Cine Fan Jan/Feb/Mar Programmes

Cine Fan Jan/Feb/Mar Programmes

Date & Time

2 Jan - 28 Feb, 2021 Please refer to the programme introduction

Location

JC Cube

Price

$75

General

Programme Cancellation Notice

The programme “HKIFF Cine Fan Jan Programmes” to be held on 9 & 10 Jan have been cancelled. Please contact organizers for enquiries. Thank you for your understanding.

The Hong Kong International Film Festival Society’s Cine Fan Programme embarks on a journey of wit and humour in the new year with a selection of great classics from the legendary Billy WILDER and Eric ROHMER!

  • Renowned as one of American cinema’s all-time greats, Billy WILDER eschewed a distinctive style for tightly crafted stories and strong characters, freely mixing slapstick antics with screwball frenzy and bitter irony, exemplary in the ten classics in this selection.  His acerbic take on Hollywood’s grand delusions in Sunset Boulevard (1950), the stereotype-bending farce in Some Like It Hot (1959), and cynical indictment of sexism and capitalism in The Apartment (1960) marked the pinnacles of his illustrious career.  A great storyteller with unparalleled versatility, WILDER pioneered film noir with Double Indemnity (1944) and brought to light the devastating effects of alcoholism in The Lost Weekend (1945).  Many also credit his immense talent as an actor’s director for the memorable performances and enduring appeal of Hollywood legends such as Kirk DOUGLAS, William HOLDEN, Marlene DIETRICH and Charles LAUGHTON.
     
  • Equally acclaimed for his witty dialogue and intellectual humour, French maestro Eric ROHMER had never failed to fascinate with his revelations of the dilemma of love and ambiguities of life.  Six of the eight films in this ROHMER selection will reflect on the paradox of his heroes/heroines, such as the confusion a lover creates with hurtful suspicions in The Aviator’s Wife (1981), or the agonies of affection and deception between friends and lovers in My Girlfriend’s Boyfriend (1987).  Blessed by his exquisite understanding of the female psyche, Béatrice ROMAND and Pascale OGIER were named Best Actress at Venice for their respective performance in A Good Marriage (1982) and Full Moon in Paris (1984).  The master himself won Best Director at the Berlinale with Pauline at the Beach (1983) and the Venice Golden Lion with The Green Ray (1986).  Completing the selection are ROHMER’s playful and experimental Perceval (1978) and Four Adventures of Reinette and Mirabelle (1987).
     
  • The Golden Age will present two contemporary classics starring the incomparable Audrey HEPBURN.  Under the indelible direction of Billy WILDER in Sabrina (1954) and Stanley DONEN in Two for the Road (1967), HEPBURN’s sophisticated elegance shines distinctively and delights the audience through sizzling chemistry with Humphrey BOGART, William HOLDEN and Albert FINNEY.  Two Cannes Grand Jury Prize winners will feature under Back to the Screen: Dalton TRUMBO’s Johnny Got His Gun (1971) and the late Alan PARKER’s Birdy (1984), both delivering a strong, disquieting cinematic statement about the cruelty of war.
     
  • Four restored classics from the cancelled 44th Hong Kong International Film Festival will feature in this Cine Fan Programme.  They include two iconic comedies, Edward SEDGWICK and Buster KEATON’s The Cameraman (1928) and Charlie CHAPLIN’s The Circus (1928), as well as two affecting romances, Frank BORZAGE’s Street Angel (1928) and Robert BRESSON’s Four Nights of a Dreamer (1971).
     
  • From The Film Foundation, which celebrated its 30th anniversary in 2020, are George MARSHALL’s Destry Rides Again (1939), Luis BUÑUEL’s Los Olvidados (1950), Elia KAZAN’s Wild River (1960), and Nietzchka KEENE’s The Juniper Tree (1990), four restored classics reflecting its mission of championing the rich diversity in world cinema. 
     
  • From the world-renowned Cineteca di Bologna, Cine Fan will present four restored classics under the Journey Through Italian Cinema series that highlight their boldness and creativity.  They include Guido BRIGNONE’s silent Maciste in Hell (1925) – with live accompaniment by local musician KUNG Chi-shing, Roberto ROSSELLINI’s neorealism masterpiece Rome, Open City (1945), Marco FERRERI’s satirical comedy, The Conjugal Bed (1963), and Bernardo BERTOLUCCI’s suspense thriller, The Spider’s Stratagem (1970).

Programme Trailer


09/01 (Sat) | 14:45 | Double Indemnity

09/01 (Sat) | 17:30 | The Lost Weekend

09/01 (Sat) | 20:00 | Birdy

10/01 (Sun) | 14:30 | Sunset Boulevard

10/01 (Sun) | 18:15 | Ace in the Hole (a.k.a. The Big Carnival)

10/01 (Sun) | 21:00 | The Circus

19/02 (Fri) | 20:00 | Maciste in Hell

20/02 (Sat) | 14:30 | Destry Rides Again

20/02 (Sat) |17:00 | Witness for the Prosecution

20/02 (Sat) |19:45 | Ace in the Hole (a.k.a. The Big Carnival)

21/02 (Sun) | 14:30 | Los Olvidados (a.k.a. The Young and the Damned)

21/02 (Sun) | 17:15 | The Apartment

21/02 (Sun) | 20:15 | Irma la Douce

27/02 (Sat) | 15:00 | Maciste in Hell

27/02 (Sat) | 17:25 | Perceval

27/02 (Sat) | 20:40 | The Aviator’s Wife

28/02 (Sun) | 14:30 | Sabrina

28/02 (Sun) | 17:45 | Two for the Road

28/02 (Sun) | 20:50 | Some Like It Hot

The full programme and schedule are now available at cinefan.com.hk.  Starting from 10 December, the public can purchase tickets online through URBTIX.  Regrettably, for those who prefer buying tickets in person, box-offices and ticket counters at all URBTIX outlets and screening venues will remain closed until the Government lifting restrictions mandated by the latest COVID-19 regulations .  In the view of the latest social distancing measures by the government, the Society will make adjustments on the programme arrangement if necessary.

The above contents are provided by Hong Kong International Film Festival Society

電影節發燒友 2021

電影節發燒友一、二、三月節目

日期及時間

2021年1月2日 - 2月28日 請參考節目簡介

地點

賽馬會立方

費用

$75

簡介

節目取消通知

原定於2021年1月9、10日及2月19、20、21日舉行的「電影節發燒友節目」已取消 。如有查詢,請聯絡主辦單位。敬請見諒。

電影節發燒友Cine Fan節目精選比利懷特及伊力盧馬兩位大師的經典作品,為2021年揭開新的一頁!

  • 美國電影泰斗比利懷特擁有講故事的高超本領,是次精選的十部傑作,蘊含豐富娛樂之餘,亦盡顯幽默機智,不乏尖銳諷刺。《紅樓金粉》(1950)戲謔夢工場、《熱情如火》(1959)大玩性別倒錯、《桃色公寓》(1960)嘲諷紐約職場,三大經典享譽全球,成為影壇傳奇。才華橫溢的比利懷特,無論是喜劇、愛情片、法庭戲、戰爭片同樣精闢獨到,《殺夫報》(1944)為黑色電影類型立下典範,《醉鄉遺恨》(1945)則突破社會禁忌呈現酗酒問題。《生葬古坵墳》(1951)的卻德格拉斯、《戰地軍魂》(1953)的威廉荷頓,以至《雄才偉略》(1957)的瑪蓮德烈治和查理士羅頓,在他出色編導下大放異彩。
     
  • 法國新浪潮大師伊力盧馬的「喜劇與諺語」系列,同樣妙筆生花,以前人雋語畫龍點睛對花都男女的矛盾心事來個妙趣暗諷。《飛行員的妻子》(1981)笑看對愛情的懷疑與猜忌、《女友的男友》(1987)嘲弄男女關係的背叛與欺瞞。《好姻緣》(1982)及《圓月映花都》(1984)讓兩位女主角榮膺威尼斯影后,《沙灘上的寶蓮》(1983)及《難得有情郎》(1986)的圓熟精煉功架,更分別為盧馬贏得柏林影展最佳導演及威尼斯金獅獎殊榮。專輯亦選映《柏士浮》(1978)及《雙姝奇遇》(1987),一先一後展現盧馬愛情輕喜劇之外的非凡創意。
     
  • 黃金時代」環節選映的《龍鳳配》(1954)及《儷人行》(1967),可欣賞到柯德莉夏萍分別在比利懷特與史丹利杜倫的導筒下展現不同風姿,配搭堪富利保加、威廉荷頓與阿爾拔芬尼各自擦出火花。兩部「銀幕再現」之選,杜頓卓林保的《無語問蒼天》(1971)及阿倫柏加的《追鳥》(1984),同為康城影展的評審團大獎得主,以截然不同的風格,控訴戰爭與制度對身心的摧殘。
     
  • 多部原定於第44屆香港國際電影節放映的經典電影,亦將於Cine Fan與影迷見面,包括四部修復經典,愛德華薛域執導、巴士達基頓主演的《攝影師》(1928)、差利卓別靈獲奧斯卡榮譽獎的《大馬戲團》(1928)、法蘭波西傑的浪漫經典《馬路天使》(1928)及羅拔布烈遜的《一個夢者的四個晚上》(1971)。
     
  • 為慶祝電影基金會成立三十周年,香港國際電影節協會與基金會合作呈獻修復經典。佐治馬素的《碧血煙花》(1939)、布紐爾的《被遺忘的人》(1950)、伊力卡山的《狂流春醒》(1960)、及妮茲卡基恩的《女巫歲月》(1990)率先於今期登場,該會更多修復傑作將陸續於Cine Fan節目放映。
     
  • 意大利電影之旅 - 協會亦與意大利博洛尼亞電影資料館訂立長期合作協議,今期精選的四部傑作,由基度碧倫尼創新視覺效果的默片《神曲幻遊》(1925)、羅塞里尼的新寫實主義先驅作《不設防城市》(1945)、馬可法拉利的閨房喜劇《枕邊女皇蜂》(1963),以至貝托魯奇的懸疑驚慄片《蜘蛛策略》(1970),皆展現了意大利電影創意血脈相承。《神曲幻遊》更邀得作曲家龔志成作現場音樂伴奏,兼獲視聽雙重享受。

節目宣傳片


09/01 (星期六) | 14:45 | 殺夫報

09/01 (星期六) | 17:30 | 醉鄉遺恨

09/01 (星期六) | 20:00 | 追鳥

10/01 (星期日) | 14:30 | 紅樓金粉

10/01 (星期日) | 18:15 | 生葬古坵墳

10/01 (星期日) | 21:00 | 大馬戲團

19/02 (星期五) | 20:00 | 神曲幻遊

20/02 (星期六) | 14:30 | 碧血煙花

20/02 (星期六) |17:00 | 雄才偉略

20/02 (星期六) |19:45 | 生葬古坵墳

21/02 (星期日) | 14:30 | 被遺忘的人

21/02 (星期日) | 17:15 | 桃色公寓

21/02 (星期日) | 20:15 | 花街神女

27/02 (星期六) | 15:00 | 神曲幻遊

27/02 (星期六) | 17:25 | 柏士浮

27/02 (星期六) | 20:40 | 飛行員的妻子

28/02 (星期日 | 14:30 | 龍鳳配

28/02 (星期日) | 17:45 | 儷人行

28/02 (星期日) | 20:50 | 熱情如火

節目詳情可瀏覽cinefan.com.hk,門票由12月10日開始在城市售票網發售。因應政府防疫措施,暫時只設網上購票,待戲院及其他放映場地重開後,門票亦將於各售票處發售。本會將根據政府最新防疫指引,因應需要在節目安排上作出調整。

以上內容由香港國際電影節協會提