Back to list

Printed Matter as Education and Artistic Medium (online; Cantonese) with Silas Fong and An Gee Chan

28 Feb 2021
4–5 pm

Printed Matter as Education and Artistic Medium (online; Cantonese) with Silas Fong and An Gee Chan

Printed Matters as Education and Artistic Medium: An Gee Chan and Silas Fong in Conversation

Silas Fong and Angee Chan, both artists and art educators, will share their creative ideas and processes based on their recent works. They will also share the use of printed matter as an education medium, and introduce how the two engage in each other. As the moderator, Louiza Ho, Associate Curator of Tai Kwun Contemporary, will lead the discussion and explore alternative education methodologies in printed matters with the two speakers.

About An Gee Chan 

Born in Hong Kong and graduated from the Royal College of Art, Fine Art Printmaking. Currently teaching Printmaking and Drawing at the Academy of Visual Arts, Hong Kong Baptist University.

Her practice employs various forms - prints, drawings, paintings, murals, ceramics and sometimes installation. Varying in scale from small to large. She tends to create narrative based, allegorical work. The content of the work ranges from lighthearted to more sinister or serious topics. Often presented with a sense of dark humor, for people to have a small laugh and perceive things in a more positive way.

Born in 1985 in Hong Kong, Silas Fong is a contemporary artist. He furthered his studies at the Academy of Fine Arts Cologne after earning his MFA from Department of Fine Arts at the Chinese University of Hong Kong in 2012 and BA from Academy of Visual Arts at Hong Kong Baptist University in 2008. Since September 2017, Fong is an Assistant Professor at the Department of Photography, College of Arts at Chung-Ang University in Seoul.

Silas Fong evaluates the context behind each project to develop respective approaches for conceptual and critical expression. His work is often reflective of his role as an observer, artist and educator.

Register online for the link

Location:
Online (and livestreamed into the Talks and Workshops room in Block 9)

返回

對談:紙本印刷作為教育及藝術創作媒介 (粵語) 講者:陳安之、方琛宇

2021年2月28日
4–5 pm

對談:紙本印刷作為教育及藝術創作媒介 (粵語) 講者:陳安之、方琛宇

紙本印刷作為教育及藝術創作媒介

方琛宇(Silas)和陳安之(Angee)既是藝術家,也是藝術教育工作者,他們在講座中將會從自己的創作出發,分享自己的創作意念和過程,同時講述如何利用紙本印刷作為藝術教育媒介。大館當代藝術館副策展人何苑瑜將會主持講座,與兩位講者一同探討紙本印藝和藝術教育之間互相介入影響的關係。

陳安之生於香港,畢業於英國皇家藝術學院,主修版畫,現為香港浸會大學視覺藝術院講師(版畫及繪畫)。陳安之的創作媒體包括版畫、油畫、圍版製作、陶藝和裝置等。生命是她的作品主要的命題,常以黑色幽默手法表達有關內容,希望能令觀者一笑。

方琛宇生於1985年,是香港土生土長的當代藝術家。2013-2015 到德國科隆媒體藝術學院進修。2012年於香港中文大學藝術系取得藝術創作碩士學位。2008年於香港浸會大學視覺藝術院畢業。受邀於韓國首爾中央大學藝術學院攝影系,方琛宇於2017年9月開始出任助理教授。

方琛宇審視每次創作背後的語境,發展出相應的方法表逹作品的概念及批判思考。從他的作品中經常可以看到對自己作為觀察者、藝術家及教育工作者身份的反思。

預約連結

地點:
線上 (對談及工作坊空間同時直播於第9座)