Tai Kwun Circus Plays

Circus Camp for Professionals

Tai Kwun Circus Plays

Ting-koo-ki Mad Skills Battle (Hong Kong x Taiwan)

Be a Juggler

The Majestical Puppet Parade

Ninja Challenge

Not 2D But 3D Pop-up Workshop

Cotton Candy Clouds

Circus Camp for Professionals

Date & Time

13 - 16 Apr, 2021 (Please refer to the programme introduction for details)

Location

JC Cube

Price

Free of charge

General

Created by

How to create good juggling performances? In addition to skills and techniques, how can artists connect juggling with narration, choreography and music, and create works that embody the uniqueness of a performer?

This year, “Tai Kwun Circus Plays” has invited Sean Gandini and Kati Ylä-Hokkala, Co-Artistic Directors of the world’s leading juggling company Gandini Juggling, to conduct the “Circus Camp for Professionals”. If you are a juggler, street arts performer, or arts practitioner who is interested in contemporary circus creations, this series of masterclasses and workshops at Tai Kwun is the perfect opportunity to sharpen your artistic senses. Sean and Kati will meet you online to explore and experience the unexpected possibilities in contemporary circus creations.

Participants will also be able to watch the Smashed XL film, a special edition with 20 world-class jugglers performing together for the 40th anniversary of London International Mime Festival.

“Circus Camp for Professionals” will be conducted in English; free of charge.


Masterclass for Jugglers

Looking at structure and how it affects the making of juggling performance, “Masterclass for Jugglers” will explore the use of choreography and dramaturgy to mould juggling into a performance. Different fun practical exercises will be used to research on the subject and enhance the technique as well as creativity in juggling.

Target participants: jugglers and artists who practice juggling 

Quota: 20 persons
 

Participants are required to attend the following events:

Masterclass

Date 13.04.2021 | 7pm – 9pm,
15.04.2021 | 8:30pm – 10:30pm, and
16.04.2021 | 7pm – 9pm*
Venue JC Cube

Screening of Smashed XL (2017) by Gandini Juggling

Date 15.04.2021 | 7pm – 8:15pm
Venue JC Cube

*Participants of “Masterclass for Jugglers” and “Choreographing Juggling Workshops” will join the training on 15.04. 2021 together


Choreographing Juggling Workshop

The basic concept of juggling is the choreography of “throw” and “catch”. By delving into this concept and layering them with movement, “Choreographing Juggling Workshop” will look at the fun and exciting world of dance and juggling crossing over. Taking hints from fiendishly difficult coordination to charming mental puzzles, the workshop will look at juggling from a logical and mathematical angle, where music and counts will complement the creation of an artistic juggling piece.

Target participants: choreographers, dancers and arts practitioners who are interested in creating contemporary circus productions

Quota: 20 persons

Participants are required to attend the following events:

Workshop

Date 14.04.2021 | 7pm – 9pm
15.04.2021 | 8:30pm – 10:30pm*
Venue JC Cube


Screening of Smashed XL (2017) by Gandini Juggling

Date 15.04.2021 | 7pm – 8:15pm
Venue JC Cube

*Participants of “Masterclass for Jugglers” and “Choreographing Juggling Workshops” will join the training on 15.04. 2021 together

Apply here

Application deadline: 12noon, 25.03.2021


Special Remarks

  • Participants will be selected according to the information submitted on the application form. Tai Kwun will contact successful applicants by email on or before 06.04.2021.
  • Participants are obliged to attend all activities as required.
  • Activities are subject to change without prior notice. Tai Kwun reserves the right to make the final decision regarding the arrangements.

Biography

Sean Gandini
Kati Ylä-Hokkala

Sean Gandini is one of the pioneers of contemporary juggling. Working as a performer, choreographer and director, he has, for over 25 years, pushed the boundaries of juggling as a discipline and as an art form.

Growing up in Havana, Cuba, Sean was fascinated by magic and mathematics. At the age of 16, he began juggling, prompting a life-long fascination with all aspects of the art form. Sean’s professional career began in the 1980s, where he regularly performed in London and toured with various theatre companies – including the pioneering Ra-Ra Zoo. In 1991, with Kati Ylä-Hokkala, he co-founded Gandini Juggling. Together they have been at the forefront of experiments into what juggling is and what juggling can be.

Sean has created diverse array of shows, including the playful Sweet Life, the fiendishly complex celebration of the London Olympics Twenty/Twenty, and their smash hit, the darkly humorous and theatrical homage to Pina Bausch Smashed. Currently, the Company is developing Life, a new work inspired by Merce Cunningham’s works and with the support of Cunningham Trust. 

www.gandinijuggling.com

Kati Ylä-Hokkala is one of her generation’s iconic jugglers. As the co-founder of Gandini Juggling, she has built a reputation not only as a highly-skilled technical juggler, but is also renowned as one of the leading innovators in dance-juggling.

Kati’s professional career began in the 1990’s, when she performed with the influential Ra-Ra Zoo. In 1991, with Sean, she co-founded Gandini Juggling. Since then she has been instrumental in the company’s experiments into the possibilities of juggling, including working to create unique “two-person sharing” juggling patterns.

A former rhythmic gymnast, Kati’s distinctive ability to combine movement with extremely complex coordination is second-to-none. In this she has crafted an intimate and extensive knowledge of the relationship between dance and juggling. Kati has performed in all of Gandini Juggling’s works since 1991, encompassing over 2,500 shows around the world.

玩轉大館馬戲季

馬戲修煉營

玩轉大館馬戲季

吃不到的雲是甜的

馬戲修煉營

日期及時間

2021年4月13日 - 16日 (詳情請參考節目簡介)

地點

賽馬會立方

費用

免費

簡介

創作

怎樣創作一個高質素的雜技表演?除了掌握雜耍技巧,怎樣可以將雜耍與故事敘述、編舞、音樂聯繫,創作突顯表演者個性的作品?

今年「玩轉大館馬戲季」邀請了世界頂尖的雜技團Gandini Juggling藝術總監Sean Gandini及Kati Ylä-Hokkala,為本地的雜耍、街頭表演者以及對當代馬戲創作有興趣的藝術工作者,進行「馬戲修煉營」。參加者將會在大館參與一系列的大師班與工作坊,以視像的形式,與Sean及Kati一同探索及體驗當代雜耍創作的不同可能。

「馬戲修煉營」亦會放映Gandini Juggling為倫敦國際默劇節 (London International Mime Festival)四十週年作特別表演、由二十位國際級雜耍表演者共同演繹的雜耍劇場Smashed XL

工作坊將以英語進行,費用全免。


雜耍大師班

「雜耍大師班」會從雜耍的結構出發,探索如何利用編舞及劇場構作,將雜耍演化成當代劇場表演。大師班會以練習與實踐為主,讓參加者研習雜耍技巧,在提升雜耍技術的同時,也激發表演創作的思維。

對象:雜耍表演者及有練習雜耍的藝術工作者

名額:20 人
 

參加者必須出席以下活動:
 

大師班

日期 13.04.2021 | 7pm – 9pm,
15.04.2021 | 8:30pm – 10:30pm, 及
16.04.2021 | 7pm – 9pm*
地點 賽馬會立方


放映會:Smashed XL (2017)

日期: 15.04.2021 | 7pm – 8:15pm
地點: 賽馬會立方

*「雜耍大師班」與「編創與雜耍」的參加者將會一同參與4月15日的修煉營。


編創與雜耍工作坊

「拋與接」是雜耍的基本原理與概念。「編創與雜耍工作坊」將會探索如何利用拋接這個概念,將當代雜耍結合肢體與舞蹈。工作坊會利用音樂及拍子,從邏輯及數學解構複雜的雜耍概念,讓參加者找到雜耍結構的奧妙,擴闊藝術創作的領域。

對象:編舞、對當代馬戲創作有興趣的舞者及藝術工作者

名額: 20 人

參加者必須出席以下活動:

工作坊

日期 14.04.2021 | 7pm – 9pm
15.04.2021 | 8:30pm – 10:30pm*
地點 賽馬會立方


放映會:Smashed XL (2017)

日期 15.04.2021 | 7pm – 8:15pm
地點 賽馬會立方

*「雜耍大師班」與「編創與雜耍」的參加者將會一同參與4月15日的修煉營。


按此下載報名表格
 

截止報名日期:2021325日中午12時正


注意事項

  • 大館將根據參加者遞交的資料作篩選,並於2021年4月6日或之前以電郵通知成功獲選的參加者。
  • 參加者必須出席工作坊的所有活動。
  • 活動如有更改,恕不另行通知。如有任何爭議,大館保留最終之決定權

藝術家簡介

Sean Gandini
Kati Ylä-Hokkala

Sean Gandini為當代雜耍創作的先鋒。作為一位表演者、編舞及導演,Sean在這25年間將雜耍成為一門獨立的藝術造詣。

在古巴夏灣拿成長的Sean一直醉心魔術及數學。16歲那年,他接觸了雜耍,從此跟這門藝術結下不解之緣,Sean在1980年代成為專業表演者,在英國倫敦參與多個劇場創作,包括當代馬戲先鋒劇團Ra-Ra Zoo。1991年Sean 與Kati Ylä-Hokkala 創立Gandini Juggling,將雜耍延伸至不同的領域。

Sean 創作了不同類型的雜耍演出,包括玩味重的Sweet Life、為慶祝倫敦奧運的Twenty/Twenty,以及最為人熟悉、向當代舞蹈劇場大師翩娜‧包殊致敬的Smashed。Gandini Juggling 現正為新作、以美國當代編舞簡寧漢出發的Life進行排練。

www.gandinijuggling.com

Kati Ylä-Hokkala 為當代雜耍的表表者。作為世界頂尖雜技團Gandini Juggling的聯合創辦人,Kati 的名聲不止於其技藝高超的雜耍技術,也在於她將雜耍與舞蹈融合的創新概念。

Kati 於1990年代加入當代馬戲先鋒劇團Ra-Ra Zoo,成為專業表演者。1991,她與Sean Gandini 創立Gandini Juggling,並開始實驗不同的雜耍技藝,包括創作「二人連接花式雜耍」(two-person sharing)等複雜技巧。

作為前韻律體操運動員,Kati 能將複雜的雜耍技術與肢體協調應付自如。利用她運動員的知識,Kati積極結合舞蹈與雜耍,並運用於劇場創作之中。由Gandini Juggling創立至今,她己參與超過2,500場演出。


大館禮遇

此節目參與者尊享「大館禮遇」, 憑禮券可於指定商戶享有多款餐飲及購物優惠。

詳情:按此