Festival of Arts 2021)

Co-directors: Elysa Wendi and Liao Jiekai

Choreographer / Performer: Albert Tiong

Duration: Approximately 15mins

An introspective dance portrait of a career in movement through rooms—physical and metaphorical—that inhibit and encase, but were also inhabited and embraced. Rooms delves into the soul of Singapore contemporary dancer Albert Tiong, uncovering and revealing the intimate milestones of a key contemporary dance figure's coming of age in Singapore.

For over three decades, Albert Tiong pushed towards his goal of becoming an eminent dancer, choreographer and educator. Through this journey, he discovers that his personal spaces of safety for his body and mind have protected him as much as moulded him. Behind all the armour, beneath all the layers, who is he really?

Rooms is co-directed by Elysa Wendi and Liao Jiekai and produced by Jeremy Chua—three practitioners of Cinemovement, an artist-run platform for artists to explore interdisciplinary propositions between the dance and film practices in various settings.


Terry-fying 

(work in progress) (Hong Kong)


Concept, Choreography and Performance: Terry Tsang 
Research and Performance: Wong Yiu Kuen 
Cinematography and Editor: Vincent Ip

Duration: Approximately 10mins

Ashes to ashes, dust to dust...

Nothing can be brought away, only the karma that follows. 

This is a presentation of a work-in-progress, inspired from Terry's own work Terry-fy  from a year ago which demonstrated his fear of hair. With this research focusing on life and death, he further investigates the impact of space and sound on the human body. 

Based on “breaking hell”, a traditional Taoist ritual for the dead, Terry explores the power of the sound of chanting scriptures from this ritual to generate different body textures, or even to travel through different spaces. 

The research will continue and eventually develop into a complete live performance. 


Transmission: Beginning Step into Walk/Dance Project

 (Taichung)

Project Director / Concept / Performer: Yu Yen-fang 
Co-creator / Performer: Chen Wu-kang 
Co-creator / Film Director: Maurice Lai  

Duration: Approximately 15mins

The video documents the Walk/Dance Project by YU Yen-Fang and CHEN Wu-Kang, two iconic middle-aged dance artists in Taiwan, against the backdrop of the island’s geography. In the initial stage, Yu and Chen followed the artist KAO Jun-Honn’s field survey of the ruined Topa Frontier Lines from the Japanese Occupation to trek into the mountains, transforming the bumpy physicality across the woods and the perceptual impact of the encounter with historical sites into an improvised performance taking place at the dance studio of HORSE in Banqiao, Xinbei City. The Walk/Dance Project, as its title suggests, is about the body walking and dancing across daily streets and historical sites, presented with possible real-time forms including exhibition, live stream, and live performance. It is the minstrelsy of the body, characterised with a fragile quality of immediacy, makeshift, and ephemerality to manage a direct and yet transparent path as expressed physically. 


Co-Presenter

Esplanade – Theatres on the Bay (Singapore)

Esplanade – Theatres on the Bay is Singapore’s national performing arts centre, hosting a year-round line-up of about 3,500 performances and activities, of which more than 70% are presented free for all to enjoy. As a centre for everyone, Esplanade creates opportunities for seniors, youth, children and underserved communities to experience the arts. It supports the creation of artistic content by commissioning and producing new Singapore and Asian work for the international stage. It also develops technical capabilities for the industry nationally.   

Esplanade is operated by The Esplanade Co Ltd, which is a charity and not-for-profit organisation.


Kaohsiung Center for the Arts (Weiwuying) (Taiwan)

Located next to the Weiwuying Metropolitan Park, the Kaohsiung Center for the Arts (Weiwuying) measures 9.9 hectares wide and is the world’s largest single-roof building. Inspired by the banyan trees from the park, Weiwuying’s sound wave-like streamline appearance symbolises the openness and freedom of performing arts. Regarding the Weiwuying Banyan Plaza, it features the Opera House, Concert Hall, Playhouse, and Recital Hall; and an open outdoor theater that uses the sky as its curtains and grass as its chairs. The ideas of openness, penetration, and tolerance conveyed by the banyan trees were incorporated in the overall architectural design, inviting visitors to enter the facilities and enjoy art at every corner. The Center opened on October 13th 2018 and is now operating all-year round, developing and bringing local as well as international talents to southern Taiwan.


Taichung Theater (Taiwan)

The Taichung Theater, Taiwan is dedicated to the vision of creating a theater for the extraordinary and awesome arts, and to let the perception and appreciation of art become an integral part of everyday life. Through 3 annual branding festivals and house hiring, the theater embraces the diversity of programs. The Taichung Theater also regularly organises a variety of activities for all citizens.

大館舞台

《舞蹈風景》

《無限聚音樂會》

《幸福家庭與狗》階段展演

《毛·恐不入——毛鬙鬙》階段展演

《舞蹈風景》

大館 x 港樂:《社交距離》

賽馬會樂.憶古蹟網上音樂會─「隨著音樂遊大館」

《水土無聲》

《無限聚音樂會》

庵藏不露:不遇不遇還須遇

《雙雙》

《有你,故我在》(進行中)─ 在下世紀來臨前嬉戲

See You Zoom Again

《牢∞性》創作特輯

《維多利雅講...住些少先》

《人為景觀(數碼進行式)》

日期及時間

2021年3月29日 - 4月5日 29-30.03.2021 │8pm (賽馬會立方)
30.03 - 05.04.2021 (網上)

地點

賽馬會立方 (29-30.03.2021);
網上 (30.03 - 05.04.2021)

費用

免費

簡介

聯合主辦(按英文名稱排序)

濱海藝術中心(新加坡)

衛武營藝術文化中心(台灣)

大館 ─ 古蹟及藝術館(香港)

臺中歌劇院(台灣)

舞蹈電影結合了舞蹈和影像,讓舞蹈和影像藝術家通過肢體跟影像對話,探索藝術表達的可能性,擦出不同火花。 透過《舞蹈風景》,大館與新加坡及台灣的各大藝術中心攜手展示三齣舞蹈影片,邀請三地的藝術家們在不同地方、從不同主題汲取靈感,讓舞蹈和影像相互交織,也讓觀眾欣賞亞洲區不同藝術家的多元文化面貌。

《舞蹈風景》將呈獻以下舞蹈影片(按影片英文名稱排序):

  • 《居。 拘》(新加坡)
  • 《毛‧恐不入 ─ 毛鬙鬙》(階段性創作)(香港)
  • 《山林轉換:走跳計畫初步》(台中 )


日期│時間│地點

29 - 30*.03.2021  8pm 賽馬會立方 
30.03 - 05.04.2021  網上  立即登記

* 3月30日放映會後將設映後藝人談

  • 活動將嚴格遵守最新的健康及衛生防護指引,並採取有效的社交距離措施。
  • 設中英文字幕


《居。 拘》

(新加坡 ─ 華藝節2021的節目之一)

導演:葉奕蕾、廖捷凱

編舞 / 舞者: 張永祥

片長: 約15分鐘

房間 ── 無論形而上的意象,或形而下的空間,隱喻著生命裡讓我們安心居留的一隅,同時是拘留我們的囚室。 舞蹈影片《居。 拘》將打開一扇又一扇房門,帶我們走進新加坡舞蹈家張永祥的內心世界。

張永祥過去三十年在舞台、編舞和教學的路上不斷鑽研,舞蹈也融入了他的生命。 漸漸地,他發現多年來保護並孕育著他舞蹈生命的私密空間,其實也間接地束縛並塑造了他。 當張永祥卸下盔甲的保護後,被解放的他到底是誰?

《居。 拘》由來自Cinemovement的葉奕蕾和廖捷凱聯合編導,蔡紹勇製作。  Cinemovement是新加坡的一個為電影工作者和編舞家設立,通過不同方式探索當代舞蹈與電影的藝術平台。


《毛‧恐不入 ── 毛鬙鬙》

(階段性創作)(香港)


概念、編舞及演出:曾景輝

創作研究及演出:黃耀權

視頻拍攝及剪輯:葉雲生

片長:約10分鐘

塵歸塵,土歸土⋯⋯

萬般帶不走,唯有孽隨身。

這是一個階段性創作的呈現。該創作靈感源於一年前曾氏的作品《毛鬙鬙》講述自身對毛髮的恐懼,繼而通過這次的研究圍繞生死,探索空間與聲音對身體的影響。編舞曾景輝以破地獄為基點── 一種為逝者超度的傳統道教儀式,嘗試探求念誦破地獄經文的聲效帶給人的力量,以至產生不同的身體質感,甚或穿越不同空間。


《山林轉換:走跳計畫初步》

(台中 )

主策劃 / 概念創作 / 舞者:余彥芳

共同創作 / 舞者:陳武康

共同創作 / 影像導演:黎宇文

片長:約15分鐘

本片紀錄台灣中生代具有代表性的兩位舞蹈家:陳武康與余彥芳,以島嶼環境為布幅的走跳計劃。計劃初期兩人尾隨藝術家高俊宏踏查日據時期大豹溪流域隘勇線遺址的腳步入山,並將山途顛簸的身體和歷史現場的感官衝擊轉換爲新北市板橋驫舞排練場的一場即興演出。走跳計劃以身體穿越市井街道、歷史現場,一路走走跳跳,以展覽、直播、現場演出等不拘形式即時輸出,一種身體的說唱藝術,帶有即時性、就地取材、稍縱即逝的脆弱質地,意圖藉此處理一種直接而透明的體感表達曲徑。


聯合主辦

濱海藝術中心(新加坡)
濱海藝術中心是新加坡的國家表演藝術中心。 作為一個屬於大眾的表演藝術中心,濱海藝術中心每年為新加坡多元文化社群呈獻一系列舞蹈、音樂和戲劇等多類型節目,同時也把藝術的歡樂與鼓舞人心的感動,傳遞給包括年長者、青年以及孩童在內的弱勢群體。 在每年共約 3500 場的演出與活動中,超過 70%屬於免費節目。 濱海藝術中心與本地、區域和國際藝術家密切合作,從而促進藝術的拓展及創作、拓寬藝術的疆界並且激發觀眾對藝術的興趣。 濱海藝術中心也竭力為業界拓展劇場技術潛能。

濱海藝術中心是由濱海藝術中心有限公司,一公共性質的非營利慈善機構,營運管理。

衛武營藝術文化中心(台灣)
緊鄰衛武營都會公園,衛武營藝術文化中心佔地9.9公頃,為世界最大的單一屋頂劇院建築,有著音波式的流線外型,呼應了表演藝術開放自由的靈魂。設計靈感取自公園的榕樹群,榕樹廣場串連了歌劇院、音樂廳、戲劇院、表演廳等四大場域,加上以天空為幕、草地為椅的開放式戶外劇場,將榕樹群的開放、穿透與包容,融入建築設計中,邀請人群自在進出,與藝術一同穿梭在空間裏每一個角落。衛武營藝術文化中心於2018年10月13日啟用開幕,積極發展南臺灣的表演藝術環境,成為接軌國際的重要藝術基地。

臺中歌劇院(台灣)
臺中歌劇院以作為一座藝術與文化的劇場為核心,以藝術服務為目標,推動與國內外重要館所及藝術節的合作,提供大中小劇場的舞台呈現國內外藝術創意與獨特視角,更以豐富多元的教育推廣活動與主題展覽,讓臺中歌劇院存在於市民的日常之中。