Portals, Stories, and Other Journeys

bewitched, bewildered, bothered

Date & Time

15 - 17 Jun, 2021 Please refer to the programme timetable

Location

JC Cube; Online

Price

Free of charge

General

bewitched, bewildered, bothered is Banu Cennetoğlu’s artistic intervention for AAA’s exhibition Portals, Stories, and Other Journeys on view at Tai Kwun Contemporary from 23 April to 1 August 2021.

bewitched, bewildered, bothered is a three-day public programme and a publication that explore the politics of posthumous archives. Taking AAA’s temporary custodianship of the late Ha Bik Chuen’s personal archive as a starting point, this programme brings together artists and thinkers to discuss the challenges and inadequacies of archives to recover and represent what is “lost.” Developed as part of an ongoing dialogue with AAA’s Public Programmes Lead Özge Ersoy, the talks, the film screenings, and the publication together investigate art’s contested claims and repeated attempts to recover the lost, to remember the forgotten, to resurrect the dead, or to speak for the silent.


Programme Timetable

Date Time Programme  Location Language 
15.06.2021 8pm–9:30pm Talk | In Conversation: Banu Cennetoğlu, Michelle Wong, and Özge Ersoy Zoom English
16.06.2021 7pm–9:30pm Screening and Talk | The Proposal with Jill Magid JC Cube, Zoom English
17.06.2021 7pm–9:30pm Screening and Talk | Narcissister Organ Player with Paul B. Preciado JC Cube, Zoom English
Work in progress Publication | bewitched, bewildered, bothered | Orpheus’ Dilemma


Programme Information

Talk | In Conversation: Banu Cennetoğlu, Michelle Wong, and Özge Ersoy
Tuesday, 15 June 2021, 8pm–9:30pm
Zoom

Free and open to the public with registration. Please click here to register.
The first session of the series presents a conversation about the methods, potentials, and impossibilities of working with posthumous archives. We ask: is it possible to speak on behalf of the silent ones without occluding their agency? What is erased by the politics of representation? In this conversation, Cennetoğlu focuses on Gurbet’s Diary: I Engraved My Heart into the Mountains (2016–17), a work she developed for documenta 14, and discusses artistic strategies to work on the diary of a Kurdish journalist and fighter who was killed in 1997. Michelle Wong explores her intellectual and personal journey with the late artist Ha Bik Chuen’s archive and the new portals that it has opened.

Screening and Talk | The Proposal with Jill Magid
Wednesday, 16 June 2021
Screening: 7pm–8:30pm (only at JC Cube)
Talk: 8:30pm–9:30pm (on Zoom)

Free and open to the public with registration. Please click here to register.

The second session presents Jill Magid’s documentary titled The Proposal (2018, 83 min), followed by a conversation with the artist. In the film, Magid grapples with the contested legacy of the renowned Mexican architect Luis Barragán (1902–88), whose professional archive—including the rights to his name and his work—was made inaccessible when acquired by the chairman of a Swiss corporation as an engagement gift for his wife. The Proposal follows Magid as she develops a truly unorthodox project exploring the nature of artistic legacy and who controls it. Ultimately, Magid creates a startling proposition in the form of an artwork that forces the viewer into reckoning with how an artist’s story is told, and who is permitted to do the telling.

The following conversation with Jill Magid will focus on the ethical questions posed in her film around the legal restrictions of access to an artist’s legacy due to the corporate ownership of their work. It also looks at the ways this film investigates artistic legacy, ownership, national heritage, and repatriation.

Screening and Talk | Narcissister Organ Player with Paul B. Preciado
Thursday, 17 June 2021
Screening: 7–8:30pm HKT (only at JC Cube)
Talk: 8:30–9:30pm HKT (on Zoom)

Free and open to the public with registration. Please click here to register.

The last session of the series features the screening of Narcissister Organ Player (2017, 92min), followed by a conversation with philosopher and curator Paul B. Preciado. The film is a hybrid of performance, documentary, and memoir based on Narcissister, an artist who challenges notions of race, sexuality, and body image. Narcissister’s film draws on her family history—with familial roots that are Moroccan, Jewish, and African American—and reflects on the personal impact of her mother’s illness and death on her practice. In her performances, the artist wears a trademark vintage mask, obscuring her identity. Offering an autobiography through the film, Narcissister asks: how can the body become a living archive of the dying or the deceased?

The following conversation with Paul B. Preciado responds to the film and draws on his writings at the intersection of social identities, gender codes, and “body archives.”

Publication | bewitched, bewildered, bothered | Orpheus’ Dilemma
Work in progress (Will be available on AAA website soon)
This publication features the English translation of “Orpheus’ Dilemma,” a chapter in the book The Share of the Silent (2015) by the literary critic Nurdan Gürbilek, which is a foundational reference for Banu Cennetoğlu’s artistic contribution to Portals, Stories, and Other Journeys. Translated by Victoria Holbrook, the chapter draws on the tension between Orpheus’ belief and doubt to recover his wife Eurydike, and literature’s desire and repeated attempts to speak on behalf of the silent or the lost. In the text, Gürbilek weaves references and stories related to philosophers such as Maurice Blanchot and Marc Nichanian, as well as authors such as J. M. Coetzee, Jean Améry, Ahmet Hamdi Tanpınar, and Bilge Karasu. She asks: what does literature compensate for? How does the author question their authority to give voice to the dead?

咫尺之內,開始之前:隨意門及其他足跡

銷魂、失措、紛擾不安

咫尺之內,開始之前:隨意門及其他足跡

銷魂、失措、紛擾不安

日期及時間

2021年6月15日 - 18日 請參考節目時間表

地點

賽馬會立方;網上

費用

免費

簡介

《銷魂、失措、紛擾不安》是Banu Cennetoğlu對亞洲藝術文獻庫在大館當代美術館舉行的展覽《咫尺之內,開始之前:隨意門及其他足跡》(2021年4月23日至8月1日)的藝術介入。

藝術屢屢試圖失而復得、記住被遺忘的、令逝者復活或者為沈默說話。為期三天的公眾活動以及相關出版物以亞洲藝術文獻庫對夏碧泉個人文獻庫的暫時託管為切入點,召集藝術家和思想家探討文獻庫在收復和表現「從缺」之物時面對的挑戰和不足。活動延續Banu Cennetoğlu與亞洲藝術文獻庫公共項目策劃Özge Ersoy的對話,藉講座、電影放映和出版探索這些備受爭議的主張。


節目時間表

日期 時間 節目 地點 語言
15.06.2021 8pm–9:30pm 講座|Banu Cennetoğlu、黃湲婷、Özge Ersoy三人對談 Zoom 英語
16.06.2021 7pm–9:30pm 電影放映兼座談|《The Proposal》:與Jill Magid映後談 馬會立方舉行、Zoom 英語
17.06.2021 7pm–9:30pm 電影放映兼座談|《Narcissister Organ Player》:與Paul B. Preciado映後談 馬會立方舉行、Zoom 英語
項目進行中 出版|〈Orpheus’ Dilemma〉


節目簡介

講座|Banu Cennetoğlu、黃湲婷、Özge Ersoy三人對談
2021年6月15日,星期二|8pm–9:30pm
以Zoom形式直播,講座以英語進行

講座免費向公眾開放,請按此登記。
首場活動探討:我們該以什麼方法處理身故者的文獻庫?這種文獻庫有何潛力?爬梳這種文獻庫時有什麼不可能觸及之處?我們在為沈默者說話的同時,可以不奪取其自主權嗎?代表他人發聲之際,我們清洗了甚麼?Cennetoğlu 將講述她就第14屆卡塞爾文獻展創作的《Gurbet’s Diary: I Engraved My Heart into the Mountains》(2016–17),分享她怎樣由藝術家角度整理一個於1997年被殺的庫德族記者兼戰士的日記。黃湲婷則講述自己與已故藝術家夏碧泉個人文獻庫的交集,分享她整理文獻的種種,包括知性的思考歷程、個人的體會,以及沿途的新發現。

電影放映兼座談|《The Proposal》:與Jill Magid映後談
2021年6月16日,星期三
放映|7pm–8:30pm(只於大館馬會立方舉行)
座談|8:30pm–9:30pm(以Zoom形式直播)
座談以英語進行

活動免費向公眾開放,請按此登記。

第二場活動是藝術家Jill Magid的紀錄片《The Proposal》(2018年,83分鐘)的放映會兼映後座談。紀錄片圍繞墨西哥著名建築師路易斯·巴拉岡(Luis Barragán)(1902–88)備受爭議的遺產——Barragán職業生涯的文獻庫被一家瑞士公司主席收購,作為給妻子的訂婚禮物,自始文獻資料不供外人使用,Barragán的名字及其作品的所有權亦統統受制。Magid在紀錄片中批判傳統,探索藝術遺產的本質,並發掘它受誰支配。Magid終以藝術形式提出了一個意外的主張,迫使觀眾思考藝術家的故事該如何被講述,誰又有權敘述。

映後的導演座談將探討電影所聚焦的道德問題,即因企業持有作品所有權而妨礙大眾使用藝術家遺產的法律限制。我們詰問:這部紀錄片如何檢視藝術遺產、所有權、國家遺產和文獻遣返等議題?

電影放映兼座談|《Narcissister Organ Player》:與Paul B. Preciado映後談
2021年6月17日,星期四
放映|7pm–8:30pm(只於大館馬會立方舉行)
座談|8:30pm–9:30pm(以Zoom形式直播)
座談以英語進行

活動免費向公眾開放,請按此登記。

系列活動以放映影片《Narcissister Organ Player》(2017年,92分鐘)及哲學家兼策展人Paul B. Preciado的映後座談作結。這部電影集表演、紀錄片和回憶錄於一身,記下藝術家Narcissister對種族、性和身體形象等觀念的質疑。Narcissister的電影一邊借鑒其混合摩洛哥、猶太和非裔美國血統的家族歷史,一邊反思母親生病與逝世對其個人創作的影響。Narcissister在表演期間戴上標誌性的復古面具來掩蓋身份。電影猶如自傳,詰問:軀體怎樣如同檔案庫一般,令垂死者或逝者的記憶存活下去?

Paul B. Preciado將參與映後座談,藉其書寫中涵蓋的社會身份、性別代碼和「身體檔案」回應電影。

出版|〈Orpheus’ Dilemma
項目進行中(稍後於亞洲藝術文獻庫網站發布)
文學評論家Nurdan Gürbilek著有《The Share of the Silent》(2015)一書,其中章節〈Orpheus’ Dilemma〉借鑒奧菲斯帶妻子尤里迪斯回到人間的兩難,分析前者對後者的信任與懷疑及其中的張力,帶出文學屢屢試圖為沈默者或逝者說話的欲望。Gürbilek在文中穿插諸如Maurice Blanchot 和Marc Nichanian等哲學家及一眾作家如J. M. Coetzee、Jean Améry、Ahmet Hamdi Tanpınar和Bilge Karasu的參考文獻和故事。她問文學意圖補償甚麼、作家讓逝者發聲的同時,又怎樣質疑自身權威。〈Orpheus’ Dilemma 〉對藝術家Banu Cennetoğlu至為重要,是她回應展覽《咫尺之內,開始之前:隨意門及其他足跡》的基本參考。此章由Victoria Holbrook譯為英語。