Art After Hours 2018

Art After Hours: Summer Institute Public Lecture with Rirkrit Tiravanija

Contemporary Art Programme

Art After Hours: Summer Institute Public Lecture with Ackbar Abbas

Contemporary Art Programme

Art After Hours: Collectively, So to Speak

Contemporary Art Programme

Art After Hours: A Conversation with Dung Kai-cheung and Wing Po So

Contemporary Art Programme
Time
7-9pm
Location
JC Cube Map
Price
Free of charge
Art After Hours: Summer Institute Public Lecture with Ackbar Abbas

General

“Remembering the 60s” examines the ‘double legacy’ of the 60s and the notion of criticality it has engendered in contemporary life. This will be shown through examples such as the cinema of Wong Kar Wai. There are many different 60’s, each with its own set of defining events. In the USA—one main source of imagery for the 60’s—it was the protest movement against the Vietnam War, the fight against sexism and racism, the celebration of youth culture, and the spread of ecological awareness. Bob Dylan captured the ethos in lyrics like ‘Because something is happening but you don’t know what it is/ Do you Mr. Jones?’ In Europe, it was the Beatles and street fashion from the UK, while in France, it was the resistance to consumerism and the ‘society of the spectacle’, together with the attempt to ‘re-invent subjectivity’, that culminated in the events of May ’68 in Paris. In China, it was the Cultural Revolution and the Hong Kong riots of 1966 and 1967 inspired by it.
 
Yet more than half a century later, we find that in spite of the diverse and indispensable critiques of the 60’s, war, racism, gender inequality, ecological crisis, and many forms of social injustice are still very much with us, as virulent as ever. However, even if some of the hopes of the 60’s have been disappointed, it does not mean that the 60’s has failed us. Rather, its cultural legacy can be understood as a ‘double legacy’. First, its critiques of various issues showed us that ‘politics’ is very much a part of everyday life, and not something separate from it. This is its main critical legacy. At the same time, it showed us something else perhaps even more important, but something that we could see  only in hindsight: that critique itself can be appropriated and turned into a form of orthodoxy or coercion, and hence critique itself has to be critiqued and not simply ‘applied’. This is its meta-critical legacy.
 
Ackbar Abbas is a professor of comparative literature at the University of California, Irvine/USA. Previously he was chair of comparative literature at the University of Hong Kong, China and also co-director of the Centre for the Study of Globalization and Cultures. His research interests include globalization, Hong Kong and Chinese culture, architecture, cinema, postcolonialism, and critical theory. His book “Hong Kong: Culture and the Politics of Disappearance” was published by the University of Minnesota Press in 1997. He previously served as a Contributing Editor to Public Culture, an academic journal published by Duke University Press.

This talk is organised by Melissa Karmen Lee and Jacqueline Liu.

Seats are available on a first-come, first-served basis. Please RSVP by clicking the “Book Now” button on this webpage or via the Tai Kwun App. Lectures will be conducted in English with Cantonese interpretation available.

Summer Institute is an inaugural programme offered by Tai Kwun Contemporary. This year, four distinguished scholars will lead seminars and public lectures on the theme of Labour and Privilege, explored through art historical and contemporary art case studies. This will take place between July 30 and August 10 in A Hall and JC Cube. Summer Institute is organised and conceived by Melissa Karmen Lee and Joan Kee.

藝術不夜館 2018

藝術不夜館:「夏日學社」 Rirkrit Tiravanija 教授公開講座

當代藝術節目

藝術不夜館:「夏日學社」 亞巴斯教授公開講座

當代藝術節目

藝術不夜館:即是,合作

當代藝術節目

藝術不夜館:與董啟章和蘇詠寶對話

當代藝術節目
時間
下午7時至9時
位置
賽馬會立方 地圖
費用
免費
藝術不夜館:「夏日學社」 亞巴斯教授公開講座

簡介

《不忘60年代》用王家衛的電影等為例,審視60年代的「雙重遺產」以及它為當代生活帶來的批判。世上同時存在多個版本的60年代,每個版本的60年代都有自己的一系列決定性事件。美國的60年代是眾多版本中的其中一個經典形象,它是反越戰的抗議行動以及反抗性別歧視與種族歧視的鬥爭,是當時對青年文化的崇尚與保護生態環境意識的流行。卜·戴倫的歌詞捕捉到60年代的時代精神:「因為這裡有事發生,但你並不知道是什麼事/是不是,瓊斯先生?」在歐洲,60年代是英國的披頭士與街頭時尚,是法國對消費主義以及「景觀社會」的抵抗,是「重建主體性」的嘗試,這一切在巴黎五月風暴的一系列運動中達到高潮。在中國,60年代是文化大革命;在香港,60年代是1966年天星小輪加價騷亂以及六七暴動等受文化大革命影響的一系列事件。

半個多世紀過去了,儘管60年代帶來多元和至關重要的種種批判,今天的我們仍然面對戰爭,種族主義,性別不平等,環境生態危機等林林總總的社會不公。這些不公與以往並無分別,一樣險惡。即使60年代的一些希望最終破滅,這並不意味著60年代只給我們帶來失望。相反,它為我們留下了可以被稱之為「雙重遺產」的文化遺產。首先,它對各種問題的批判讓我們明白,「政治」是日常生活密不可分的一部分。這是60年代的留下的關鍵遺產。其次,它還揭示了可能更為重要,但我們事後才能看到的道理:批判本身是可以被挪用,變成正統或壓迫的形式,因此批判本身必須被批判,而非僅僅被「應用」。這是60年代留給我們的遺產中關鍵中的關鍵。

亞巴斯是美國加州大學爾灣分校比較文學教授。他曾任香港大學比較文學系系主任,以及香港大學全球化與文化研究中心的聯席主任。他的研究專注於全球化,香港與中國文化,建築,電影,後殖民主義與批判理論。他的著作《香港:文化與消失的政治》由明尼蘇達大學出版社於1997年出版。他曾擔任杜克大學出版的學術期刊《公共文化》的特約編輯。

這個講座由李林嘉敏和廖至欣籌備。

現場座位有限,先到先得,滿額即止。請於大館網站或大館App提前預約。
講座將以英語進行,現場配備粵語翻譯。 

大館當代美術館將會舉辦首屆「夏日學社」課程項目。今年,四位卓越的學者將會主持以「勞動」及「特權」為主題的研討會以及公開講座,通過分析藝術史以及當代藝術案例對上述主題進行探討。「夏日學社」將於7月30日至8月10日在A倉與賽馬會立方舉行。「夏日學社」由李林嘉敏和奇廷泫(Joan Kee)構思和籌備。