Art After Hours: Coo-koo! Sai Kung Soundscape Walk with Bird Neighbours

Art After Hours: Coo-koo! Sai Kung Soundscape Walk with Bird Neighbours

Date & Time

2 Mar 2024 2:00pm – 5:00pm

Location

Pak Tam Chung

Price

$80

General

What better time for outings into the countryside than spring with its lush blossoms? This upcoming session of Art After Hours invites Project CROW to guide us into the sonic world of birds by following their common "coo-ing" sounds.  

Hong Kong is home to many human beings, yet all kinds of wildlife also try to survive within the nooks and crannies of the city. When the bustle of cars dies down and the crowds disperse, birds chirping and insects buzzing start up in turn and join the fray in the city's soundscape. For most of us, melodic birdsongs might be a mere amusement, but for birds, they are all too essential. Through birdsongs, we can get to know our feathery neighbours from what they say — whether in chirps or croaks, different varieties of bird calls in fact have different meanings.

Understanding the sounds of birds, why they call, and what they mean will encourage greater empathy for other life forms in our environment—or simply bring a smile to our faces. This workshop will look into birdsongs, and conclude with a DIY session of "auditory" greeting cards that record the sounds you hear in the wild and bring them home. In the context where global temperatures rise and climates grow extreme, we hope to focus on the connection between art and ecology to explore the possibility of building other sustainable ecological relationships.

Art After Hours invites speakers who work in the areas of art, design, and archives to engage in fascinating conversations with the audience. Each session will offer an in-depth discussion of the exhibitions but also extend beyond them; the speakers will interact with the audience and encourage a greater understanding of our chosen themes from a variety of perspectives. This edition of Art After Hours is curated by Veronica Wang and Sonia Cheng.

“Doves of Hong Kong" by Project CROW

"Cuckoos of Hong Kong" by Project CROW
Past events by Project CROW
Past events by Project CROW
Past events by Project CROW
Past events by Project CROW
Past events by Project CROW


Speakers bio

Project CROW

Founded in 2018, Project CROW is an initiative to bring people closer to nature by means of art and interactive experiences. Check out our exhibitions, workshops, and tours to join the nature adventures!

Project CROW is co-founded by Hoiling Cheng and Matthew Kwan. Hoiling is a proud 'moth-er' who shows unabashedly-biased love towards the less understood relatives of the butterflies. Upon completing the studies in Environmental Management, Hoiling has promoted the fascinating lives of insects through imagery and storytelling. She is currently dedicated to developing an interdisciplinary nature education syllabus for primary schools. A birdwatcher and a nature-lover since childhood, Matthew has worked on art and photography education after graduating from the Visual Art programme at HKBU. As a licensed tour guide, Matthew is devoted to promoting nature to both overseas birdwatchers and to the general public of Hong Kong. He has curated nature education exhibitions in venues including Lung Fu Shan Environmental Education Centre, TKO Plaza, and AIRSIDE.


Points to note

  1. The programme would be conducted in Cantonese.
  2. Participants aged 6 and above can participate if accompanied by their guardians. The itinerary includes passing through flat country trails, participants are suggested to assess their physical condition before deciding on their participation.
  3. Participants are required to situate themselves in a natural environment for an extended period of time. Participants are recommended to wear casual attire and close-toe shoes for protection when passing through the nature trial.
  4. On the day of the event, please arrive on time in Diamond Hill at 1:00 pm, for the 1:10 pm departure to Pak Tam Chung. We will arrive back at Pak Tam Chung at around 5 pm. Please arrange your own transportation to Diamond Hill and from Pak Tam Chung. Participants will be notified of arrival and departure details of the event through email upon participation confirmation.
  5. This is an outdoor activity. Please ensure that you have a hat, sunscreen, and mosquito repellent, and bring plenty of water.
  6. The event is covered by third-party liability insurance. For details, please contact learnart@taikwun.hk
  7. Participation in the event signifies your agreement to be bound by these Terms, the Privacy Policy Statement set out on https://www.taikwun.hk/en/privacy_policy and all applicable laws without limitation or qualification.
  8. Photos and videos will be taken during the Event for marketing and promotional purposes. Photos and videos may be used in newspapers, magazines, radio and television broadcasts, websites, apps, emails and outdoor advertisements, etc. All photos, films, videos, records and/or the likenesses of the participants (if applicable) captured during the Event by Tai Kwun Contemporary (the “Organizer”) or their respective affiliated entities or contractors, are the sole property of the Organizer. Participants agree that the Organizer may use, present, publish or disseminate in any and all media worldwide for any legitimate purpose the photos or videos taken during the Event or the portraits of the participants as appear in any official documentary, commercial, television coverage, and all multimedia platforms, without any remuneration to any participant. The Organizer has the absolute right to use any photos, films, videos and records of the Event. Participants may also be invited to give written, audio, and video feedback.

Arrangements in Case of Inclement Weather Conditions

  • If an Amber Rainstorm Warning Signal or above, Typhoon Signal No. 3 or above, or Thunderstorm Warning is issued before 8:00 am, the event will be cancelled and rescheduled. No refunds will be given.
  • In the event of bad weather conditions, such as heavy rain or strong wind, the event may also be cancelled even if no weather warning signal has been issued. The event host will contact the participants as early as possible should this situation occur.

If a Rainstorm Warning Signal or Typhoon Signal is issued during the event, some activities may be cancelled due to safety concerns.

藝術不夜館 :咕姑固!鳥街坊西貢聲景行

藝術不夜館 :咕姑固!鳥街坊西貢聲景行

日期及時間

2024年3月2日 2:00pm – 5:00pm

地點

北潭涌

費用

$80

簡介

桃紅柳綠的春天正是郊遊的好時候!本場藝術不夜館特邀嗚鴉自然教室,以常聽的「咕姑固」為引子,帶領參加者探索鳥類的聲音世界。 

香港人煙稠密,卻也有各種野生動物在罅隙中尋找生存機會。在汽車聲音稍緩、人潮散去的空檔,鳥聲和蟲鳴悄悄響起,擠進我們四周的聲音景觀。「芋阿!芋阿!」、「蕉!蕉蕉!」、「咕姑~固」與「咕姑固~固」意思也有分別!

聲景之旅將解讀此起彼落的啁啾聲,讓參加者加深了解「鳥街坊」。工作坊更以「有聲」小鳥賀卡作結,讓參加者把郊外紀錄下來的聲音帶回家中!

認識動物的聲音,認識牠們為何鳴叫、鳴叫的意思,對周遭的生物多一分體恤,同時也為「認得」聲音而會心微笑。在全球氣溫攀升,極端氣候日益嚴峻之際,我們希望著眼於藝術與生態的聯繫,藉著工作坊探索其他可持續發展的生態關係。

「藝術不夜館」邀請來自藝術、設計、收藏等領域的講者與觀衆進行交流。每場分享除了深入解讀展覽,也會從展覽延伸至不同領域,講者會即場與觀眾對話,鼓勵大家以不同角度理解展覽及展覽外的主題。「藝術不夜館」由王莉莉和鄭子翹聯合策劃。

「嗚鴉自然教室」製作:香港「咕-姑固」圖鑒

「嗚鴉自然教室」製作:香港餓痾合唱團
「嗚鴉自然教室」以往活動圖片
「嗚鴉自然教室」以往活動圖片
「嗚鴉自然教室」以往活動圖片
「嗚鴉自然教室」以往活動圖片
「嗚鴉自然教室」以往活動圖片


講者簡介

嗚鴉自然教室
2018年,兩個喜歡動物的人開設了「嗚鴉自然教室」,用藝術創作和體驗工作坊分享動物的故事。

嗚鴉與「烏鴉」:動物之中,烏鴉非常愛玩,寓意大自然有待發掘的驚喜。

嗚鴉與「嗚啊」:人類走進山野常常會發出驚嘆。如果我們能把大自然拉近一點,讓人感到「嗚啊!」、「原來是這樣!」,那就不枉此行了!

共為「嗚鴉自然教室」聯合創辦人;鄭凱靈在一次偶然機會喜歡上飛蛾,此後一直鍾愛着這群較少人熟悉的昆蟲。修畢環境管理課程後致力向公眾推廣昆蟲知識,期望以影像和故事引起大眾對自然的興趣,重建人與大地的結連,並在近年專注發展小學跨學科環境教育課程。關朗曦自小喜愛大自然,對雀鳥情有獨鍾,於浸會大學視覺藝術系畢業後從事藝術及攝影教育工作。現時,關朗曦除了以持牌導遊身分招待海外觀鳥人士,亦投入向大眾推廣環境教育,先後在龍虎山環境教育中心、將軍澳廣場及AIRSIDE等場地策展自然教育展覽。


注意事項

  1. 此活動以廣東話進行。
  2. 年滿6歲參加者在家長陪同下即可參加。行程將途經平坦郊野徑,參加者請自行評估身體狀況來決定參與與否。
  3. 活動期間需長時間於郊外,參加者應穿著輕便服裝及密頭鞋,以保障參加者在野外時的安全。
  4. 活動當日務必準時1:00 pm 於鑽石山集合,1:10 pm 啟程至北潭涌,逾時不候。回程約5 pm 於北潭涌解散。請自行安排前往鑽石山及從北潭涌離開的交通。集合詳情將於報名後以電郵通知。
  5. 活動於戶外進行,請自備帽子、防曬和防蚊用品,以及足夠的飲用水。
  6. 活動受第三者保險保障,如須了解詳情,請電郵至learnart@taikwun.hk
  7. 參與是次活動表示閣下已全面和不受任何約制地同意和接受此使用條款、載於https://www.taikwun.hk/zh/home/privacy_policy的私隱政策聲明以及所有適用法律的約束
  8. 大館當代美術(下稱「主辦單位」)將拍攝部分活動情況,以作宣傳及推廣之用,相片及錄像將用於報章、雜誌、電台、網站、手機應用程式、電郵、戶外廣告等。本活動中由主辦單位或其關聯公司或承辦商所拍攝到參加者的所有相片、影片、錄像、紀錄、肖像(如適用)均為主辦單位的個別財產。參加者同意主辦單位以合法為目標於任何世界性的媒體平台使用、發佈、出版、散播本活動的所有相片或影片或參加者肖像出現的任何正式的紀錄片段、廣告、電視報導,及一切多媒體平台中,並且不收取任何酬勞。任何是次活動之相片、影片、錄像及記錄,主辦單位均有絕對使用權。

惡劣天氣安排

  • 如當日天文台於上午8時前懸掛黃色或更高級別的暴雨警告信號/三號或以上的熱帶氣旋警告信號/雷暴警告,活動將告取消及延期舉行,不設退款。
  • 如當日出發前天氣惡劣,例如大雨或強風,即使天文台未有懸掛任何天氣警告,活動有機會視乎情況取消,活動方會儘早以電話通知。

如在活動途中天文台懸掛任何暴雨或熱帶氣旋警告信號,活動方或會取消部分行程,以確保所有參加者安全。