HK Phil x Tai Kwun: Chamber Music Series

HK Phil x Tai Kwun: Chamber Music Series

Performing Arts Programme

Beethoven Encounter! (String Quartet with Horns)

Performing Arts Programme

Beethoven Meets Mozart (Piano & Wind Quintet)

Performing Arts Programme

Summer Nights in the Americas (Woodwind Quintet)

Performing Arts Programme

The Soldier and the Nightingale (Mixed Ensemble)

Performing Arts Programme
7:30pm-9:00pm Timetable
JC Cube Map
Adult $200; Full-time student and senior persons, and people with disabilities and their minders $150
The Soldier and the Nightingale (Mixed Ensemble)


Programme Postponement Notice

The programme “HK Phil × Tai Kwun: Chamber Music Series: The Soldier & the Nightingale: Mixed Ensemble” to be held on 23 Mar, 7:30pm has been postponed to 28 Sep, 7:30pm at the same venue. Ticket holders should present their original concert tickets to gain admission on 28 Sep.

For ticketing enquiries, please contact the HK Phil Ticketing Office on or before 22 Apr at 2721 0132 / 2721 2332 or (Office hours: Mon to Fri 10am – 12:30pm/2pm – 6pm, excluding Saturdays, Sundays and public holidays)

Thank you for your understanding.

This programme epitomizes the variety of approaches to writing chamber works in the twentieth century. The avant-garde techniques that proliferated the post-war decades challenged musicians and listeners alike. Music of the modern age was becoming increasingly philosophical and asking each of us to question its meaning in our own lives. If music is about eliciting emotion, this collection of works has as much variety as an audience could hope for.


Earle Brown 4 Systems

Stravinsky L’Histoire du soldat

Cage 4'33"

Theo LoEvendie The Nightingale for Narrator & Seven Instruments


Wang Liang, violin

Philip Powell, bass

John Schertle, clarinet

Vance Lee, bassoon

Christopher Moyse, trumpet

Jarod Vermette, trombone

James Boznos, percussion

Timothy Calnin, narration

The above content is provided by the Hong Kong Philharmonic Orchestra